Maleate-salt preparation
Attributed industrial references identify maleic acid in preparing maleate salts of antihistamines and related drugs. [3]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 110-16-7
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
Maleic acid is the Z/cis geometric isomer of butenedioic acid. It is distinct from fumaric acid, malic acid and maleic anhydride. [1]
Identity focus: Z / cis free acid. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
Two carboxyl groups lie on the same side of the carbon–carbon double bond. Fumaric acid places them on opposite sides. The same formula and molecular weight do not establish interchangeable identity.
Maleic acid is the Z/cis geometric isomer of butenedioic acid. It is distinct from fumaric acid, malic acid and maleic anhydride. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — TCI and Merck classify these maleic-acid products as corrosive, harmful by ingestion or skin contact, capable of skin sensitization, and irritating to the respiratory tract. ICSC warns of irritating fumes including maleic anhydride on heating and of aquatic toxicity. Dust exposure and allergic skin reactions must not be minimized because maleate salts occur in medicines. [4] [5] [6] [14]
Condensed connectivity schematic; see the specified stereochemical identity below. [1]
Attributed industrial references identify maleic acid in preparing maleate salts of antihistamines and related drugs. [3]
Industrial references identify maleic acid as an intermediate for other acids and resin-related chemistry. [3]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
Two carboxyl groups lie on the same side of the carbon–carbon double bond. Fumaric acid places them on opposite sides. The same formula and molecular weight do not establish interchangeable identity. [1]
The cis arrangement permits intramolecular hydrogen bonding, while intermolecular associations and crystal packing also affect the properties. First and second acid ionization steps are separate equilibria; a statement that one isomer is simply stronger misses this distinction. [1] [12] [15]
The neutral free-acid formula, connectivity and specified geometric identity are distinct from a salt, ester, polymer or anhydride. Numeric pKa is not promoted where retrieved conditions or conflicting measurements remain insufficiently resolved. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | Maleic Acid | Fumaric Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₄H₄O₄ [1] | C₄H₄O₄ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 116.07 g/mol [1] | 116.07 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 4 [1] | 4 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 2 [1] | 2 [7] |
| Structure | HOOC–CH=CH–COOH|Z / cis identity [1] | HOOC–CH=CH–COOH · E (trans) [7] |
| Chemical family | Unsaturated aliphatic dicarboxylic acid [1] | Unsaturated dicarboxylic acid [7] |
| Identity focus | Z / cis free acid [1] | Solid [7] |
Choose maleic acid when a validated synthesis or salt-formation method specifies the cis acid. Choose fumaric acid when it specifies the trans acid. Confirm counterion identity and purity; neither a resin-intermediate context nor a familiar pharmaceutical maleate name qualifies a reagent for patient use. [1] [3] [7]
Match HOOC–CH=CH–COOH|Z / cis identity and the method’s required chemical form.
Match HOOC–CH=CH–COOH · E (trans); verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
Attributed industrial references identify maleic acid in preparing maleate salts of antihistamines and related drugs. This is an intermediate role: the qualified drug salt is a separate substance, and the acid is not itself the therapeutic agent. [3]
Industrial references identify maleic acid as an intermediate for other acids and resin-related chemistry. The acid, its anhydride and the finished polymer remain separate identities; broad anhydride application lists are excluded. [3]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. TCI M0006 specifies minimum 99% titration but minimum 98% GC. Merck 800380 specifies HPLC area and acidimetric assays separately. All displayed entries are free-acid solids; Wako’s discontinued 0.1 mol/L item is excluded.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI AmericaMaleic Acid | Named grade not statedM0006 · 25 gcis identity. The 99% titration headline is not the separate GC minimum. | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0% | 25 g | $23.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: TCI America
| View Product: TCI America, M0006 · 25 g (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedM0006 · 500 gcis identity. The 99% titration headline is not the separate GC minimum. | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0% | 500 g | $31.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, M0006 · 500 g (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-Aldrich / MerckMaleic Acid | For synthesis800380cis identity and stereochemical InChI confirmed. Package options and public price were not exposed in retrieved product content. | HPLC: minimum 99.0 area% Acidimetric: minimum 99.0% | Package not verified | Public price not verified | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 800380 (opens new tab) | |
| FUJIFILM WakoMaleic Acid | Wako Special Grade130-00492Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. Discontinued 0.1 mol/L item excluded; the listed packages are free-acid solids. | 99.0+% (Titration) | 25 g | $20.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
| View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 130-00492 (opens new tab) | |
| Wako Special Grade134-00495Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. Discontinued 0.1 mol/L item excluded; the listed packages are free-acid solids. | 99.0+% (Titration) | 500 g | $38.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 134-00495 (opens new tab) |
Maleic Acid
Named grade not stated
cis identity. The 99% titration headline is not the separate GC minimum.
Last checked:
Maleic Acid
For synthesis
cis identity and stereochemical InChI confirmed. Package options and public price were not exposed in retrieved product content.
