Analytical-method research
Sigma 107360 documents pyruvic acid use in developing simultaneous organic-acid determination in wine and must. [5]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 127-17-3
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
Pyruvic acid is a three-carbon alpha-keto acid, distinct from sodium pyruvate and other pyruvate salts. Its storage-sensitive liquid products have different assay specifications. [1]
Identity focus: Free acid. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
A ketone carbonyl lies next to the carboxyl group. There is one COOH group and no stereocenter in the neutral molecular structure.
Pyruvic acid is a three-carbon alpha-keto acid, distinct from sodium pyruvate and other pyruvate salts. Its storage-sensitive liquid products have different assay specifications. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — TCI classifies pyruvic acid as corrosive, combustible and potentially corrosive to metals. Severe burns and eye damage require appropriate controls. The supplier technical sheet notes polymerization and decomposition on standing; obtain exact-product storage and stability instructions. Neither its metabolic role nor a pyruvate salt’s use reduces the free-acid hazard. [4] [5] [6]
A condensed structural formula keeps the functional groups visible. [1]
Sigma 107360 documents pyruvic acid use in developing simultaneous organic-acid determination in wine and must. [5]
The supplier technical sheet describes pyruvate in glycolysis and subsequent metabolism. [14]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
A ketone carbonyl lies next to the carboxyl group. There is one COOH group and no stereocenter in the neutral molecular structure. [1]
Carboxyl deprotonation gives pyruvate; carbonyl hydration in water is a different equilibrium. A gem-diol in solution is not automatically a commercial crystalline hydrate. The manufacturer notes storage-related chemical change, so a nominal assay does not establish stability after handling. [1] [12] [14]
The neutral formula and molecular connectivity specify the free acid. A salt, ester, polymer, solution or carbonyl-hydration equilibrium requires its own description. Property references retain product, temperature, pressure and unresolved measurement qualifiers. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | Pyruvic Acid | Lactic Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₃H₄O₃ [1] | C₃H₆O₃ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 88.06 g/mol [1] | 90.08 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 3 [1] | 3 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 1 [1] | 1 [7] |
| Structure | CH₃–C(=O)–COOH [1] | CH₃–CH(OH)–COOH [7] |
| Chemical family | Alpha-oxo monocarboxylic acid [1] | Hydroxymonocarboxylic acid [7] |
| Identity focus | Free acid [1] | Commercial liquids / aqueous solutions [7] |
Choose pyruvic acid when the method explicitly requires the free alpha-keto acid; choose the specified lactate or pyruvate salt only when the method calls for it. Match assay method, water and degradation-product limits, storage and retest requirements to the actual product. [1] [3] [7]
Match CH₃–C(=O)–COOH and the method’s required chemical form.
Match CH₃–CH(OH)–COOH; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
Sigma 107360 documents pyruvic acid use in developing simultaneous organic-acid determination in wine and must. This is a specific research/analytical context, not qualification as a certified reference material. [5]
The supplier technical sheet describes pyruvate in glycolysis and subsequent metabolism. That biological context is separate from purchasing free acid; its cited culture-medium examples include sodium pyruvate and do not establish identical free-acid use. [14]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. TCI P0579 specifies separate GC and iodometric titration thresholds; Thermo specifies NaOH titration 97.5–102.5% despite a 98% headline; Sigma’s 98% method was not stated. TCI frozen storage and Sigma 2–8 °C storage are exact-product instructions, not one universal rule.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI AmericaPyruvic Acid | Named grade not statedP0579 · 25 gIodometric assay is not neutralization titration. Supplier specifies frozen storage below 0 °C, inert gas and light protection. | GC: minimum 95.0% Iodometric titration: minimum 95.0% | 25 g | $34.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: TCI America
| View Product: TCI America, P0579 · 25 g (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedP0579 · 500 gIodometric assay is not neutralization titration. Supplier specifies frozen storage below 0 °C, inert gas and light protection. | GC: minimum 95.0% Iodometric titration: minimum 95.0% | 500 g | $139.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, P0579 · 500 g (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-AldrichPyruvic Acid | Named grade not stated107360-25GProduct specifies storage 2–8 °C. This does not replace the different TCI product instructions. | 98%; assay method not stated | 25 g | $60.80USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, 107360-25G (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not stated107360-100GProduct specifies storage 2–8 °C. This does not replace the different TCI product instructions. | 98%; assay method not stated | 100 g | $95.90USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, 107360-100G (opens new tab) | |||
| Named grade not stated107360-500GProduct specifies storage 2–8 °C. This does not replace the different TCI product instructions. | 98%; assay method not stated | 500 g | $353.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, 107360-500G (opens new tab) | |||
| Thermo Scientific ChemicalsPyruvic Acid | Extra pure; research use only132140025Direct US product page confirms identity, package and NaOH titration. Another retrieval returned EUR pricing without a matched market; no price promoted. A titration value above 100% is not chromatographic purity. | 98% headline; NaOH titration specification 97.5–102.5% | 2.5 kg | Public price not verified | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | COACheck supplierSDSCheck supplierCOOCheck supplier Document notes: Thermo Scientific Chemicals
| View Product: Thermo Scientific Chemicals, 132140025 (opens new tab) |
Pyruvic Acid
Named grade not stated
Iodometric assay is not neutralization titration. Supplier specifies frozen storage below 0 °C, inert gas and light protection.
