COOHCarboxylicAcids.comAn independent chemistry & sourcing resourceFind suppliers

CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 88-99-3

Phthalic Acid

Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers

Phthalic acid is the ortho, or 1,2, benzene diacid. It is distinct from phthalic anhydride and from the meta and para positional isomers; heating data need to retain chemical-change qualifiers. [1]

At a glance

Quick reference
Molecular formula
C₈H₆O₄ [1]
CAS number
88-99-3 [4]
Molecular weight
166.13 g/mol [1]
IUPAC name
phthalic acid [1]
Chemical family
Ortho aromatic dicarboxylic acid [1]
Carbon atoms
8 [1]
Carboxyl groups
2 [1]
pKa reference
Not verified in this review [2]

Identity focus: Free acid. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.

01

THE ESSENTIALS

Phthalic Acid in 30 Seconds

Two neighboring ring carbons carry COOH groups. Their adjacent arrangement is positional isomerism, not a cis/trans alkene designation. The neutral acid is achiral.

Phthalic acid is the ortho, or 1,2, benzene diacid. It is distinct from phthalic anhydride and from the meta and para positional isomers; heating data need to retain chemical-change qualifiers. [1] [3]

Safety at a glance — Sigma 402915 classifies serious eye damage; TCI lists skin and eye irritation. Retain the more severe exact-product warning rather than reducing the summary to mild irritation. Control solid exposure and account for dehydration/chemical change on heating; use the applicable product SDS. [4] [5] [6]

Phthalic Acid condensed structure: 1,2-C₆H₄(COOH)₂1,2-C₆H₄(COOH)₂2 carboxyl groups

A condensed structural formula keeps the functional groups visible. [1]

01

Synthetic-intermediate context

Attributed HSDB records identify phthalic acid in synthesis of compounds including phenolphthalein and phthalimide. [3]

02

Compendial analytical-test context

Wako separately sells a Japanese Pharmacopoeia general-tests phthalic-acid product for testing hypromellose phthalate. [14]

03

Commercial availability

The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]

02

GO A LITTLE DEEPER

Understanding Phthalic Acid

THE SIMPLE EXPLANATION

The functional groups

Two neighboring ring carbons carry COOH groups. Their adjacent arrangement is positional isomerism, not a cis/trans alkene designation. The neutral acid is achiral. [1]

A LITTLE DEEPER

What the structure changes

Heating can remove water to form phthalic anhydride. That reaction changes formula and identity; it is not ordinary boiling of the unchanged acid. Stepwise acid dissociation and dehydration are different processes. [1] [12]

Technical detail Identity, dissociation & specification

The molecular formula specifies the neutral free acid. A commercial solution, salt, ester or anhydride needs its own composition and specification. Quantitative references retain temperature, pressure, product identity and unresolved method qualifiers. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]

Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.

03

MAKE THE CONNECTION

How Phthalic Acid Compares

Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.

SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON

Phthalic Acid vs Isophthalic Acid

Ortho aromatic dicarboxylic acid
versus
Meta aromatic dicarboxylic acid

Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.

Phthalic Acid compared with Isophthalic Acid
PropertyPhthalic AcidIsophthalic Acid
Molecular formulaC₈H₆O₄ [1]C₈H₆O₄ [7]
Molecular weight166.13 g/mol [1]166.13 g/mol [7]
Carbon atoms8 [1]8 [7]
Carboxyl groups2 [1]2 [7]
Structure1,2-C₆H₄(COOH)₂ [1]1,3-C₆H₄(COOH)₂ [7]
Chemical familyOrtho aromatic dicarboxylic acid [1]Meta aromatic dicarboxylic acid [7]
Identity focusFree acid [1]Free acid [7]
Chemical identities are compared here; supplier grades, concentrations, and stereochemical specifications are separate purchasing attributes. pKa values retain their stated conditions; no quantitative solubility ranking is implied.

When Might You Choose One Instead of the Other?

Choose phthalic acid for a method specifying the ortho free acid; choose isophthalic acid for a meta aromatic-diacid target. If a synthesis calls for phthalic anhydride, obtain or prepare that defined compound under the method rather than substituting free acid without accounting for water and reaction chemistry. [1] [3] [7]

Specified starting material

Phthalic Acid

Match 1,2-C₆H₄(COOH)₂ and the method’s required chemical form.

Isophthalic Acid

Match 1,3-C₆H₄(COOH)₂; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.

Sources: [1] [7]

Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.

04

FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION

What Is Phthalic Acid Used For?

