COOHCarboxylicAcids.comAn independent chemistry & sourcing resourceFind suppliers

CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 121-91-5

Isophthalic Acid

Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers

Isophthalic acid is the meta, or 1,3, benzene diacid. It shares a formula with phthalic acid while giving a different connectivity and polymer residue. [1]

At a glance

Quick reference
Molecular formula
C₈H₆O₄ [1]
CAS number
121-91-5 [4]
Molecular weight
166.13 g/mol [1]
IUPAC name
benzene-1,3-dicarboxylic acid [1]
Chemical family
Meta aromatic dicarboxylic acid [1]
Carbon atoms
8 [1]
Carboxyl groups
2 [1]
pKa reference
Not verified in this review [2]

Identity focus: Free acid. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.

01

THE ESSENTIALS

Isophthalic Acid in 30 Seconds

One ring carbon lies between the two COOH-bearing carbons along the shorter ring path. This positional arrangement differs from both neighboring ortho groups and opposite para groups; the neutral identity is achiral.

Isophthalic acid is the meta, or 1,3, benzene diacid. It shares a formula with phthalic acid while giving a different connectivity and polymer residue. [1] [3]

Safety at a glance — Control dust and eye/skin contact for the supplied solid and obtain its exact local SDS. Accessible product pages do not supply a consistent hazard classification, and an unclassified supplier extract is not evidence that exposure or heating is harmless. High-temperature phase data include sublimation references; avoid treating them as routine boiling instructions. [4] [5] [6]

Isophthalic Acid condensed structure: 1,3-C₆H₄(COOH)₂1,3-C₆H₄(COOH)₂2 carboxyl groups

A condensed structural formula keeps the functional groups visible. [1]

01

Polyester intermediate

Attributed industrial references identify isophthalic acid as a polyester synthesis component. [3]

02

Coordination-material intermediate

Sigma I19209 documents preparation of metal coordination polymers using isophthalic acid. [5]

03

Commercial availability

The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]

02

GO A LITTLE DEEPER

Understanding Isophthalic Acid

THE SIMPLE EXPLANATION

The functional groups

One ring carbon lies between the two COOH-bearing carbons along the shorter ring path. This positional arrangement differs from both neighboring ortho groups and opposite para groups; the neutral identity is achiral. [1]

A LITTLE DEEPER

What the structure changes

Its carboxyl groups can form ester linkages or metal-binding carboxylates. The resulting polyester or coordination material has properties of its own. Apparent aqueous solubility also changes when pH converts free acid into more soluble ionic forms. [1] [12]

Technical detail Identity, dissociation & specification

The molecular formula specifies the neutral free acid. A commercial solution, salt, ester or anhydride needs its own composition and specification. Quantitative references retain temperature, pressure, product identity and unresolved method qualifiers. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]

Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.

03

MAKE THE CONNECTION

How Isophthalic Acid Compares

Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.

SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON

Isophthalic Acid vs Phthalic Acid

Meta aromatic dicarboxylic acid
versus
Ortho aromatic dicarboxylic acid

Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.

Isophthalic Acid compared with Phthalic Acid
PropertyIsophthalic AcidPhthalic Acid
Molecular formulaC₈H₆O₄ [1]C₈H₆O₄ [7]
Molecular weight166.13 g/mol [1]166.13 g/mol [7]
Carbon atoms8 [1]8 [7]
Carboxyl groups2 [1]2 [7]
Structure1,3-C₆H₄(COOH)₂ [1]1,2-C₆H₄(COOH)₂ [7]
Chemical familyMeta aromatic dicarboxylic acid [1]Ortho aromatic dicarboxylic acid [7]
Identity focusFree acid [1]Free acid [7]
Chemical identities are compared here; supplier grades, concentrations, and stereochemical specifications are separate purchasing attributes. pKa values retain their stated conditions; no quantitative solubility ranking is implied.

When Might You Choose One Instead of the Other?

Choose isophthalic acid when a polyester, coordination-material or analytical method specifies the meta residue. Choose phthalic acid for an ortho target. Validate isomer, water, impurity and process specifications rather than substituting on molecular weight or titration alone. [1] [3] [7]

Specified starting material

Isophthalic Acid

Match 1,3-C₆H₄(COOH)₂ and the method’s required chemical form.

Phthalic Acid

Match 1,2-C₆H₄(COOH)₂; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.

Sources: [1] [7]

Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.

04

FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION

What Is Isophthalic Acid Used For?