Last checked:
Pyruvic Acid
Named grade not stated
Product specifies storage 2–8 °C. This does not replace the different TCI product instructions.
Last checked:
Pyruvic Acid
Extra pure; research use only
Direct US product page confirms identity, package and NaOH titration. Another retrieval returned EUR pricing without a matched market; no price promoted. A titration value above 100% is not chromatographic purity.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
pKa: OMITTED. Supplier sheet attributes 2.49 to Lange but does not state solvent, temperature or ionic-strength/method context. No unqualified numeric comparison supplied. Melting point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Supplier references differ between 11–12 and 13 °C; composition/method cause is not established. Each retained number is explicitly attributed. Boiling / stability: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 62 °C at 12 mmHg is a reduced-pressure reference. Sigma lists 165 °C without pressure while its technical sheet discusses standing-related decomposition; no normal boiling field inferred. Hydration: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Supplier technical sheet distinguishes aqueous carbonyl hydration from the anion. No fixed hydration percentage promoted without matched conditions; no crystalline-hydrate identity inferred. Storage / assay: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. TCI frozen and Sigma refrigerated instructions, GC/iodometric/NaOH methods and separate specifications are preserved rather than normalized.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
Liquid at 20 °C in the TCI listing; crystallization is possible below its reported melting region. Frozen-storage instructions do not change the reference state at 20 °C. [13] [4] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]
pKa: OMITTED. Supplier sheet attributes 2.49 to Lange but does not state solvent, temperature or ionic-strength/method context. No unqualified numeric comparison supplied. Melting point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Supplier references differ between 11–12 and 13 °C; composition/method cause is not established. Each retained number is explicitly attributed. Boiling / stability: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 62 °C at 12 mmHg is a reduced-pressure reference. Sigma lists 165 °C without pressure while its technical sheet discusses standing-related decomposition; no normal boiling field inferred. Hydration: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Supplier technical sheet distinguishes aqueous carbonyl hydration from the anion. No fixed hydration percentage promoted without matched conditions; no crystalline-hydrate identity inferred. Storage / assay: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. TCI frozen and Sigma refrigerated instructions, GC/iodometric/NaOH methods and separate specifications are preserved rather than normalized.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
TCI classifies pyruvic acid as corrosive, combustible and potentially corrosive to metals. Severe burns and eye damage require appropriate controls. The supplier technical sheet notes polymerization and decomposition on standing; obtain exact-product storage and stability instructions. Neither its metabolic role nor a pyruvate salt’s use reduces the free-acid hazard. [4] [5] [6]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
A ketone carbonyl lies next to the carboxyl group. There is one COOH group and no stereocenter in the neutral molecular structure. [1]
Lactic acid has CH(OH) where pyruvic acid has a ketone carbonyl, introducing a stereocenter in lactic acid. Metabolic interconversion does not make free-acid reagents or their salts interchangeable in a laboratory protocol. [7]
TCI P0579 specifies separate GC and iodometric titration thresholds; Thermo specifies NaOH titration 97.5–102.5% despite a 98% headline; Sigma’s 98% method was not stated. TCI frozen storage and Sigma 2–8 °C storage are exact-product instructions, not one universal rule. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
pKa: OMITTED. Supplier sheet attributes 2.49 to Lange but does not state solvent, temperature or ionic-strength/method context. No unqualified numeric comparison supplied. Melting point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Supplier references differ between 11–12 and 13 °C; composition/method cause is not established. Each retained number is explicitly attributed. Boiling / stability: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 62 °C at 12 mmHg is a reduced-pressure reference. Sigma lists 165 °C without pressure while its technical sheet discusses standing-related decomposition; no normal boiling field inferred. Hydration: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Supplier technical sheet distinguishes aqueous carbonyl hydration from the anion. No fixed hydration percentage promoted without matched conditions; no crystalline-hydrate identity inferred. Storage / assay: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. TCI frozen and Sigma refrigerated instructions, GC/iodometric/NaOH methods and separate specifications are preserved rather than normalized.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Only supported attributed references retained; source or method gaps and unresolved conflicts are stated.
Free acid, storage-sensitive chemistry and salt-specific examples reviewed. Numerical hydration fractions are not promoted as universal.
pKa: OMITTED. Supplier sheet attributes 2.49 to Lange but does not state solvent, temperature or ionic-strength/method context. No unqualified numeric comparison supplied. Melting point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Supplier references differ between 11–12 and 13 °C; composition/method cause is not established. Each retained number is explicitly attributed. Boiling / stability: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 62 °C at 12 mmHg is a reduced-pressure reference. Sigma lists 165 °C without pressure while its technical sheet discusses standing-related decomposition; no normal boiling field inferred. Hydration: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Supplier technical sheet distinguishes aqueous carbonyl hydration from the anion. No fixed hydration percentage promoted without matched conditions; no crystalline-hydrate identity inferred. Storage / assay: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. TCI frozen and Sigma refrigerated instructions, GC/iodometric/NaOH methods and separate specifications are preserved rather than normalized.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.