Flavor and fragrance precursors
Pentanoic acid is used as an intermediate for flavor and fragrance ingredients. [3]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 109-52-4
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
Pentanoic acid, often sold as valeric acid, is the straight-chain five-carbon free acid. Its ester and salt derivatives have distinct identities and uses. [1]
Identity focus: Free acid; liquid at 20 °C. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
One carboxyl group terminates a four-carbon alkyl chain. The carboxyl carbon brings the total to five; branched valeric-acid isomers are different compounds.
Pentanoic acid, often sold as valeric acid, is the straight-chain five-carbon free acid. Its ester and salt derivatives have distinct identities and uses. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — TCI V0003 identifies severe skin burns and eye damage, and harmful ingestion or inhalation. Merck 800821 also identifies corrosivity and long-lasting aquatic harm. Keep the product-specific differences visible; the liquid is not harmless because its derivatives enter flavors. [4] [5] [6]
A condensed structural formula keeps the functional groups visible. [1]
Pentanoic acid is used as an intermediate for flavor and fragrance ingredients. [3]
Compiled industrial references identify valeric acid as an intermediate for ester lubricants and plasticizers. [3]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
One carboxyl group terminates a four-carbon alkyl chain. The carboxyl carbon brings the total to five; branched valeric-acid isomers are different compounds. [1]
The carboxyl group supplies the acidic proton. Removing it produces a resonance-stabilized pentanoate ion. The alkyl chain adds a nonpolar part to the molecule, so acid strength alone does not describe its behavior in a formulation. [1] [12]
The formula and connectivity describe the neutral, straight-chain free acid. The displayed pKa retains the temperature reported by its compiled source; ionic strength and measurement basis were not stated. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | Pentanoic Acid | Butyric Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₅H₁₀O₂ [1] | C₄H₈O₂ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 102.13 g/mol [1] | 88.11 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 5 [1] | 4 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 1 [1] | 1 [7] |
| Structure | CH₃–(CH₂)₃–COOH [1] | CH₃–CH₂–CH₂–COOH [7] |
| Chemical family | Saturated aliphatic monocarboxylic acid [1] | Aliphatic monocarboxylic acid [7] |
| Identity focus | Free acid; liquid at 20 °C [1] | Liquid [7] |
Choose the five-carbon acid when a synthesis requires a pentanoyl group; choose butyric acid when the target requires a butanoyl group. Similar functionality does not establish formulation interchangeability. [1] [3] [7]
Match CH₃–(CH₂)₃–COOH and the method’s required chemical form.
Match CH₃–CH₂–CH₂–COOH; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
Pentanoic acid is used as an intermediate for flavor and fragrance ingredients. The resulting esters have their own odor profiles and specifications; this does not make reagent-grade free acid a food ingredient. [3]
Compiled industrial references identify valeric acid as an intermediate for ester lubricants and plasticizers. Lubrication or plasticization belongs to the downstream product, rather than to a bottle of free acid. [3]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. Specify the straight-chain CAS 109-52-4, GC versus titration requirements, water and impurity limits, and package volume. The displayed Wako 1st Grade product has a different assay specification from the other listings.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI AmericaPentanoic Acid | Named grade not statedV0003 · 25 mLFree acid; GC and neutralization titration are separate specifications where both are listed. | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0% | 25 mL | $26.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: TCI America
| View Product: TCI America, V0003 · 25 mL (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedV0003 · 500 mLFree acid; GC and neutralization titration are separate specifications where both are listed. | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0% | 500 mL | $54.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, V0003 · 500 mL (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-Aldrich / MerckPentanoic Acid | For synthesis8008210100The Analysis Note identifies GC area percentage. No mass-fraction equivalence is inferred. | 98.0% minimum (GC area %, a/a) | 100 mL | $39.60USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 8008210100 (opens new tab) | |
| For synthesis8008210500The Analysis Note identifies GC area percentage. No mass-fraction equivalence is inferred. | 98.0% minimum (GC area %, a/a) | 500 mL | $56.10USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 8008210500 (opens new tab) | |||
| For synthesis8008211000The Analysis Note identifies GC area percentage. No mass-fraction equivalence is inferred. | 98.0% minimum (GC area %, a/a) | 1 L | $86.10USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 8008211000 (opens new tab) | |||
| FUJIFILM WakoPentanoic Acid | Wako 1st Grade221-01292Research / further manufacturing; Japan stock listing does not confirm US availability. | 95.0+% (GC) | 25 mL | $47.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
| View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 221-01292 (opens new tab) | |
| Wako 1st Grade225-01295Research / further manufacturing; Japan stock listing does not confirm US availability. | 95.0+% (GC) | 500 mL | $147.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 225-01295 (opens new tab) |
Pentanoic Acid
Named grade not stated
Free acid; GC and neutralization titration are separate specifications where both are listed.