01

Synthetic-intermediate context

Attributed HSDB records identify phthalic acid in synthesis of compounds including phenolphthalein and phthalimide. The finished dye or imide properties belong to those derivatives. Industrial phthalic-anhydride routes are not automatically free-acid uses. [3]

02

Compendial analytical-test context

Wako separately sells a Japanese Pharmacopoeia general-tests phthalic-acid product for testing hypromellose phthalate. This is a direct analytical use, not qualification of the priced reagent products as pharmaceutical ingredients. [14]

05

CHOOSE THE RIGHT SPECIFICATION

Buying Phthalic Acid

Selecting phthalic acid involves more than the lowest price. Start with your application, then define purity, grade, quantity, documentation, and packaging.

1

What Are You Buying It For?

Intended use
Chemical Synthesis

TCI uses GC and titration, Wako uses capillary GC and Sigma’s ACS reagent assay method is unstated. Positional identity, water and anhydride impurity need their own controls. ACS or JP test-reagent terminology does not establish pharmaceutical-ingredient suitability. Match the procedure’s identity and impurity specification; request a lot COA and current regional SDS.

2

Define Your Requirements

These are requirements you can request, not a list of guaranteed available combinations. Confirm each product’s actual specification.

Set your requirements to prepare a sourcing brief.
06

SOURCE WITH CONTEXT

Phthalic Acid Suppliers

Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.

3 suppliers · 3 products · 7 package listingsLatest supplier check: October 3, 2026

Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. TCI uses GC and titration, Wako uses capillary GC and Sigma’s ACS reagent assay method is unstated. Positional identity, water and anhydride impurity need their own controls. ACS or JP test-reagent terminology does not establish pharmaceutical-ingredient suitability.

Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.

7 package listings grouped under three supplier products
SupplierProduct / GradePurity / AssayPackage SizePublic PriceNormalized PriceDocumentationLast CheckedAction
TCI AmericaPhthalic AcidNamed grade not statedP0287 · 25 gGC: minimum 99.0%
Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0%
25 g$21.00USD · US public priceNot comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
COA lookup on product page (opens new tab)SDSCheck supplierCOOCheck supplier
Document notes: TCI America
  • A product-specific certificate retrieval option was visible; no lot certificate was reviewed. Open the product page and use its certificate section.
  • A current regional SDS was not verified in this pass.
  • Origin-document availability was not verified. Country of origin is unverified and is not inferred.
View Product: TCI America, P0287 · 25 g (opens new tab)
Named grade not statedP0287 · 500 gGC: minimum 99.0%
Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0%
500 g$58.00USD · US public priceNot comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differView Product: TCI America, P0287 · 500 g (opens new tab)
Sigma-Aldrich / MerckPhthalic AcidACS reagent402915-25GMinimum 99.5%; method not stated25 g$43.50USD · US public priceNot comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
COA lookup on product page (opens new tab)SDSCheck supplierCOOCheck supplier
Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck
  • A product-specific certificate retrieval option was visible; no lot certificate was reviewed. Open the product page and use its certificate section.
  • A current regional SDS was not verified in this pass.
  • Origin-document availability was not verified. Country of origin is unverified and is not inferred.
View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 402915-25G (opens new tab)
ACS reagent402915-250GMinimum 99.5%; method not stated250 g$87.20USD · US public priceNot comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differView Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 402915-250G (opens new tab)
ACS reagent402915-1KGMinimum 99.5%; method not stated1 kg$121.00USD · US public priceNot comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differView Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 402915-1KG (opens new tab)
FUJIFILM WakoPhthalic AcidWako Special Grade163-02462Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. Distinct from the separately qualified Japanese Pharmacopoeia general-tests product.99.0+% (Capillary GC)25 g$23.00USD · US catalog list priceNot comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
COA lookup on product page (opens new tab)SDSCheck supplierCOOCheck supplier
Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
  • A product-specific certificate retrieval option was visible; no lot certificate was reviewed. Open the product page and use its certificate section.
  • A current regional SDS was not verified in this pass.
  • Origin-document availability was not verified. Country of origin is unverified and is not inferred.
View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 163-02462 (opens new tab)
Wako Special Grade167-02465Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. Distinct from the separately qualified Japanese Pharmacopoeia general-tests product.99.0+% (Capillary GC)500 g$71.00USD · US catalog list priceNot comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differView Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 167-02465 (opens new tab)

TCI America

Phthalic Acid

GC: minimum 99.0%
Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0%

Named grade not stated

25 g

P0287 · 25 g
Public price
$21.00USD · US public price
Normalized price
Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
View Product: TCI America, P0287 · 25 g (opens new tab)

500 g

P0287 · 500 g
Public price
$58.00USD · US public price
Normalized price
Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
View Product: TCI America, P0287 · 500 g (opens new tab)

Documentation

COA lookup on product page (opens new tab)SDSCheck supplierCOOCheck supplier
Document notes: TCI America
  • A product-specific certificate retrieval option was visible; no lot certificate was reviewed. Open the product page and use its certificate section.
  • A current regional SDS was not verified in this pass.
  • Origin-document availability was not verified. Country of origin is unverified and is not inferred.

