Qualified cosmetic AHA context
FDA identifies glycolic acid as a common cosmetic AHA and explains that exfoliation depends on acid type, concentration, pH and the formulation. [14]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 79-14-1
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
Glycolic acid is the simplest alpha-hydroxy acid. The free acid is an achiral solid, while commercial aqueous solutions require a separately stated concentration and basis. [1]
Identity focus: Free acid. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
The hydroxyl-bearing carbon is CH₂, so it has no stereocenter. The non-carboxylic OH makes this a hydroxy acid; it does not add a second carboxyl group.
Glycolic acid is the simplest alpha-hydroxy acid. The free acid is an achiral solid, while commercial aqueous solutions require a separately stated concentration and basis. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — Glycolic acid is corrosive and can cause severe burns and eye damage; the Sigma product also identifies harmful inhalation. Wako’s retrieved Japanese JIS SDS additionally identifies suspected reproductive toxicity and respiratory-system and repeated-exposure liver/thymus hazards. Do not reduce the summary to cosmetic irritation. FDA also reports increased UV sensitivity from formulated AHA use. Obtain the applicable exact-product local SDS. [4] [5] [6] [15] [14]
A condensed structural formula keeps the functional groups visible. [1]
FDA identifies glycolic acid as a common cosmetic AHA and explains that exfoliation depends on acid type, concentration, pH and the formulation. [14]
Sigma 124737 identifies use in preparing a PLGA-PEG-PLGA copolymer. [5]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
The hydroxyl-bearing carbon is CH₂, so it has no stereocenter. The non-carboxylic OH makes this a hydroxy acid; it does not add a second carboxyl group. [1]
Its carboxyl group dissociates to glycolate. Ester-forming chemistry can incorporate glycolic-acid residues into oligomers or polymers. A formulated cosmetic effect depends on concentration, final pH and other ingredients rather than the reagent’s assay alone. [1] [12]
The neutral formula and molecular connectivity specify the free acid. A salt, ester, polymer, solution or carbonyl-hydration equilibrium requires its own description. Property references retain product, temperature, pressure and unresolved measurement qualifiers. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | Glycolic Acid | Lactic Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₂H₄O₃ [1] | C₃H₆O₃ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 76.05 g/mol [1] | 90.08 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 2 [1] | 3 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 1 [1] | 1 [7] |
| Structure | HO–CH₂–COOH [1] | CH₃–CH(OH)–COOH [7] |
| Chemical family | Achiral alpha-hydroxy monocarboxylic acid [1] | Hydroxymonocarboxylic acid [7] |
| Identity focus | Free acid [1] | Commercial liquids / aqueous solutions [7] |
Choose glycolic acid when the target requires its two-carbon hydroxy-acid residue; choose the specified lactic-acid stereoisomer for its different three-carbon residue. For formulation sourcing, resolve grade, solution basis and final-product qualification rather than recommending raw acid from an assay headline. [1] [3] [7]
Match HO–CH₂–COOH and the method’s required chemical form.