Last checked:
Maleic Acid
Wako Special Grade
Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. Discontinued 0.1 mol/L item excluded; the listed packages are free-acid solids.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
pKa: OMITTED. Compiled ECHA-attributed values are 1.94 and 6.22 at 25 °C, but the entry cites OECD 105 (a solubility guideline) and does not establish the ionization method, ionic strength or sufficient solvent context. The isolated 1.83 entry lacks conditions. Numeric comparison omitted. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB lists 441 and 788 g/L at 25 °C; TCI 780 g/L at 25 °C; ICSC 78 g/100 mL without clarifying solution versus solvent-volume basis. Basis or method could matter, but the retrieved data do not establish the cause. Main numeric field omitted. Melting / heating: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Supplier/literature melting references span roughly 130–135 °C; decomposition and reported partial isomerization make a clean boiling field misleading. Supplier package / price: OMITTED. Merck product identity and assays confirmed, but package options and public price were not exposed. No guessed package inserted.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
Solid at 20 °C. Heating can cause chemical change and decomposition near the melting region; a listed decomposition temperature is not an ordinary boiling point. [13] [4] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]
pKa: OMITTED. Compiled ECHA-attributed values are 1.94 and 6.22 at 25 °C, but the entry cites OECD 105 (a solubility guideline) and does not establish the ionization method, ionic strength or sufficient solvent context. The isolated 1.83 entry lacks conditions. Numeric comparison omitted. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB lists 441 and 788 g/L at 25 °C; TCI 780 g/L at 25 °C; ICSC 78 g/100 mL without clarifying solution versus solvent-volume basis. Basis or method could matter, but the retrieved data do not establish the cause. Main numeric field omitted. Melting / heating: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Supplier/literature melting references span roughly 130–135 °C; decomposition and reported partial isomerization make a clean boiling field misleading. Supplier package / price: OMITTED. Merck product identity and assays confirmed, but package options and public price were not exposed. No guessed package inserted.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
TCI and Merck classify these maleic-acid products as corrosive, harmful by ingestion or skin contact, capable of skin sensitization, and irritating to the respiratory tract. ICSC warns of irritating fumes including maleic anhydride on heating and of aquatic toxicity. Dust exposure and allergic skin reactions must not be minimized because maleate salts occur in medicines. [4] [5] [6] [14]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
Two carboxyl groups lie on the same side of the carbon–carbon double bond. Fumaric acid places them on opposite sides. The same formula and molecular weight do not establish interchangeable identity. [1]
Maleic and fumaric acids share connectivity but differ in Z/E geometry. Their thermal behavior and ionization context must be evaluated separately. Maleic anhydride is a dehydration product with a different formula; its application list is not automatically the acid’s. [7]
TCI M0006 specifies minimum 99% titration but minimum 98% GC. Merck 800380 specifies HPLC area and acidimetric assays separately. All displayed entries are free-acid solids; Wako’s discontinued 0.1 mol/L item is excluded. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
pKa: OMITTED. Compiled ECHA-attributed values are 1.94 and 6.22 at 25 °C, but the entry cites OECD 105 (a solubility guideline) and does not establish the ionization method, ionic strength or sufficient solvent context. The isolated 1.83 entry lacks conditions. Numeric comparison omitted. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB lists 441 and 788 g/L at 25 °C; TCI 780 g/L at 25 °C; ICSC 78 g/100 mL without clarifying solution versus solvent-volume basis. Basis or method could matter, but the retrieved data do not establish the cause. Main numeric field omitted. Melting / heating: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Supplier/literature melting references span roughly 130–135 °C; decomposition and reported partial isomerization make a clean boiling field misleading. Supplier package / price: OMITTED. Merck product identity and assays confirmed, but package options and public price were not exposed. No guessed package inserted.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Conditions, isomer assignments, decomposition qualifiers and unresolved conflicts reviewed; no aggregate number treated as universal.
Chemical-specific safety and physical context; exact-product SDS remains necessary.
Publisher abstract reviewed: separate intra/intermolecular hydrogen-bonding and first/second ionization comparisons. Full article not retrieved.
pKa: OMITTED. Compiled ECHA-attributed values are 1.94 and 6.22 at 25 °C, but the entry cites OECD 105 (a solubility guideline) and does not establish the ionization method, ionic strength or sufficient solvent context. The isolated 1.83 entry lacks conditions. Numeric comparison omitted. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB lists 441 and 788 g/L at 25 °C; TCI 780 g/L at 25 °C; ICSC 78 g/100 mL without clarifying solution versus solvent-volume basis. Basis or method could matter, but the retrieved data do not establish the cause. Main numeric field omitted. Melting / heating: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Supplier/literature melting references span roughly 130–135 °C; decomposition and reported partial isomerization make a clean boiling field misleading. Supplier package / price: OMITTED. Merck product identity and assays confirmed, but package options and public price were not exposed. No guessed package inserted.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.