SCIENTIFIC REFERENCE · CAS 110-15-6

Succinic Acid: Properties, Uses & Comparisons

A four-carbon dicarboxylic acid. Understand its two acid dissociation steps, its role as a chemical building block, and the differences that matter when comparing related acids.

C₄H₆O₄118.09 g/molDicarboxylic acid family
Succinic acid molecular structureHOOC–CH2–CH2–COOH. Two terminal carboxyl carbon atoms and two central methylene carbon atoms; four carbons in total. Neutral free acid.HOCCH₂CH₂COHOO
Neutral free acid · HOOC–CH₂–CH₂–COOH
4 carbons · 2 carboxyl groups · no C=C bond

Succinic Acid at a Glance

Succinic acid is butanedioic acid, the neutral compound with a carboxyl group at each end of a two-methylene chain. The carboxyl carbon atoms count toward its four-carbon total. It is achiral and has no cis/trans identity.

Quick reference — neutral succinic acid
PropertyReference
Chemical / IUPAC nameSuccinic acid / butanedioic acid
CAS number110-15-6
Formula / molecular weightC₄H₆O₄ / 118.09 g/mol
Family / structureSaturated aliphatic dicarboxylic acid / HOOC–CH₂–CH₂–COOH
Carbon atoms / carboxyl groups4 / 2
Approximate pKa₁ / pKa₂4.21 / 5.64 in water at 25 °C; thermodynamic reference, ionic strength I = 0
Appearance / physical stateWhite crystals or crystalline powder; solid at 20 °C
Melting point184–186 °C, Sigma literature value; product specification ranges differ (see below)
Water solubilityAbout 83 g/L at 25 °C; reference value, not a guaranteed dissolution rate

Sources: PubChem: succinic acid, CID 1110 (opens a new tab) · Goldberg, Kishore & Lennen (2002), thermodynamic ionization constants; citrate §7.22, succinate §7.57 (opens a new tab) · Sigma-Aldrich 398055: US product, specifications and safety listing (opens a new tab) · TCI America S0100: US product and method-specific specifications (opens a new tab)

Understanding Succinic Acid

One molecule, two acid groups

Each –COOH group can donate a proton. Loss of the first gives hydrogensuccinate; loss of the second gives succinate, a dianion. A bottle of sodium succinate therefore is not the same chemical form or formula mass as a bottle of succinic acid.

Which form predominates depends on pH and the solution environment. “Succinate” in biochemistry usually refers to the ion rather than a neutral molecule of the free acid.

H₂Suc ⇌ H⁺ + HSuc⁻
pKa₁ ≈ 4.21

HSuc⁻ ⇌ H⁺ + Suc²⁻
pKa₂ ≈ 5.64

Water, 25 °C, thermodynamic reference. H⁺ is aqueous proton shorthand.

The carboxyl groups provide acid/base and ester-forming chemistry. The saturated carbon skeleton differs from fumaric acid’s alkene, while the spacing of the groups differs from malonic and adipic acids. Solid-state packing and hydrogen bonding also affect melting and dissolution; counting acid groups alone cannot predict solubility.

Technical note: pKa is not the pH of a bottle

These pKa values describe two equilibria, not a single measured solution pH. Actual pH requires concentration, temperature and solution composition. At finite ionic strength, activity effects matter. The second dissociation removes a proton from an already negative ion; its higher pKa reflects the less favorable overall equilibrium, including electrostatic and statistical effects. It is not an assertion that the two ends of the neutral molecule are chemically different.