Match CH₃–CH(OH)–COOH; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
FDA identifies glycolic acid as a common cosmetic AHA and explains that exfoliation depends on acid type, concentration, pH and the formulation. This verifies a formulated direct-use context, not suitability of a laboratory solid or concentrated solution for skin application. [14]
Sigma 124737 identifies use in preparing a PLGA-PEG-PLGA copolymer. Drug-delivery or absorbable-material performance belongs to the resulting polymer and its validation. [5]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. All three priced entries are solids. Sigma separately lists technical 70 wt.% aqueous glycolic acid; Wako separately lists a 67–73% solution assay without a retrieved explicit mass basis. Neither is treated as 70% chemical purity. A clear-solution test at 50 mg/mL is not saturation solubility.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI AmericaGlycolic Acid | Named grade not statedG0196 · 25 gHygroscopic solid; supplier states storage under inert gas. Separate aqueous G0110 is excluded. | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0% | 25 g | $25.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: TCI America
| View Product: TCI America, G0196 · 25 g (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedG0196 · 100 gHygroscopic solid; supplier states storage under inert gas. Separate aqueous G0110 is excluded. | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0% | 100 g | $68.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, G0196 · 100 g (opens new tab) | |||
| Named grade not statedG0196 · 500 gHygroscopic solid; supplier states storage under inert gas. Separate aqueous G0110 is excluded. | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0% | 500 g | $187.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, G0196 · 500 g (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-AldrichGlycolic Acid | ReagentPlus124737-25GSolid free acid. The 50 mg/mL clear-solution test is not a saturation-solubility measurement. | 99%; assay method not stated | 25 g | $65.90USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, 124737-25G (opens new tab) | |
| ReagentPlus124737-100GSolid free acid. The 50 mg/mL clear-solution test is not a saturation-solubility measurement. | 99%; assay method not stated | 100 g | $116.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, 124737-100G (opens new tab) | |||
| ReagentPlus124737-500GSolid free acid. The 50 mg/mL clear-solution test is not a saturation-solubility measurement. | 99%; assay method not stated | 500 g | $262.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, 124737-500G (opens new tab) | |||
| ReagentPlus124737-12KGSolid free acid. The 50 mg/mL clear-solution test is not a saturation-solubility measurement. | 99%; assay method not stated | 12 kg | $1,520.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, 124737-12KG (opens new tab) | |||
| FUJIFILM WakoGlycolic Acid | Wako 1st Grade071-01512Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. Separate 67–73% aqueous solution product is excluded; assay and concentration are not interchangeable. | 97.0+% (Titration) | 25 g | $25.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
| View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 071-01512 (opens new tab) | |
| Wako 1st Grade073-01511Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. Separate 67–73% aqueous solution product is excluded; assay and concentration are not interchangeable. | 97.0+% (Titration) | 100 g | $72.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 073-01511 (opens new tab) | |||
| Wako 1st Grade075-01515Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. Separate 67–73% aqueous solution product is excluded; assay and concentration are not interchangeable. | 97.0+% (Titration) | 500 g | $193.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 075-01515 (opens new tab) |
Glycolic Acid
Named grade not stated
Hygroscopic solid; supplier states storage under inert gas. Separate aqueous G0110 is excluded.
Last checked:
Glycolic Acid
ReagentPlus
Solid free acid. The 50 mg/mL clear-solution test is not a saturation-solubility measurement.
Last checked:
Glycolic Acid
Wako 1st Grade
Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. Separate 67–73% aqueous solution product is excluded; assay and concentration are not interchangeable.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
pKa: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB attributes 3.83 at 25 °C to an aqueous IUPAC compilation and gives a separate 3.6 without matched conditions. Ionic strength and method were not established in the retrieved entries; numeric comparison omitted. Boiling / decomposition: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB gives a pressure-free 100 °C entry and a separate decomposes entry; Sigma gives 169 °C at 998 hPa. The discrepancy was not resolved. No ordinary boiling constant promoted. Density: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Sigma cites 1.26 g/cm³ at 20 °C with OECD 109; HSDB gives relative density 1.49 at 25 °C/4 °C. State, method and material differences were not established; numeric main field omitted. Solution concentration: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 70 wt.% is explicitly a separate Sigma solution. Wako’s separate 67–73% solution titration lacks a retrieved explicit basis; no w/w inference. Melting / polymorph: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Attributed Ullmann reference distinguishes alpha material 78–80 °C and a metastable beta form at 63 °C. This does not establish the polymorph of a supplier lot.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
