Sequestering-agent context
The G1951 manufacturer description identifies direct sequestering-agent use for gluconic acid. [5]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 526-95-4
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
D-Gluconic acid contains one carboxyl group and five additional hydroxyl groups. The displayed products are aqueous solutions; their concentration is separate from the identity and purity of the neutral D acid. [1]
Identity focus: D neutral acid identity; displayed aqueous acid/lactone products. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
Four CHOH centers carry the stereochemistry of this D identity. The terminal CH₂OH supplies the fifth non-carboxylic hydroxyl. A condensed formula does not encode the four configurations; the IUPAC name and InChI do.
D-Gluconic acid contains one carboxyl group and five additional hydroxyl groups. The displayed products are aqueous solutions; their concentration is separate from the identity and purity of the neutral D acid. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — TCI G0036 classifies its acid/lactone solution as causing severe skin burns and eye damage. Wako’s August 2026 Japanese JIS SDS classifies its separate 50% solution as not GHS hazardous, while requiring contact controls. These are different products and classifications; do not generalize the less severe classification to every gluconic-acid solution. Obtain the exact current local SDS. [4] [5] [6] [14]
Condensed connectivity schematic; see the specified stereochemical identity below. [1]
The G1951 manufacturer description identifies direct sequestering-agent use for gluconic acid. [5]
The same manufacturer identifies scale-inhibition use. [5]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
Four CHOH centers carry the stereochemistry of this D identity. The terminal CH₂OH supplies the fifth non-carboxylic hydroxyl. A condensed formula does not encode the four configurations; the IUPAC name and InChI do. [1]
Carboxyl deprotonation gives gluconate. The hydroxyl groups also permit coordination and intramolecular ester formation. A gluconolactone is a cyclic ester, not the free acid or a hydrate; the TCI product explicitly contains lactone. A titration of this mixture needs its specified method and endpoint. [1] [12]
The molecular formula specifies the neutral free acid. A commercial solution, salt, ester or anhydride needs its own composition and specification. Quantitative references retain temperature, pressure, product identity and unresolved method qualifiers. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | Gluconic Acid | Glycolic Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₆H₁₂O₇ [1] | C₂H₄O₃ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 196.16 g/mol [1] | 76.05 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 6 [1] | 2 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 1 [1] | 1 [7] |
| Structure | HOCH₂–(CHOH)₄–COOH · D configuration [1] | HO–CH₂–COOH [7] |
| Chemical family | Chiral polyhydroxy monocarboxylic acid [1] | Achiral alpha-hydroxy monocarboxylic acid [7] |
| Identity focus | D neutral acid identity; displayed aqueous acid/lactone products [1] | Free acid [7] |
Choose the D-gluconic product when the method requires that molecular identity, its coordination context or a specified acid/lactone mixture. Choose glycolic acid for its two-carbon hydroxy-acid target. For either solution, request concentration basis, method, water and impurity specifications. [1] [3] [7]
Match HOCH₂–(CHOH)₄–COOH · D configuration and the method’s required chemical form.
Match HO–CH₂–COOH; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
The G1951 manufacturer description identifies direct sequestering-agent use for gluconic acid. It does not establish the metal selectivity, operating pH or performance of an unspecified solution. [5]
The same manufacturer identifies scale-inhibition use. Validate concentration, process compatibility and the actual formulation; this does not qualify every reagent product for water-treatment service. [5]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. All three listings are solutions priced by solution mass. TCI explicitly contains gluconolactone and reports 45–50% w/w titration; Sigma reports 49–53 wt.% without a method; Wako reports 47–53% titration and its SDS confirms weight-% composition. None establishes chemical or optical purity.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI AmericaGluconic Acid | Named grade not statedG0036 · 25 gAqueous acid/lactone product; mass is solution mass, not neat-acid mass. | Solution concentration: 45–50% w/w by neutralization titration; contains gluconolactone Chemical and stereochemical purity: not stated | 25 g | $27.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: TCI America
| View Product: TCI America, G0036 · 25 g (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedG0036 · 500 gAqueous acid/lactone product; mass is solution mass, not neat-acid mass. | Solution concentration: 45–50% w/w by neutralization titration; contains gluconolactone Chemical and stereochemical purity: not stated | 500 g | $32.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, G0036 · 500 g (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-Aldrich / MerckGluconic Acid | Named grade not statedG1951-25GD-gluconic-acid aqueous product. Optical rotation is not a stereochemical-purity percentage. | Solution concentration: 49–53 wt.% in water; method not stated; chemical/optical purity not stated | 25 g | $30.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, G1951-25G (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedG1951-1KGD-gluconic-acid aqueous product. Optical rotation is not a stereochemical-purity percentage. | Solution concentration: 49–53 wt.% in water; method not stated; chemical/optical purity not stated | 1 kg | $56.20USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, G1951-1KG (opens new tab) | |||
| Named grade not statedG1951-4KGD-gluconic-acid aqueous product. Optical rotation is not a stereochemical-purity percentage. | Solution concentration: 49–53 wt.% in water; method not stated; chemical/optical purity not stated | 4 kg | $145.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, G1951-4KG (opens new tab) | |||
| FUJIFILM WakoGluconic Acid | Named grade not stated074-00402Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. 50% solution; retrieved SDS verifies the composition mass basis, not a lot assay. | Solution concentration: 47–53% (Titration); SDS composition explicitly weight-%; chemical purity not stated | 25 g | $20.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
| View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 074-00402 (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not stated078-00405Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. 50% solution; retrieved SDS verifies the composition mass basis, not a lot assay. | Solution concentration: 47–53% (Titration); SDS composition explicitly weight-%; chemical purity not stated | 500 g | $38.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 078-00405 (opens new tab) |
Gluconic Acid
Named grade not stated
Aqueous acid/lactone product; mass is solution mass, not neat-acid mass.