Sources: Goldberg, Kishore & Lennen (2002), thermodynamic ionization constants; citrate §7.22, succinate §7.57 (opens a new tab) · PubChem: succinic acid, CID 1110 (opens a new tab) · OpenStax Organic Chemistry §29.7: the citric acid cycle (opens a new tab)

Succinic Acid Properties

Technical properties and their reference conditions
PropertyValue / observationHow to interpret it
Molecular identityC₄H₆O₄; 118.09 g/molNeutral free acid, not a succinate salt or an aqueous solution.
AppearanceWhite crystals / crystalline powderSupplier description; the physical state is solid at 20 °C.
Melting behaviorSigma: 184–186 °C (literature). TCI S0100: 185–189 °C (specification).A literature range and a commercial acceptance range are not the same measurement. Do not average them.
Water solubility83.2 g/L at 25 °C (PubChem/HSDB, Yalkowsky 2003); 83 g/L at 25 °C (TCI/Sigma reference).Rounded values agree here. The cited records do not establish a common experimental method or buffered pH. Dissolution speed is a separate question.
Acid dissociationpKa₁ 4.207; pKa₂ 5.636NIST review selection: water, 298.15 K, I = 0, hypothetical ideal unit-molality standard state.
Alternate compiled pKa4.207 / 5.635 at 25 °C in PubChem’s Dean attributionThe final 0.001 in pKa₂ differs between reference selections. Both round to 5.64; no precision advantage is implied.
Heating / boiling dataNo operating boiling point recommended hereSome catalogs list 235 °C without pressure or transformation detail. That is insufficient for process design; the Wako SDS warns of hazardous decomposition products on heating.

Use a property reference to understand the substance and the actual product specification to accept a purchased lot. Neither replaces measurements in your formulation or process.

Sources: PubChem: succinic acid, CID 1110 (opens a new tab) · Goldberg, Kishore & Lennen (2002), thermodynamic ionization constants; citrate §7.22, succinate §7.57 (opens a new tab) · Sigma-Aldrich 398055: US product, specifications and safety listing (opens a new tab) · TCI America S0100: US product and method-specific specifications (opens a new tab) · Wako 19-0433: English Japan/JIS SDS, revision 16 February 2023 (opens a new tab)

What Is Succinic Acid Used For?

Succinic acid is used as a reactant in synthesis and polyester production, and as a food flavor enhancer and pH-control ingredient under specific US conditions. Metabolic references generally concern succinate. These roles should be distinguished from claims about finished succinate polymers, salts or esters.

DIRECT USE · REGULATED CONTEXT

Food flavor and pH control

US 21 CFR 184.1091 specifies flavor-enhancing and pH-control uses, the incorporated FCC specification, and GMP conditions. It lists maximum as-served levels of 0.084% in condiments/relishes and 0.0061% in meat products. This does not qualify an arbitrary reagent for food use.

Sources: 21 CFR 184.1091: succinic acid, US food-use conditions (opens a new tab)

BIOCHEMICAL SPECIES

Succinate in metabolism

Succinate is an intermediate of the citric acid cycle and is oxidized to fumarate by succinate dehydrogenase. A research experiment must specify the acid or salt, counterion, concentration and pH. A normal metabolic role is not evidence for a health benefit from consuming the free acid.

Sources: OpenStax Organic Chemistry §29.7: the citric acid cycle (opens a new tab)

For an industrial or specialty synthesis, define the actual transformation and impurity tolerance. Broad labels such as “pharmaceutical,” “cosmetic,” or “plasticizer” do not establish direct use of the free acid or suitability of a particular grade.

Turning an application into a specification? The buying guide separates grade, assay method, documentation and purchasing requirements.

How Does Succinic Acid Compare to Other Acids?

Start with the molecular difference, then examine the evidence that applies to your task. Sharing two carboxyl groups does not make two acids interchangeable. The comparisons below concern the free acids; salts, esters and hydrates need their own specifications.

01 · ONE FEWER CARBON

Succinic Acid vs. Malonic Acid

Structure: malonic acid has one –CH₂– between its carboxyl groups; succinic acid has two. Their molecular weights are 104.06 and 118.09 g/mol respectively, so equal masses also contain different numbers of molecules.

