Flavor-ester synthesis
Authoritative compiled references describe hexanoic acid as a starting material for esters used in artificial flavors. [3]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 142-62-1
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
Hexanoic acid, also called caproic acid, is a six-carbon saturated free acid used as a chemical intermediate. Its raw-material hazards and grade are separate from the uses of its esters. [1]
Identity focus: Free acid; liquid at 20 °C. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
The structure is a five-carbon alkyl chain joined to COOH. It has neither an additional hydroxyl group nor a carbon–carbon double bond.
Hexanoic acid, also called caproic acid, is a six-carbon saturated free acid used as a chemical intermediate. Its raw-material hazards and grade are separate from the uses of its esters. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — TCI H0105 classifies the product as corrosive, toxic in contact with skin, harmful by ingestion or inhalation, and harmful to aquatic life. Merck 800198 emphasizes severe skin burns and eye damage. Avoid reducing these hazards to the familiar use of hexanoate esters. [4] [5] [6]
A condensed structural formula keeps the functional groups visible. [1]
Authoritative compiled references describe hexanoic acid as a starting material for esters used in artificial flavors. [3]
The acid is used to manufacture hexyl derivatives, including hexylphenols and hexylresorcinol. [3]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
The structure is a five-carbon alkyl chain joined to COOH. It has neither an additional hydroxyl group nor a carbon–carbon double bond. [1]
Hexanoate formation distributes charge across the two carboxyl oxygens. Relative to octanoic acid, hexanoic acid has a shorter nonpolar chain; this structural comparison alone does not establish a quantitative solubility ratio. [1] [12]
The formula and connectivity describe the neutral, straight-chain free acid. A numeric pKa is omitted because the retrieved evidence does not establish a sufficiently defensible condition-labelled field. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | Hexanoic Acid | Octanoic Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₆H₁₂O₂ [1] | C₈H₁₆O₂ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 116.16 g/mol [1] | 144.21 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 6 [1] | 8 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 1 [1] | 1 [7] |
| Structure | CH₃–(CH₂)₄–COOH [1] | CH₃–(CH₂)₆–COOH [7] |
| Chemical family | Saturated aliphatic monocarboxylic acid [1] | Saturated aliphatic monocarboxylic acid [7] |
| Identity focus | Free acid; liquid at 20 °C [1] | Free acid; liquid at 20 °C [7] |
Use hexanoic acid for a verified hexanoyl-containing target and octanoic acid for an octanoyl-containing target. For a solvent or formulation study, confirm the method and product specifications experimentally before substitution. [1] [3] [7]
Match CH₃–(CH₂)₄–COOH and the method’s required chemical form.
Match CH₃–(CH₂)₆–COOH; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
Authoritative compiled references describe hexanoic acid as a starting material for esters used in artificial flavors. This is an intermediate use, not a food-grade claim for the displayed laboratory products. [3]
The acid is used to manufacture hexyl derivatives, including hexylphenols and hexylresorcinol. Those derivatives are separate chemicals; their performance is not attributed to the free acid. [3]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. Identify caproic acid by CAS 142-62-1. Retain GC area percentage, capillary GC and neutralization titration as separate specifications. Wako specifies refrigerated storage, while other listings give different product storage instructions.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI AmericaHexanoic Acid | Named grade not statedH0105 · 25 mLFree acid; GC and neutralization titration are separate specifications where both are listed. | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0% | 25 mL | $17.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: TCI America
| View Product: TCI America, H0105 · 25 mL (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedH0105 · 500 mLFree acid; GC and neutralization titration are separate specifications where both are listed. | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0% | 500 mL | $34.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, H0105 · 500 mL (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-Aldrich / MerckHexanoic Acid | For synthesis8001980005The Analysis Note identifies GC area percentage. No mass-fraction equivalence is inferred. | 98.0% minimum (GC area %, a/a) | 5 mL | $35.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 8001980005 (opens new tab) | |
| For synthesis8001980250The Analysis Note identifies GC area percentage. No mass-fraction equivalence is inferred. | 98.0% minimum (GC area %, a/a) | 250 mL | $39.60USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 8001980250 (opens new tab) | |||
| For synthesis8001981000The Analysis Note identifies GC area percentage. No mass-fraction equivalence is inferred. | 98.0% minimum (GC area %, a/a) | 1 L | $102.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 8001981000 (opens new tab) | |||
| For synthesis8001989026The Analysis Note identifies GC area percentage. No mass-fraction equivalence is inferred. | 98.0% minimum (GC area %, a/a) | 25 L | $701.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 8001989026 (opens new tab) | |||
| FUJIFILM WakoHexanoic Acid | Wako Special Grade081-06292Research / further manufacturing; Japan stock listing does not confirm US availability. Supplier specifies refrigerated storage; confirm storage separately from shipping. | 99.0+% (capillary GC) | 25 mL | $20.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
| View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 081-06292 (opens new tab) | |
| Wako Special Grade085-06295Research / further manufacturing; Japan stock listing does not confirm US availability. Supplier specifies refrigerated storage; confirm storage separately from shipping. | 99.0+% (capillary GC) | 500 mL | $59.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 085-06295 (opens new tab) |
Hexanoic Acid
Named grade not stated
Free acid; GC and neutralization titration are separate specifications where both are listed.