01

Polyester intermediate

Attributed industrial references identify isophthalic acid as a polyester synthesis component. Resulting resin performance belongs to the polymer, not the free acid. [3]

02

Coordination-material intermediate

Sigma I19209 documents preparation of metal coordination polymers using isophthalic acid. The acid supplies the ligand precursor; finished-material structure and performance require separate characterization. [5]

05

CHOOSE THE RIGHT SPECIFICATION

Buying Isophthalic Acid

Selecting isophthalic acid involves more than the lowest price. Start with your application, then define purity, grade, quantity, documentation, and packaging.

1

What Are You Buying It For?

Intended use
Chemical Synthesis

Wako’s 95% capillary-GC 1st Grade is not equivalent to the 99% TCI or Sigma products. Neutralization titration does not itself prove positional identity. A clear solution in NaOH is not the solubility of neutral acid in water. Match the procedure’s identity and impurity specification; request a lot COA and current regional SDS.

2

Define Your Requirements

These are requirements you can request, not a list of guaranteed available combinations. Confirm each product’s actual specification.

Set your requirements to prepare a sourcing brief.
06

SOURCE WITH CONTEXT

Isophthalic Acid Suppliers

Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.

3 suppliers · 3 products · 6 package listingsLatest supplier check: October 3, 2026

Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. Wako’s 95% capillary-GC 1st Grade is not equivalent to the 99% TCI or Sigma products. Neutralization titration does not itself prove positional identity. A clear solution in NaOH is not the solubility of neutral acid in water.

Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.

6 package listings grouped under three supplier products
SupplierProduct / GradePurity / AssayPackage SizePublic PriceNormalized PriceDocumentationLast CheckedAction
TCI AmericaIsophthalic AcidNamed grade not statedI0155 · 25 gGC: minimum 99.0%
Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0%
25 g$17.00USD · US public priceNot comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
COA lookup on product page (opens new tab)SDSCheck supplierCOOCheck supplier
Document notes: TCI America
  • A product-specific certificate retrieval option was visible; no lot certificate was reviewed. Open the product page and use its certificate section.
  • A current regional SDS was not verified in this pass.
  • Origin-document availability was not verified. Country of origin is unverified and is not inferred.
View Product: TCI America, I0155 · 25 g (opens new tab)
Named grade not statedI0155 · 500 gGC: minimum 99.0%
Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0%
500 g$26.00USD · US public priceNot comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differView Product: TCI America, I0155 · 500 g (opens new tab)
Sigma-Aldrich / MerckIsophthalic AcidNamed grade not statedI19209-500G99%; method not stated500 g$52.70USD · US public priceNot comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
COA lookup on product page (opens new tab)SDSCheck supplierCOOCheck supplier
Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck
  • A product-specific certificate retrieval option was visible; no lot certificate was reviewed. Open the product page and use its certificate section.
  • A current regional SDS was not verified in this pass.
  • Origin-document availability was not verified. Country of origin is unverified and is not inferred.
View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, I19209-500G (opens new tab)
Named grade not statedI19209-2KG99%; method not stated2 kg$111.00USD · US public priceNot comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differView Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, I19209-2KG (opens new tab)
FUJIFILM WakoIsophthalic AcidWako 1st Grade097-01832Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. 95% specification is not equivalent to the 99% products. US SDS search extract was seen but full document retrieval was unsuccessful; not marked retrieved.95.0+% (Capillary GC)25 g$26.00USD · US catalog list priceNot comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
COA lookup on product page (opens new tab)SDSCheck supplierCOOCheck supplier
Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
  • A product-specific certificate retrieval option was visible; no lot certificate was reviewed. Open the product page and use its certificate section.
  • A current regional SDS was not verified in this pass.
  • Origin-document availability was not verified. Country of origin is unverified and is not inferred.
View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 097-01832 (opens new tab)
Wako 1st Grade091-01835Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. 95% specification is not equivalent to the 99% products. US SDS search extract was seen but full document retrieval was unsuccessful; not marked retrieved.95.0+% (Capillary GC)500 g$42.00USD · US catalog list priceNot comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differView Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 091-01835 (opens new tab)

TCI America

Isophthalic Acid

GC: minimum 99.0%
Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0%

Named grade not stated

25 g

I0155 · 25 g
Public price
$17.00USD · US public price
Normalized price
Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
View Product: TCI America, I0155 · 25 g (opens new tab)

500 g

I0155 · 500 g
Public price
$26.00USD · US public price
Normalized price
Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
View Product: TCI America, I0155 · 500 g (opens new tab)

Documentation

COA lookup on product page (opens new tab)SDSCheck supplierCOOCheck supplier
Document notes: TCI America
  • A product-specific certificate retrieval option was visible; no lot certificate was reviewed. Open the product page and use its certificate section.
  • A current regional SDS was not verified in this pass.
  • Origin-document availability was not verified. Country of origin is unverified and is not inferred.