Acidity: thermodynamic aqueous values at 25 °C are 2.852 / 5.697 for malonic acid and 4.207 / 5.636 for succinic acid. Malonic acid has the more favorable first dissociation; the second values are much closer. This is not a ranking of solution pH at arbitrary concentrations.

Reactivity and use: malonic ester synthesis exploits a methylene between two ester carbonyls, followed by hydrolysis and decarboxylation. That is derivative chemistry, not a reason to substitute free malonic acid into a succinic-acid polyester recipe. Succinic acid’s two-methylene spacer defines a different monomer.

Solubility decision: the retrieved malonic records disagree even around 20–25 °C. A reliable numerical solubility ratio is not established here; confirm a condition-matched source or measure the intended system. Choose according to the required reaction and chemical form, not the similar names.

Explore Malonic Acid comparisons →

Sources: Kettler, Wesolowski & Palmer (1992), malonic acid dissociation (opens a new tab) · PubChem: malonic acid, CID 867; attributed solubility records (opens a new tab) · Goldberg, Kishore & Lennen (2002), thermodynamic ionization constants; citrate §7.22, succinate §7.57 (opens a new tab) · OpenStax Organic Chemistry §22.7: malonic ester synthesis (opens a new tab) · Park, Jun & Im (1998), direct esterification of succinic acid and 1,4-butanediol (opens a new tab)

02 · A LONGER SATURATED CHAIN

Succinic Acid vs. Adipic Acid

Structure: adipic acid has six carbons and four methylene groups, compared with succinic acid’s four carbons and two methylenes. Its molecular weight is 146.14 g/mol.

Physical properties: TCI lists an adipic reference melting point of 153 °C and water solubility of 22 g/L at 20 °C. Succinic reference melting ranges are around 185 °C; its cited 83 g/L solubility is at 25 °C. The different temperatures preclude a precise solubility ratio.

Acidity: the IUPAC compilation quoted by PubChem gives adipic pKa values of 4.44 / 5.44 at 25 °C, with ionic strength unstated in the extracted entry. Other compilations differ slightly. Treat the values as reference context rather than a precisely matched thermodynamic comparison.

Materials choice: adipic acid with 1,6-hexanediamine is the classic nylon 66 monomer pair; succinic acid with 1,4-butanediol forms a succinate polyester. Changing the acid changes repeat-unit spacing and the product specification. Follow the validated polymer recipe and requalify a proposed substitution.

Explore Adipic Acid →

Sources: PubChem: adipic acid, CID 196; IUPAC and Dean pKa compilations (opens a new tab) · TCI A0161: adipic acid reference properties (opens a new tab) · OpenStax Organic Chemistry §31.4: step-growth polymers (opens a new tab) · Park, Jun & Im (1998), direct esterification of succinic acid and 1,4-butanediol (opens a new tab)

03 · SATURATED VS. TRANS ALKENE

Succinic Acid vs. Fumaric Acid

Structure: both have four carbons and two carboxyl groups, but fumaric acid is (E)-but-2-enedioic acid, with a carbon–carbon double bond. It is the trans isomer, not a saturated chain-length variant. Its 116.07 g/mol molecular weight reflects two fewer hydrogens.

Acidity and dissolution: the Merck values in PubChem are 3.03 / 4.54 at 25 °C; CRC instead reports 3.03 / 4.44 at 18 °C. Do not mix the temperatures or attribute the entire difference solely to temperature without the underlying measurements. TCI lists 6.3 g/L water solubility at 25 °C, much below its 83 g/L succinic reference at the same temperature. Those references still omit method and solution pH, so no exact performance ratio is inferred.

Application choice: fumaric acid’s C=C bond enables chemistry absent from saturated succinic acid. Its own US food regulation covers specific acidulant uses. Choose the structure, regulatory basis and dissolution behavior required by the formulation; neither acidity nor food-use status establishes a drop-in replacement.