Last checked:
Hexanoic Acid
For synthesis
The Analysis Note identifies GC area percentage. No mass-fraction equivalence is inferred.
Last checked:
Hexanoic Acid
Wako Special Grade
Research / further manufacturing; Japan stock listing does not confirm US availability. Supplier specifies refrigerated storage; confirm storage separately from shipping.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
pKa: OMITTED. HSDB/Riddick lists 4.88 without temperature, solvent or ionic-strength conditions in the retrieved entry; no fully characterized numeric field is promoted. Solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. TCI 11 g/L at 20 °C and HSDB 10.3 g/L at 25 °C have different temperatures and references; the small discrepancy cannot be quantitatively assigned to temperature from these records. The 25 °C reference is explicitly attributed.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
Liquid at 20 °C. The cold-state behavior matters for storage even though the room-temperature product is supplied as a liquid. [13] [14] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]
pKa: OMITTED. HSDB/Riddick lists 4.88 without temperature, solvent or ionic-strength conditions in the retrieved entry; no fully characterized numeric field is promoted. Solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. TCI 11 g/L at 20 °C and HSDB 10.3 g/L at 25 °C have different temperatures and references; the small discrepancy cannot be quantitatively assigned to temperature from these records. The 25 °C reference is explicitly attributed.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
TCI H0105 classifies the product as corrosive, toxic in contact with skin, harmful by ingestion or inhalation, and harmful to aquatic life. Merck 800198 emphasizes severe skin burns and eye damage. Avoid reducing these hazards to the familiar use of hexanoate esters. [4] [5] [6]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
The structure is a five-carbon alkyl chain joined to COOH. It has neither an additional hydroxyl group nor a carbon–carbon double bond. [1]
The two-carbon chain-length difference changes the acyl group incorporated into an ester or another derivative. Caproic and caprylic acids are distinct raw materials despite their similar common names. [7]
Identify caproic acid by CAS 142-62-1. Retain GC area percentage, capillary GC and neutralization titration as separate specifications. Wako specifies refrigerated storage, while other listings give different product storage instructions. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
pKa: OMITTED. HSDB/Riddick lists 4.88 without temperature, solvent or ionic-strength conditions in the retrieved entry; no fully characterized numeric field is promoted. Solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. TCI 11 g/L at 20 °C and HSDB 10.3 g/L at 25 °C have different temperatures and references; the small discrepancy cannot be quantitatively assigned to temperature from these records. The 25 °C reference is explicitly attributed.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Compiled fusion and boiling data; original references and uncertainties retained.
Individual references reviewed; numerical fields selected or omitted with conditions and conflict dispositions.
pKa: OMITTED. HSDB/Riddick lists 4.88 without temperature, solvent or ionic-strength conditions in the retrieved entry; no fully characterized numeric field is promoted. Solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. TCI 11 g/L at 20 °C and HSDB 10.3 g/L at 25 °C have different temperatures and references; the small discrepancy cannot be quantitatively assigned to temperature from these records. The 25 °C reference is explicitly attributed.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.