Solid at 20 °C and hygroscopic in the TCI listing. Neat-solid properties must not be replaced with those of a 70% aqueous product. [13] [4] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]
pKa: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB attributes 3.83 at 25 °C to an aqueous IUPAC compilation and gives a separate 3.6 without matched conditions. Ionic strength and method were not established in the retrieved entries; numeric comparison omitted. Boiling / decomposition: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB gives a pressure-free 100 °C entry and a separate decomposes entry; Sigma gives 169 °C at 998 hPa. The discrepancy was not resolved. No ordinary boiling constant promoted. Density: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Sigma cites 1.26 g/cm³ at 20 °C with OECD 109; HSDB gives relative density 1.49 at 25 °C/4 °C. State, method and material differences were not established; numeric main field omitted. Solution concentration: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 70 wt.% is explicitly a separate Sigma solution. Wako’s separate 67–73% solution titration lacks a retrieved explicit basis; no w/w inference. Melting / polymorph: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Attributed Ullmann reference distinguishes alpha material 78–80 °C and a metastable beta form at 63 °C. This does not establish the polymorph of a supplier lot.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
Glycolic acid is corrosive and can cause severe burns and eye damage; the Sigma product also identifies harmful inhalation. Wako’s retrieved Japanese JIS SDS additionally identifies suspected reproductive toxicity and respiratory-system and repeated-exposure liver/thymus hazards. Do not reduce the summary to cosmetic irritation. FDA also reports increased UV sensitivity from formulated AHA use. Obtain the applicable exact-product local SDS. [4] [5] [6] [15] [14]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab) · FUJIFILM Wako SDS PDF · exact product (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
The hydroxyl-bearing carbon is CH₂, so it has no stereocenter. The non-carboxylic OH makes this a hydroxy acid; it does not add a second carboxyl group. [1]
Lactic acid adds a methyl group at the hydroxyl-bearing carbon and introduces a stereocenter. Glycolic acid is achiral. Their commercial solution concentrations and their chemical assays must be compared as separate quantities. [7]
All three priced entries are solids. Sigma separately lists technical 70 wt.% aqueous glycolic acid; Wako separately lists a 67–73% solution assay without a retrieved explicit mass basis. Neither is treated as 70% chemical purity. A clear-solution test at 50 mg/mL is not saturation solubility. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
pKa: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB attributes 3.83 at 25 °C to an aqueous IUPAC compilation and gives a separate 3.6 without matched conditions. Ionic strength and method were not established in the retrieved entries; numeric comparison omitted. Boiling / decomposition: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB gives a pressure-free 100 °C entry and a separate decomposes entry; Sigma gives 169 °C at 998 hPa. The discrepancy was not resolved. No ordinary boiling constant promoted. Density: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Sigma cites 1.26 g/cm³ at 20 °C with OECD 109; HSDB gives relative density 1.49 at 25 °C/4 °C. State, method and material differences were not established; numeric main field omitted. Solution concentration: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 70 wt.% is explicitly a separate Sigma solution. Wako’s separate 67–73% solution titration lacks a retrieved explicit basis; no w/w inference. Melting / polymorph: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Attributed Ullmann reference distinguishes alpha material 78–80 °C and a metastable beta form at 63 °C. This does not establish the polymorph of a supplier lot.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Only supported attributed references retained; source or method gaps and unresolved conflicts are stated.
Formulation-dependent cosmetic context and UV sensitivity verified. CIR conditions reported by FDA are not described as FDA approval.
September 2024 revision, matching displayed solid product codes; jurisdiction-specific hazards reviewed.
Separate technical solution identity, explicitly distinguished in the retrieved solid-product comparison table. Not a priced supplier row here.
pKa: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB attributes 3.83 at 25 °C to an aqueous IUPAC compilation and gives a separate 3.6 without matched conditions. Ionic strength and method were not established in the retrieved entries; numeric comparison omitted. Boiling / decomposition: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB gives a pressure-free 100 °C entry and a separate decomposes entry; Sigma gives 169 °C at 998 hPa. The discrepancy was not resolved. No ordinary boiling constant promoted. Density: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Sigma cites 1.26 g/cm³ at 20 °C with OECD 109; HSDB gives relative density 1.49 at 25 °C/4 °C. State, method and material differences were not established; numeric main field omitted. Solution concentration: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 70 wt.% is explicitly a separate Sigma solution. Wako’s separate 67–73% solution titration lacks a retrieved explicit basis; no w/w inference. Melting / polymorph: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Attributed Ullmann reference distinguishes alpha material 78–80 °C and a metastable beta form at 63 °C. This does not establish the polymorph of a supplier lot.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.