Explore Fumaric Acid →

Sources: PubChem: fumaric acid, CID 444972; Merck and CRC pKa references (opens a new tab) · TCI F0067: fumaric acid reference properties (opens a new tab) · TCI America S0100: US product and method-specific specifications (opens a new tab) · 21 CFR 172.350: fumaric acid and salts, US food-use conditions (opens a new tab)

04 · TWO ACID GROUPS VS. THREE

Succinic Acid vs. Citric Acid

Citric acid has three carboxyl groups and one additional alcohol group. The anhydrous acid is C₆H₈O₇, 192.12 g/mol; citric acid monohydrate includes crystal water and is not that same mass basis. Its three aqueous dissociation steps have thermodynamic pKa values of 3.128 / 4.761 / 6.396 at 25 °C.

Its solubility record includes 59.2% by mass at 20 °C, which cannot be compared directly with succinic acid’s g/L at 25 °C. A concentration basis, density and matched temperature would be needed for conversion and comparison.

For a pH-control application, select the acid/base system around the target pH and required buffer capacity, then validate concentration, other ingredients and product requirements. Citric and succinic acids also have different US food provisions. Neither the extra acid group nor a familiar food use makes them interchangeable gram for gram.

Explore Citric Acid →

Sources: PubChem: citric acid, CID 311; solubility bases differ (opens a new tab) · Goldberg, Kishore & Lennen (2002), thermodynamic ionization constants; citrate §7.22, succinate §7.57 (opens a new tab) · 21 CFR 184.1033: citric acid, US food-use conditions (opens a new tab) · 21 CFR 184.1091: succinic acid, US food-use conditions (opens a new tab)

Side-by-Side Acid Comparison Chart

All formulas and masses below describe the neutral, anhydrous free acid. The solubility column preserves temperature and measurement basis; it is intentionally not a “most soluble” ranking.

Five free acids: identity, conditions and selected uses
Acid / formula / g/molStructure / COOHpKa and conditionsWater solubilityApplication / distinction
Succinic acid
C₄H₆O₄
118.09 g/mol
HOOC–CH₂–CH₂–COOH
Saturated C4 diacid; achiral
2 COOH
4.207 / 5.636Water, 25 °C; thermodynamic, I = 083.2 g/L in water at 25 °C (PubChem/HSDB, Yalkowsky 2003). Supplier reference: 83 g/L at 25 °C.Polyester monomer; conditional food pH-control useTwo methylene groups separate the carboxyl groups.Sources: PubChem (opens a new tab) · Goldberg, Kishore & Lennen (opens a new tab) · TCI America S0100 (opens a new tab) · Park, Jun & Im (opens a new tab) · 21 CFR 184.1091 (opens a new tab)
Malonic acid
C₃H₄O₄
104.06 g/mol
HOOC–CH₂–COOH
Saturated C3 diacid; achiral
2 COOH
2.852 / 5.697Water, 25 °C; thermodynamic values from extrapolated potentiometric measurementsNo single comparison value: PubChem reports 623 g/L at 25 °C and 766 g/L at 20 °C, but also an ICSC entry of 7.3 g/100 mL at 20 °C. Unresolved disagreement.Synthesis; malonic ester chemistry uses a derivativeOne methylene group between the two carbonyl carbons.Sources: PubChem (opens a new tab) · Kettler, Wesolowski & Palmer (opens a new tab) · OpenStax Organic Chemistry §22.7 (opens a new tab)
Adipic acid
C₆H₁₀O₄
146.14 g/mol
HOOC–(CH₂)₄–COOH
Saturated C6 diacid; achiral
2 COOH
4.44 / 5.44Water, 25 °C; IUPAC compilation via PubChem; ionic strength not stated in extracted record22 g/L in water at 20 °C (TCI reference). Temperature differs from the succinic acid value.Nylon 66 monomer with a diamineFour methylene groups; a different polymer repeat unit.Sources: PubChem (opens a new tab) · TCI A0161 (opens a new tab) · OpenStax Organic Chemistry §31.4 (opens a new tab)
Fumaric acid
C₄H₄O₄
116.07 g/mol
(E)-HOOC–CH=CH–COOH
Unsaturated C4 diacid; trans (E)
2 COOH
3.03 / 4.5425 °C, Merck Index via PubChem; ionic strength not stated. CRC gives 3.03 / 4.44 at 18 °C.6.3 g/L in water at 25 °C (TCI reference); method and solution pH not stated.Food acidulant under its own US conditionsA C=C bond restricts rotation and adds alkene chemistry.Sources: PubChem (opens a new tab) · TCI F0067 (opens a new tab) · 21 CFR 172.350 (opens a new tab)
Citric acid (anhydrous)
C₆H₈O₇
192.12 g/mol
HOOC–CH₂–C(OH)(COOH)–CH₂–COOH
C6 hydroxy tricarboxylic acid; achiral
3 COOH
3.128 / 4.761 / 6.396Water, 25 °C; thermodynamic, I = 059.2% w/w at 20 °C (Merck Index via PubChem). This is a mass fraction, not 592 g/L of solution; no density-based conversion is made.Food ingredient subject to FCC specifications and GMPThree carboxyl groups plus one alcohol group. Monohydrate is a different solid form.Sources: PubChem (opens a new tab) · Goldberg, Kishore & Lennen (opens a new tab) · 21 CFR 184.1033 (opens a new tab)