Last checked:
Gluconic Acid
Named grade not stated
D-gluconic-acid aqueous product. Optical rotation is not a stereochemical-purity percentage.
Last checked:
Gluconic Acid
Named grade not stated
Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. 50% solution; retrieved SDS verifies the composition mass basis, not a lot assay.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
pKa: OMITTED. An attributed acid-dissociation reference at 25 °C lacks a fully established solvent, ionic strength and method context. No unqualified numeric acidity ranking. Neat-acid melting / density: OMITTED. Compiled solid-acid values do not establish properties of the displayed aqueous products; concentration was unstated for some density entries. Solution density: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 1.234 g/mL at 25 °C applies to G1951 aqueous product, not pure gluconic acid. No conversion to neat-acid mass or volume price is applied. Boiling / solubility: OMITTED. No matched solution boiling point or saturation limit established; general free-acid solubility is not a solution-composition specification. Safety classification: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. TCI corrosive classification and Wako Japanese JIS unclassified solution are kept product-specific. Composition or classification-method cause was not established.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
Displayed aqueous products are liquids. Their physical properties do not describe a hypothetical neat free-acid solid or a gluconolactone product. [13] [4] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]
pKa: OMITTED. An attributed acid-dissociation reference at 25 °C lacks a fully established solvent, ionic strength and method context. No unqualified numeric acidity ranking. Neat-acid melting / density: OMITTED. Compiled solid-acid values do not establish properties of the displayed aqueous products; concentration was unstated for some density entries. Solution density: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 1.234 g/mL at 25 °C applies to G1951 aqueous product, not pure gluconic acid. No conversion to neat-acid mass or volume price is applied. Boiling / solubility: OMITTED. No matched solution boiling point or saturation limit established; general free-acid solubility is not a solution-composition specification. Safety classification: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. TCI corrosive classification and Wako Japanese JIS unclassified solution are kept product-specific. Composition or classification-method cause was not established.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
TCI G0036 classifies its acid/lactone solution as causing severe skin burns and eye damage. Wako’s August 2026 Japanese JIS SDS classifies its separate 50% solution as not GHS hazardous, while requiring contact controls. These are different products and classifications; do not generalize the less severe classification to every gluconic-acid solution. Obtain the exact current local SDS. [4] [5] [6] [14]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab) · FUJIFILM Wako SDS PDF · exact product (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
Four CHOH centers carry the stereochemistry of this D identity. The terminal CH₂OH supplies the fifth non-carboxylic hydroxyl. A condensed formula does not encode the four configurations; the IUPAC name and InChI do. [1]
Glycolic acid has one extra hydroxyl and no stereocenter; D-gluconic acid has five extra hydroxyls and four stereocenters. Both have one COOH group. Hydroxyl count is not a count of equivalent carboxylic-acid dissociations. [7]
All three listings are solutions priced by solution mass. TCI explicitly contains gluconolactone and reports 45–50% w/w titration; Sigma reports 49–53 wt.% without a method; Wako reports 47–53% titration and its SDS confirms weight-% composition. None establishes chemical or optical purity. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
pKa: OMITTED. An attributed acid-dissociation reference at 25 °C lacks a fully established solvent, ionic strength and method context. No unqualified numeric acidity ranking. Neat-acid melting / density: OMITTED. Compiled solid-acid values do not establish properties of the displayed aqueous products; concentration was unstated for some density entries. Solution density: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 1.234 g/mL at 25 °C applies to G1951 aqueous product, not pure gluconic acid. No conversion to neat-acid mass or volume price is applied. Boiling / solubility: OMITTED. No matched solution boiling point or saturation limit established; general free-acid solubility is not a solution-composition specification. Safety classification: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. TCI corrosive classification and Wako Japanese JIS unclassified solution are kept product-specific. Composition or classification-method cause was not established.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Attributed references reviewed; product, phase, pH and method gaps stated rather than inferred.
August 7, 2026; matching codes, D identity and composition weight basis verified. Product-specific unclassified status does not override TCI classification.
pKa: OMITTED. An attributed acid-dissociation reference at 25 °C lacks a fully established solvent, ionic strength and method context. No unqualified numeric acidity ranking. Neat-acid melting / density: OMITTED. Compiled solid-acid values do not establish properties of the displayed aqueous products; concentration was unstated for some density entries. Solution density: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 1.234 g/mL at 25 °C applies to G1951 aqueous product, not pure gluconic acid. No conversion to neat-acid mass or volume price is applied. Boiling / solubility: OMITTED. No matched solution boiling point or saturation limit established; general free-acid solubility is not a solution-composition specification. Safety classification: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. TCI corrosive classification and Wako Japanese JIS unclassified solution are kept product-specific. Composition or classification-method cause was not established.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.