Last checked:
Pentanoic Acid
For synthesis
The Analysis Note identifies GC area percentage. No mass-fraction equivalence is inferred.
Last checked:
Pentanoic Acid
Wako 1st Grade
Research / further manufacturing; Japan stock listing does not confirm US availability.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
Melting point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. NIST fusion records 239.7 K and 238.7 K; TCI −18 °C and Wako −20 to −18 °C. Same nominal CAS; no hydrate or stereoisomer distinction, measurement/purity explanation unestablished. Numeric main melting field omitted. Solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Merck 40 g/L lacks a temperature; HSDB has 24 g/L at 25 °C. No matched measurement basis establishes the cause. Display only the attributed, condition-labelled 25 °C reference; do not rank solubilities.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
Pentanoic acid is liquid at 20 °C. A substantially inconsistent melting-point listing was excluded from the main reference field; the cause was not established from the retrieved records. [13] [14] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
Reference pKa: 4.842 (water, 25 °C; compiled Dean reference; ionic strength not stated). [2]
Melting point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. NIST fusion records 239.7 K and 238.7 K; TCI −18 °C and Wako −20 to −18 °C. Same nominal CAS; no hydrate or stereoisomer distinction, measurement/purity explanation unestablished. Numeric main melting field omitted. Solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Merck 40 g/L lacks a temperature; HSDB has 24 g/L at 25 °C. No matched measurement basis establishes the cause. Display only the attributed, condition-labelled 25 °C reference; do not rank solubilities.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
TCI V0003 identifies severe skin burns and eye damage, and harmful ingestion or inhalation. Merck 800821 also identifies corrosivity and long-lasting aquatic harm. Keep the product-specific differences visible; the liquid is not harmless because its derivatives enter flavors. [4] [5] [6]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
One carboxyl group terminates a four-carbon alkyl chain. The carboxyl carbon brings the total to five; branched valeric-acid isomers are different compounds. [1]
Pentanoic and butyric acids differ by one methylene group. Esterification therefore produces different acyl residues; a butyrate is not a valerate. [7]
Specify the straight-chain CAS 109-52-4, GC versus titration requirements, water and impurity limits, and package volume. The displayed Wako 1st Grade product has a different assay specification from the other listings. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
Melting point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. NIST fusion records 239.7 K and 238.7 K; TCI −18 °C and Wako −20 to −18 °C. Same nominal CAS; no hydrate or stereoisomer distinction, measurement/purity explanation unestablished. Numeric main melting field omitted. Solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Merck 40 g/L lacks a temperature; HSDB has 24 g/L at 25 °C. No matched measurement basis establishes the cause. Display only the attributed, condition-labelled 25 °C reference; do not rank solubilities.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
The cited reference and available conditions are retained; unspecified measurement conditions are not inferred.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Compiled fusion and boiling data; original references and uncertainties retained.
Individual references reviewed; numerical fields selected or omitted with conditions and conflict dispositions.
Melting point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. NIST fusion records 239.7 K and 238.7 K; TCI −18 °C and Wako −20 to −18 °C. Same nominal CAS; no hydrate or stereoisomer distinction, measurement/purity explanation unestablished. Numeric main melting field omitted. Solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Merck 40 g/L lacks a temperature; HSDB has 24 g/L at 25 °C. No matched measurement basis establishes the cause. Display only the attributed, condition-labelled 25 °C reference; do not rank solubilities.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.