Last checked:

Sigma-Aldrich / Merck

Isophthalic Acid

99%; method not stated

Named grade not stated

500 g

I19209-500G
Public price
$52.70USD · US public price
Normalized price
Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, I19209-500G (opens new tab)

2 kg

I19209-2KG
Public price
$111.00USD · US public price
Normalized price
Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, I19209-2KG (opens new tab)

Documentation

COA lookup on product page (opens new tab)SDSCheck supplierCOOCheck supplier
Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck
  • A product-specific certificate retrieval option was visible; no lot certificate was reviewed. Open the product page and use its certificate section.
  • A current regional SDS was not verified in this pass.
  • Origin-document availability was not verified. Country of origin is unverified and is not inferred.

Last checked:

FUJIFILM Wako

Isophthalic Acid

95.0+% (Capillary GC)

Wako 1st Grade
Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. 95% specification is not equivalent to the 99% products. US SDS search extract was seen but full document retrieval was unsuccessful; not marked retrieved.

25 g

097-01832
Public price
$26.00USD · US catalog list price
Normalized price
Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 097-01832 (opens new tab)

500 g

091-01835
Public price
$42.00USD · US catalog list price
Normalized price
Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 091-01835 (opens new tab)

Documentation

COA lookup on product page (opens new tab)SDSCheck supplierCOOCheck supplier
Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
  • A product-specific certificate retrieval option was visible; no lot certificate was reviewed. Open the product page and use its certificate section.
  • A current regional SDS was not verified in this pass.
  • Origin-document availability was not verified. Country of origin is unverified and is not inferred.

Last checked:

Documentation evidence

COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.

Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.

Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]

Verification limits & placement policy

Thermal behavior: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Supplier and attributed references span roughly 341–348 °C; a sealed-tube value near 346 °C is separately identified. Measurement context partly differs, but a universal clean melting value was not established. Water solubility: CONFLICT RESOLVED. Attributed neutral-water value about 120 mg/L at 25 °C is compatible in scale with TCI 130 mg/L at 25 °C. OECD SIDS 5400 mg/L at 14 °C is pH-adjusted for complete dissociation, not intrinsic neutral-acid solubility; temperature alone is not the explanation. pKa / density: OMITTED. Stepwise compilation values lack fully established method/ionic-strength context; density records do not supply a matched solid measurement suitable for the main field. Boiling point: OMITTED. Attributed sublimation and predicted estimates are not measured normal liquid boiling.

Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.

There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.

07

PLAN A LARGER ORDER

Need Isophthalic Acid in Bulk?

Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.

RFQ PROTOTYPE
Bulk RFQ feature — coming soon. Prototype form: submissions are not currently sent to suppliers. Use sample details to prepare an on-screen brief.
Prepare a bulk request Prototype form

The prefilled CAS identifies this profile’s principal form. Confirm or edit it for the requested product, especially a hydrate, stereoisomer, or salt. State the exact form and concentration before using the brief.

Prototype only · No request will be sent
08

A BUYER’S CHECKLIST

Before You Buy Isophthalic Acid

Selections remain only while this page is open.

09

FOR YOUR REFERENCE

Isophthalic Acid Technical Reference

Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.

Identification Names, formula & identifiers
Principal CAS
121-91-5
Identity focus
Free acid
Formula
C₈H₆O₄
Molecular weight
166.13 g/mol
IUPAC name
benzene-1,3-dicarboxylic acid
Connectivity SMILES
C1=CC(=CC(=C1)C(=O)O)C(=O)O
Identity SMILES
C1=CC(=CC(=C1)C(=O)O)C(=O)O
InChI
InChI=1S/C8H6O4/c9-7(10)5-2-1-3-6(4-5)8(11)12/h1-4H,(H,9,10)(H,11,12)
PubChem CID
8496

Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]

Physical Properties Product references & conditions

Solid at 20 °C. High-temperature melting references vary by source and method; a sublimation record is not ordinary liquid boiling. [13] [4] [5]

Thermal references
Sigma I19209: 341–343 °C literature reference; TCI: 348 °C reference. Method differences remain incompletely resolved. [5]
Water-solubility reference
TCI I0155: 0.13 g/L at 25 °C; measurement method not stated [4]

Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.