Last checked:

Sigma-Aldrich / Merck

Phthalic Acid

Minimum 99.5%; method not stated

ACS reagent

25 g

402915-25G
Public price
$43.50USD · US public price
Normalized price
Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 402915-25G (opens new tab)

250 g

402915-250G
Public price
$87.20USD · US public price
Normalized price
Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 402915-250G (opens new tab)

1 kg

402915-1KG
Public price
$121.00USD · US public price
Normalized price
Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 402915-1KG (opens new tab)

Documentation

COA lookup on product page (opens new tab)SDSCheck supplierCOOCheck supplier
Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck
  • A product-specific certificate retrieval option was visible; no lot certificate was reviewed. Open the product page and use its certificate section.
  • A current regional SDS was not verified in this pass.
  • Origin-document availability was not verified. Country of origin is unverified and is not inferred.

Last checked:

FUJIFILM Wako

Phthalic Acid

99.0+% (Capillary GC)

Wako Special Grade
Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. Distinct from the separately qualified Japanese Pharmacopoeia general-tests product.

25 g

163-02462
Public price
$23.00USD · US catalog list price
Normalized price
Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 163-02462 (opens new tab)

500 g

167-02465
Public price
$71.00USD · US catalog list price
Normalized price
Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 167-02465 (opens new tab)

Documentation

COA lookup on product page (opens new tab)SDSCheck supplierCOOCheck supplier
Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
  • A product-specific certificate retrieval option was visible; no lot certificate was reviewed. Open the product page and use its certificate section.
  • A current regional SDS was not verified in this pass.
  • Origin-document availability was not verified. Country of origin is unverified and is not inferred.

Last checked:

Documentation evidence

COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.

Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.

Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]

Verification limits & placement policy

Thermal transition: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Attributed records include about 210 °C water loss, 230 °C decomposition and a sealed-tube reference near 191 °C; Wako gives 196–202 °C. Measurement context explains some differences, but not every discrepancy. No single ordinary melting constant. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. TCI gives 5.7 g/L at 20 °C, while an attributed NTP record gives less than 1 g/L at 20 °C; cause not established. A 25 °C reference cannot resolve the same-temperature conflict. Numeric main field omitted. pKa: OMITTED. Compiled stepwise values at 25 °C lack fully verified measurement/ionic-strength context; no numeric positional-isomer ranking. Boiling point: OMITTED. Decomposition/dehydration and a predicted boiling estimate are not a measured normal boiling point.

Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.

There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.

07

PLAN A LARGER ORDER

Need Phthalic Acid in Bulk?

Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.

RFQ PROTOTYPE
Bulk RFQ feature — coming soon. Prototype form: submissions are not currently sent to suppliers. Use sample details to prepare an on-screen brief.
Prepare a bulk request Prototype form

The prefilled CAS identifies this profile’s principal form. Confirm or edit it for the requested product, especially a hydrate, stereoisomer, or salt. State the exact form and concentration before using the brief.

Prototype only · No request will be sent
08

A BUYER’S CHECKLIST

Before You Buy Phthalic Acid

Selections remain only while this page is open.

09

FOR YOUR REFERENCE

Phthalic Acid Technical Reference

Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.

Identification Names, formula & identifiers
Principal CAS
88-99-3
Identity focus
Free acid
Formula
C₈H₆O₄
Molecular weight
166.13 g/mol
IUPAC name
phthalic acid
Connectivity SMILES
C1=CC=C(C(=C1)C(=O)O)C(=O)O
Identity SMILES
C1=CC=C(C(=C1)C(=O)O)C(=O)O
InChI
InChI=1S/C8H6O4/c9-7(10)5-3-1-2-4-6(5)8(11)12/h1-4H,(H,9,10)(H,11,12)
PubChem CID
1017

Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]

Physical Properties Product references & conditions

Solid at 20 °C. Thermal references include decomposition or loss of water to anhydride; no universal clean melting or normal boiling point is claimed. [13] [4] [5]

Thermal behavior
Sigma 402915: 210–211 °C (decomposition), literature reference. Other methods and references differ; see uncertainty notes. [5]
Solid density reference
Attributed Ullmann reference: 1.593 g/cm³ at 15 °C; not bulk powder density [13]

Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.