Succinic acid

Formula / molecular weight
C₄H₆O₄ · 118.09 g/mol
Structure / class
HOOC–CH₂–CH₂–COOH
Saturated C4 diacid; achiral; 2 COOH groups
pKa / conditions
4.207 / 5.636
Water, 25 °C; thermodynamic, I = 0
Water solubility
83.2 g/L in water at 25 °C (PubChem/HSDB, Yalkowsky 2003). Supplier reference: 83 g/L at 25 °C.
Selected use / distinction
Polyester monomer; conditional food pH-control use. Two methylene groups separate the carboxyl groups.

Sources: PubChem: succinic acid, CID 1110 (opens a new tab) · Goldberg, Kishore & Lennen (2002), thermodynamic ionization constants; citrate §7.22, succinate §7.57 (opens a new tab) · TCI America S0100: US product and method-specific specifications (opens a new tab) · Park, Jun & Im (1998), direct esterification of succinic acid and 1,4-butanediol (opens a new tab) · 21 CFR 184.1091: succinic acid, US food-use conditions (opens a new tab)

Malonic acid

Formula / molecular weight
C₃H₄O₄ · 104.06 g/mol
Structure / class
HOOC–CH₂–COOH
Saturated C3 diacid; achiral; 2 COOH groups
pKa / conditions
2.852 / 5.697
Water, 25 °C; thermodynamic values from extrapolated potentiometric measurements
Water solubility
No single comparison value: PubChem reports 623 g/L at 25 °C and 766 g/L at 20 °C, but also an ICSC entry of 7.3 g/100 mL at 20 °C. Unresolved disagreement.
Selected use / distinction
Synthesis; malonic ester chemistry uses a derivative. One methylene group between the two carbonyl carbons.

Sources: PubChem: malonic acid, CID 867; attributed solubility records (opens a new tab) · Kettler, Wesolowski & Palmer (1992), malonic acid dissociation (opens a new tab) · OpenStax Organic Chemistry §22.7: malonic ester synthesis (opens a new tab)

Adipic acid

Formula / molecular weight
C₆H₁₀O₄ · 146.14 g/mol
Structure / class
HOOC–(CH₂)₄–COOH
Saturated C6 diacid; achiral; 2 COOH groups
pKa / conditions
4.44 / 5.44
Water, 25 °C; IUPAC compilation via PubChem; ionic strength not stated in extracted record
Water solubility
22 g/L in water at 20 °C (TCI reference). Temperature differs from the succinic acid value.
Selected use / distinction
Nylon 66 monomer with a diamine. Four methylene groups; a different polymer repeat unit.