Acid/Base Properties Verified values & missing data

A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]

Thermal behavior: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Supplier and attributed references span roughly 341–348 °C; a sealed-tube value near 346 °C is separately identified. Measurement context partly differs, but a universal clean melting value was not established. Water solubility: CONFLICT RESOLVED. Attributed neutral-water value about 120 mg/L at 25 °C is compatible in scale with TCI 130 mg/L at 25 °C. OECD SIDS 5400 mg/L at 14 °C is pH-adjusted for complete dissociation, not intrinsic neutral-acid solubility; temperature alone is not the explanation. pKa / density: OMITTED. Stepwise compilation values lack fully established method/ionic-strength context; density records do not supply a matched solid measurement suitable for the main field. Boiling point: OMITTED. Attributed sublimation and predicted estimates are not measured normal liquid boiling.

Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.

Safety at a Glance Product-specific hazards

Control dust and eye/skin contact for the supplied solid and obtain its exact local SDS. Accessible product pages do not supply a consistent hazard classification, and an unclassified supplier extract is not evidence that exposure or heating is harmless. High-temperature phase data include sublimation references; avoid treating them as routine boiling instructions. [4] [5] [6]

Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.

Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab)

A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.

Review supplier documentation
10

COMMON QUESTIONS

Isophthalic Acid FAQ

What distinguishes Isophthalic Acid?

One ring carbon lies between the two COOH-bearing carbons along the shorter ring path. This positional arrangement differs from both neighboring ortho groups and opposite para groups; the neutral identity is achiral. [1]

How does it differ from Phthalic Acid?

Phthalic acid is 1,2 and isophthalic acid is 1,3. The identical formula cannot distinguish the two. Isophthalic acid does not have the same adjacent-carboxyl arrangement that forms the characteristic phthalic anhydride. [7]

What must a buyer specify?

Wako’s 95% capillary-GC 1st Grade is not equivalent to the 99% TCI or Sigma products. Neutralization titration does not itself prove positional identity. A clear solution in NaOH is not the solubility of neutral acid in water. [4]

Are the listed products directly price-comparable?

No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]

What reference data still need checking?

Thermal behavior: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Supplier and attributed references span roughly 341–348 °C; a sealed-tube value near 346 °C is separately identified. Measurement context partly differs, but a universal clean melting value was not established. Water solubility: CONFLICT RESOLVED. Attributed neutral-water value about 120 mg/L at 25 °C is compatible in scale with TCI 130 mg/L at 25 °C. OECD SIDS 5400 mg/L at 14 °C is pH-adjusted for complete dissociation, not intrinsic neutral-acid solubility; temperature alone is not the explanation. pKa / density: OMITTED. Stepwise compilation values lack fully established method/ionic-strength context; density records do not supply a matched solid measurement suitable for the main field. Boiling point: OMITTED. Attributed sublimation and predicted estimates are not measured normal liquid boiling.

Can I request a bulk quote here?

The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.

11

TRACE THE INFORMATION

Sources & Editorial Notes

Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.

  1. PubChem · chemical identity (opens new tab)

    Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.

  2. PubChem / HSDB · dissociation references (opens new tab)

    No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.

  3. PubChem / HSDB · application references (opens new tab)

    Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.

  4. TCI America · commercial product (opens new tab)

    Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.

  5. Sigma-Aldrich / Merck · commercial product (opens new tab)

    Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.

  6. FUJIFILM Wako · commercial product (opens new tab)

    Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.

  7. Phthalic Acid · identity (opens new tab)

    Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.

  8. Benzoic Acid · identity (opens new tab)

    Related identity and structural relationship.

  9. Maleic Acid · identity (opens new tab)

    Related identity and structural relationship.

  10. Fumaric Acid · identity (opens new tab)

    Related identity and structural relationship.

  11. Phthalic Acid · dissociation references (opens new tab)

    Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.

  12. OpenStax · Carboxylic-acid structure and properties (opens new tab)

    General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.

  13. PubChem / HSDB · attributed physical references (opens new tab)

    Attributed references reviewed; product, phase, pH and method gaps stated rather than inferred.

Review limits

Thermal behavior: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Supplier and attributed references span roughly 341–348 °C; a sealed-tube value near 346 °C is separately identified. Measurement context partly differs, but a universal clean melting value was not established. Water solubility: CONFLICT RESOLVED. Attributed neutral-water value about 120 mg/L at 25 °C is compatible in scale with TCI 130 mg/L at 25 °C. OECD SIDS 5400 mg/L at 14 °C is pH-adjusted for complete dissociation, not intrinsic neutral-acid solubility; temperature alone is not the explanation. pKa / density: OMITTED. Stepwise compilation values lack fully established method/ionic-strength context; density records do not supply a matched solid measurement suitable for the main field. Boiling point: OMITTED. Attributed sublimation and predicted estimates are not measured normal liquid boiling.

This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.