Acid/Base Properties Verified values & missing data

A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]

Thermal transition: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Attributed records include about 210 °C water loss, 230 °C decomposition and a sealed-tube reference near 191 °C; Wako gives 196–202 °C. Measurement context explains some differences, but not every discrepancy. No single ordinary melting constant. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. TCI gives 5.7 g/L at 20 °C, while an attributed NTP record gives less than 1 g/L at 20 °C; cause not established. A 25 °C reference cannot resolve the same-temperature conflict. Numeric main field omitted. pKa: OMITTED. Compiled stepwise values at 25 °C lack fully verified measurement/ionic-strength context; no numeric positional-isomer ranking. Boiling point: OMITTED. Decomposition/dehydration and a predicted boiling estimate are not a measured normal boiling point.

Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.

Safety at a Glance Product-specific hazards

Sigma 402915 classifies serious eye damage; TCI lists skin and eye irritation. Retain the more severe exact-product warning rather than reducing the summary to mild irritation. Control solid exposure and account for dehydration/chemical change on heating; use the applicable product SDS. [4] [5] [6]

Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.

Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab)

A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.

Review supplier documentation
10

COMMON QUESTIONS

Phthalic Acid FAQ

What distinguishes Phthalic Acid?

Two neighboring ring carbons carry COOH groups. Their adjacent arrangement is positional isomerism, not a cis/trans alkene designation. The neutral acid is achiral. [1]

How does it differ from Isophthalic Acid?

Isophthalic acid places the carboxyls at 1,3 instead of 1,2. The formula and molecular weight are identical, but adjacency enables the characteristic phthalic-anhydride relationship. Neither assay nor formula alone identifies the positional isomer. [7]

What must a buyer specify?

TCI uses GC and titration, Wako uses capillary GC and Sigma’s ACS reagent assay method is unstated. Positional identity, water and anhydride impurity need their own controls. ACS or JP test-reagent terminology does not establish pharmaceutical-ingredient suitability. [4]

Are the listed products directly price-comparable?

No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]

What reference data still need checking?

Thermal transition: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Attributed records include about 210 °C water loss, 230 °C decomposition and a sealed-tube reference near 191 °C; Wako gives 196–202 °C. Measurement context explains some differences, but not every discrepancy. No single ordinary melting constant. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. TCI gives 5.7 g/L at 20 °C, while an attributed NTP record gives less than 1 g/L at 20 °C; cause not established. A 25 °C reference cannot resolve the same-temperature conflict. Numeric main field omitted. pKa: OMITTED. Compiled stepwise values at 25 °C lack fully verified measurement/ionic-strength context; no numeric positional-isomer ranking. Boiling point: OMITTED. Decomposition/dehydration and a predicted boiling estimate are not a measured normal boiling point.

Can I request a bulk quote here?

The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.

11

TRACE THE INFORMATION

Sources & Editorial Notes

Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.

  1. PubChem · chemical identity (opens new tab)

    Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.

  2. PubChem / HSDB · dissociation references (opens new tab)

    No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.

  3. PubChem / HSDB · application references (opens new tab)

    Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.

  4. TCI America · commercial product (opens new tab)

    Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.

  5. Sigma-Aldrich / Merck · commercial product (opens new tab)

    Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.

  6. FUJIFILM Wako · commercial product (opens new tab)

    Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.

  7. Isophthalic Acid · identity (opens new tab)

    Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.

  8. Benzoic Acid · identity (opens new tab)

    Related identity and structural relationship.

  9. Maleic Acid · identity (opens new tab)

    Related identity and structural relationship.

  10. Fumaric Acid · identity (opens new tab)

    Related identity and structural relationship.

  11. Isophthalic Acid · dissociation references (opens new tab)

    Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.

  12. OpenStax · Carboxylic-acid structure and properties (opens new tab)

    General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.

  13. PubChem / HSDB · attributed physical references (opens new tab)

    Attributed references reviewed; product, phase, pH and method gaps stated rather than inferred.

  14. Wako · JP general-tests product (opens new tab)

    Separate 100 mg product, JP test context and distinct specification; not a priced row here.

Review limits

Thermal transition: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Attributed records include about 210 °C water loss, 230 °C decomposition and a sealed-tube reference near 191 °C; Wako gives 196–202 °C. Measurement context explains some differences, but not every discrepancy. No single ordinary melting constant. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. TCI gives 5.7 g/L at 20 °C, while an attributed NTP record gives less than 1 g/L at 20 °C; cause not established. A 25 °C reference cannot resolve the same-temperature conflict. Numeric main field omitted. pKa: OMITTED. Compiled stepwise values at 25 °C lack fully verified measurement/ionic-strength context; no numeric positional-isomer ranking. Boiling point: OMITTED. Decomposition/dehydration and a predicted boiling estimate are not a measured normal boiling point.

This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.