Sources: PubChem: adipic acid, CID 196; IUPAC and Dean pKa compilations (opens a new tab) · TCI A0161: adipic acid reference properties (opens a new tab) · OpenStax Organic Chemistry §31.4: step-growth polymers (opens a new tab)

Fumaric acid

Formula / molecular weight
C₄H₄O₄ · 116.07 g/mol
Structure / class
(E)-HOOC–CH=CH–COOH
Unsaturated C4 diacid; trans (E); 2 COOH groups
pKa / conditions
3.03 / 4.54
25 °C, Merck Index via PubChem; ionic strength not stated. CRC gives 3.03 / 4.44 at 18 °C.
Water solubility
6.3 g/L in water at 25 °C (TCI reference); method and solution pH not stated.
Selected use / distinction
Food acidulant under its own US conditions. A C=C bond restricts rotation and adds alkene chemistry.

Sources: PubChem: fumaric acid, CID 444972; Merck and CRC pKa references (opens a new tab) · TCI F0067: fumaric acid reference properties (opens a new tab) · 21 CFR 172.350: fumaric acid and salts, US food-use conditions (opens a new tab)

Citric acid (anhydrous)

Formula / molecular weight
C₆H₈O₇ · 192.12 g/mol
Structure / class
HOOC–CH₂–C(OH)(COOH)–CH₂–COOH
C6 hydroxy tricarboxylic acid; achiral; 3 COOH groups
pKa / conditions
3.128 / 4.761 / 6.396
Water, 25 °C; thermodynamic, I = 0
Water solubility
59.2% w/w at 20 °C (Merck Index via PubChem). This is a mass fraction, not 592 g/L of solution; no density-based conversion is made.
Selected use / distinction
Food ingredient subject to FCC specifications and GMP. Three carboxyl groups plus one alcohol group. Monohydrate is a different solid form.

Sources: PubChem: citric acid, CID 311; solubility bases differ (opens a new tab) · Goldberg, Kishore & Lennen (2002), thermodynamic ionization constants; citrate §7.22, succinate §7.57 (opens a new tab) · 21 CFR 184.1033: citric acid, US food-use conditions (opens a new tab)

Why some reference numbers are not directly comparable

Malonic solubility records have an unresolved order-of-magnitude disagreement. Citric data mix mass fractions and volume-based concentrations. For adipic acid, the IUPAC pair is 4.44 / 5.44, whereas Dean’s compilation gives 4.418 / 5.412 at 25 °C; the retrieved entries do not resolve method or ionic-strength differences. Fumaric pKa₂ differs between references at 18 and 25 °C. These are reasons to preserve attribution and conditions, not to average the numbers.

The acid molecules also have different crystal structures and ionization equilibria. Even matching temperature is not enough to predict dissolution in a buffered, saline or multicomponent formulation.

Safety and Handling

Succinic acid is not hazard-free because it occurs in metabolism. Sigma’s 398055 listing classifies serious eye damage (H318). The reviewed Wako English Japan/JIS SDS identifies skin and serious eye irritation (H315/H319). These product and jurisdiction records differ; do not replace the more severe classification with the milder one.

The Wako SDS calls for avoiding dust generation and skin/eye contact, appropriate ventilation and protective equipment, and separation from strong oxidizers. It identifies carbon oxides among thermal decomposition products. Obtain the current SDS for your exact product and destination before handling; this overview is not a complete exposure assessment, first-aid procedure or storage instruction.

Sources: Sigma-Aldrich 398055: US product, specifications and safety listing (opens a new tab) · Wako 19-0433: English Japan/JIS SDS, revision 16 February 2023 (opens a new tab)

Frequently Asked Questions

What is succinic acid?

