Organic and polymer intermediate
Sigma documents preparation of intermediates including 4-acetoxybenzoic acid; attributed industrial references identify polyester/liquid-crystal-polymer synthesis. [5]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 99-96-7
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
4-Hydroxybenzoic acid is the para phenolic acid. Its esters include parabens, which are different chemical products with their own uses and regulatory requirements. [1]
Identity focus: Neutral free acid; water and derivatives specified separately. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
OH and COOH occupy opposite ring positions, 1 and 4. The phenolic hydroxyl does not make this a dicarboxylic acid, and the molecule has no stereocenter.
4-Hydroxybenzoic acid is the para phenolic acid. Its esters include parabens, which are different chemical products with their own uses and regulatory requirements. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — Sigma H20059 identifies serious eye damage and respiratory irritation; TCI identifies eye irritation and aquatic harm. Retain the serious-eye-damage warning and avoid environmental release. Paraben ingredient contexts do not make the free-acid powder suitable for direct skin or food use. [4] [5] [6]
A condensed structural formula keeps the functional groups visible. [1]
Sigma documents preparation of intermediates including 4-acetoxybenzoic acid; attributed industrial references identify polyester/liquid-crystal-polymer synthesis. [5]
Wako 089-10561 is explicitly a p-hydroxybenzoic-acid standard for food analysis, with qNMR and HPLC specifications. [6]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
OH and COOH occupy opposite ring positions, 1 and 4. The phenolic hydroxyl does not make this a dicarboxylic acid, and the molecule has no stereocenter. [1]
The phenolic OH and COOH can participate in different reactions and dissociations. Esterifying the carboxyl group produces a paraben derivative; preservative claims for that ester are not automatically direct uses of the free acid. [1] [12]
Connectivity and neutral formula identify this acid. Positional isomers, water-containing products, salts and esters require their own specifications. Measured reference conditions, assay methods and unresolved discrepancies remain visible. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | 4-Hydroxybenzoic Acid | 3-Hydroxybenzoic Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₇H₆O₃ [1] | C₇H₆O₃ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 138.12 g/mol [1] | 138.12 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 7 [1] | 7 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 1 [1] | 1 [7] |
| Structure | 4-HO–C₆H₄–COOH [1] | 3-HO–C₆H₄–COOH [7] |
| Chemical family | Para phenolic monocarboxylic acid [1] | Meta phenolic monocarboxylic acid [7] |
| Identity focus | Neutral free acid; water and derivatives specified separately [1] | Neutral free acid; water and derivatives specified separately [7] |
Choose 4-hydroxybenzoic acid for a specified para synthesis or analytical target; choose the 3-isomer for a meta target. If the intended material is a paraben, identify and qualify that exact ester separately. [1] [3] [7]
Match 4-HO–C₆H₄–COOH and the method’s required chemical form.
Match 3-HO–C₆H₄–COOH; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
Sigma documents preparation of intermediates including 4-acetoxybenzoic acid; attributed industrial references identify polyester/liquid-crystal-polymer synthesis. Final polymer performance is separate from the free acid. [5]
Wako 089-10561 is explicitly a p-hydroxybenzoic-acid standard for food analysis, with qNMR and HPLC specifications. This is direct analytical use, not qualification as a food additive. [6]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. The Wako 100 mg qNMR/HPLC standard is not equivalent to TCI or Sigma bulk reagents. Food analysis is not food-ingredient grade. Keep positional identity, assay method and ester identity distinct.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI America4-Hydroxybenzoic Acid | Named grade not statedH0207 · 25 g | GC: minimum 99.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0% | 25 g | $18.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: TCI America
| View Product: TCI America, H0207 · 25 g (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedH0207 · 100 g | GC: minimum 99.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0% | 100 g | $24.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, H0207 · 100 g (opens new tab) | |||
| Named grade not statedH0207 · 500 g | GC: minimum 99.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0% | 500 g | $49.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, H0207 · 500 g (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-Aldrich4-Hydroxybenzoic Acid | ReagentPlusH20059-100G | 99%; method not stated | 100 g | $36.30USD · US public list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, H20059-100G (opens new tab) | |
| ReagentPlusH20059-500G | 99%; method not stated | 500 g | $113.00USD · US public list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, H20059-500G (opens new tab) | |||
| ReagentPlusH20059-1KG | 99%; method not stated | 1 kg | $114.00USD · US public list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, H20059-1KG (opens new tab) | |||
| FUJIFILM Wako4-Hydroxybenzoic Acid | Standard for food analysis089-10561Research / further manufacturing; confirm US availability separately from Japan stock. Food-analysis standard is not food-ingredient grade. Out-of-stock status was displayed; 2–10 °C storage and argon packaging apply to this product. | 98.0+% (qNMR); 98.0+% (HPLC) | 100 mg | $141.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
| View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 089-10561 (opens new tab) |
4-Hydroxybenzoic Acid
Named grade not stated
Last checked:
4-Hydroxybenzoic Acid
ReagentPlus
Last checked:
4-Hydroxybenzoic Acid
Standard for food analysis
Research / further manufacturing; confirm US availability separately from Japan stock. Food-analysis standard is not food-ingredient grade. Out-of-stock status was displayed; 2–10 °C storage and argon packaging apply to this product.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
pKa: OMITTED. An attributed 4.54 lacks matched conditions; separate K1/K2 values at 19 °C have incomplete method context. No borrowed salicylic value or condition-free pair. Solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 5.0 g/L at 25 °C is an attributed reference; temperature-free parts-water wording is not converted into a competing saturation constant. Boiling point: OMITTED. A generic scent-database estimate is not an authoritative measured normal boiling point.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
Solid at 20 °C; melting references and specifications are for the para free acid. [13] [4] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]
pKa: OMITTED. An attributed 4.54 lacks matched conditions; separate K1/K2 values at 19 °C have incomplete method context. No borrowed salicylic value or condition-free pair. Solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 5.0 g/L at 25 °C is an attributed reference; temperature-free parts-water wording is not converted into a competing saturation constant. Boiling point: OMITTED. A generic scent-database estimate is not an authoritative measured normal boiling point.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
Sigma H20059 identifies serious eye damage and respiratory irritation; TCI identifies eye irritation and aquatic harm. Retain the serious-eye-damage warning and avoid environmental release. Paraben ingredient contexts do not make the free-acid powder suitable for direct skin or food use. [4] [5] [6]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
OH and COOH occupy opposite ring positions, 1 and 4. The phenolic hydroxyl does not make this a dicarboxylic acid, and the molecule has no stereocenter. [1]
The para and meta acids share a formula while supplying different attachment geometry. A para hydroxy-acid residue in a polymer or derivative cannot be substituted with meta acid merely because molecular weights match. [7]
The Wako 100 mg qNMR/HPLC standard is not equivalent to TCI or Sigma bulk reagents. Food analysis is not food-ingredient grade. Keep positional identity, assay method and ester identity distinct. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
pKa: OMITTED. An attributed 4.54 lacks matched conditions; separate K1/K2 values at 19 °C have incomplete method context. No borrowed salicylic value or condition-free pair. Solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 5.0 g/L at 25 °C is an attributed reference; temperature-free parts-water wording is not converted into a competing saturation constant. Boiling point: OMITTED. A generic scent-database estimate is not an authoritative measured normal boiling point.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Attributed references and conditions reviewed; unsupported estimates and cross-isomer data excluded.
pKa: OMITTED. An attributed 4.54 lacks matched conditions; separate K1/K2 values at 19 °C have incomplete method context. No borrowed salicylic value or condition-free pair. Solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 5.0 g/L at 25 °C is an attributed reference; temperature-free parts-water wording is not converted into a competing saturation constant. Boiling point: OMITTED. A generic scent-database estimate is not an authoritative measured normal boiling point.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.