The neutral four-carbon diacid HOOC–CH₂–CH₂–COOH, also called butanedioic acid (CAS 110-15-6). It is a crystalline solid under ordinary room conditions.

What is succinic acid used for?

It is a synthesis and polyester feedstock and has specified food flavor/pH-control uses. Succinate’s metabolic role and a finished polymer’s uses belong to different chemical forms; see the application evidence above.

Is succinic acid soluble in water?

Yes. About 83 g/L at 25 °C is a commonly cited reference. Temperature, ionization and other ingredients matter; that figure does not specify how quickly a powder dissolves.

What are the pKa values of succinic acid?

Approximately 4.21 and 5.64 in water at 25 °C. The NIST thermodynamic selection is 4.207 and 5.636 at zero ionic strength.

What is the difference between succinic acid and succinate?

Succinic acid has two acid protons. Hydrogensuccinate has lost one, and succinate has lost both. A succinate salt adds counterions and may include water of crystallization.

How is succinic acid different from malonic acid?

Succinic acid has two methylene groups between its carboxyl groups; malonic acid has one. That changes first dissociation, molecular weight and synthetic behavior.

How does succinic acid compare with fumaric acid?

Fumaric acid contains a trans C=C bond; succinic acid is saturated. The cited 25 °C water-solubility references are lower for fumaric acid, but they do not predict every formulation.

Is succinic acid the same as citric acid?

No. Citric acid is a six-carbon hydroxy tricarboxylic acid with three acid dissociation steps. Formula, mass, speciation and application requirements differ.

Continue to the Purchasing Guide

The Succinic Acid Suppliers & Buying Guide contains product records, package prices, documentation notes and a local RFQ worksheet. Older links to this profile’s purchasing sections lead there when JavaScript is enabled.

Scientific References

Reviewed 2026-10-12. Identity records were independently retrieved from PubChem. Evaluated constants, attributed handbook entries, original research and supplier properties are identified separately above.

  1. PubChem: succinic acid, CID 1110 (opens a new tab)
  2. Goldberg, Kishore & Lennen (2002), thermodynamic ionization constants; citrate §7.22, succinate §7.57 (opens a new tab)
  3. Kettler, Wesolowski & Palmer (1992), malonic acid dissociation (opens a new tab)
  4. PubChem: malonic acid, CID 867; attributed solubility records (opens a new tab)
  5. PubChem: adipic acid, CID 196; IUPAC and Dean pKa compilations (opens a new tab)
  6. PubChem: fumaric acid, CID 444972; Merck and CRC pKa references (opens a new tab)
  7. PubChem: citric acid, CID 311; solubility bases differ (opens a new tab)
  8. TCI A0161: adipic acid reference properties (opens a new tab)
  9. TCI F0067: fumaric acid reference properties (opens a new tab)
  10. Sigma-Aldrich 398055: US product, specifications and safety listing (opens a new tab)
  11. TCI America S0100: US product and method-specific specifications (opens a new tab)
  12. Wako 19-0433: English Japan/JIS SDS, revision 16 February 2023 (opens a new tab)
  13. 21 CFR 184.1091: succinic acid, US food-use conditions (opens a new tab)
  14. 21 CFR 184.1033: citric acid, US food-use conditions (opens a new tab)
  15. 21 CFR 172.350: fumaric acid and salts, US food-use conditions (opens a new tab)
  16. Park, Jun & Im (1998), direct esterification of succinic acid and 1,4-butanediol (opens a new tab)
  17. High-pressure catalytic hydrogenation and bio-based PBS synthesis (2025), ACS Sustainable Chemistry & Engineering (opens a new tab)
  18. OpenStax Organic Chemistry §29.7: the citric acid cycle (opens a new tab)
  19. OpenStax Organic Chemistry §22.7: malonic ester synthesis (opens a new tab)
  20. OpenStax Organic Chemistry §31.4: step-growth polymers (opens a new tab)

How we handle sources and conflicting values →