Polymer and copolymer synthesis
WHO identifies acrylic acid as a monomer for polyacrylic acid and its salts and as a comonomer in other polymers. [15]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 79-10-7
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
Acrylic acid contains both a carboxyl group and a polymerizable carbon–carbon double bond. Commercial inhibitor systems are part of the product specification and handling context. [1]
Identity focus: Free acid. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
The terminal CH₂=CH group is attached to COOH. Because one alkene carbon carries two hydrogens, acrylic acid does not have an E/Z pair.
Acrylic acid contains both a carboxyl group and a polymerizable carbon–carbon double bond. Commercial inhibitor systems are part of the product specification and handling context. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — Acrylic acid is corrosive and flammable, with significant inhalation and skin-contact hazards. TCI A0141 also identifies organ damage, repeated-exposure organ damage and long-lasting aquatic harm. ICSC warns of rapid polymerization and fire or explosion, including uninhibited vapors blocking vents. Freezing can segregate stabilizer. TCI A0141 explicitly specifies 15–25 °C. Follow exact-product inhibitor, atmosphere, storage and thawing instructions; do not derive a generic cold-storage rule. [4] [5] [6] [14]
A condensed structural formula keeps the functional groups visible. [1]
WHO identifies acrylic acid as a monomer for polyacrylic acid and its salts and as a comonomer in other polymers. [15]
Acrylic acid is a starting material for acrylic esters. [15]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
The terminal CH₂=CH group is attached to COOH. Because one alkene carbon carries two hydrogens, acrylic acid does not have an E/Z pair. [1]
Deprotonation forms an acrylate ion; polymerization instead consumes the carbon–carbon double bond to build a chain. These are different transformations. Polyacrylic acid and an acrylate ester are distinct products with distinct specifications. [1] [12]
The neutral free-acid formula, connectivity and specified geometric identity are distinct from a salt, ester, polymer or anhydride. Numeric pKa is not promoted where retrieved conditions or conflicting measurements remain insufficiently resolved. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | Acrylic Acid | Methacrylic Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₃H₄O₂ [1] | C₄H₆O₂ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 72.06 g/mol [1] | 86.09 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 3 [1] | 4 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 1 [1] | 1 [7] |
| Structure | CH₂=CH–COOH [1] | CH₂=C(CH₃)–COOH [7] |
| Chemical family | Unsaturated aliphatic monocarboxylic acid [1] | Unsaturated aliphatic monocarboxylic acid [7] |
| Identity focus | Free acid [1] | Free acid [7] |
Choose acrylic acid when the validated process requires acrylic-acid units or an acrylate precursor; choose methacrylic acid for its methyl-substituted framework. Match inhibitor compatibility, water limits and the process safety controls before considering substitution. [1] [3] [7]
Match CH₂=CH–COOH and the method’s required chemical form.
Match CH₂=C(CH₃)–COOH; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
WHO identifies acrylic acid as a monomer for polyacrylic acid and its salts and as a comonomer in other polymers. Absorbency, thickening and coating performance belong to the resulting polymer or formulation. [15]
Acrylic acid is a starting material for acrylic esters. Ester identity and downstream qualification determine the eventual application; the raw acid itself is not an adhesive, coating or medical device. [15]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. TCI identifies MEHQ but gives no inhibitor concentration; Sigma 147230 specifies 200 ppm MEHQ. Wako’s retrieved listing does not establish an inhibitor identity or amount. Compare inhibitor requirements separately from GC, capillary GC and an unspecified 99% assay.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI AmericaAcrylic Acid | Named grade not statedA0141 · 25 gMEHQ named; inhibitor concentration not stated. Supplier explicitly specifies 15–25 °C and warns that refrigeration can segregate the inhibitor. | GC: minimum 99.0% | 25 g | $25.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: TCI America
| View Product: TCI America, A0141 · 25 g (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedA0141 · 500 gMEHQ named; inhibitor concentration not stated. Supplier explicitly specifies 15–25 °C and warns that refrigeration can segregate the inhibitor. | GC: minimum 99.0% | 500 g | $45.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, A0141 · 500 g (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-Aldrich / MerckAcrylic Acid | Anhydrous147230-5GContains 200 ppm MEHQ. Anhydrous grade does not mean inhibitor-free. | 99%; assay method not stated | 5 g | $51.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 147230-5G (opens new tab) | |
| Anhydrous147230-100GContains 200 ppm MEHQ. Anhydrous grade does not mean inhibitor-free. | 99%; assay method not stated | 100 g | $62.50USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 147230-100G (opens new tab) | |||
| Anhydrous147230-500GContains 200 ppm MEHQ. Anhydrous grade does not mean inhibitor-free. | 99%; assay method not stated | 500 g | $65.20USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 147230-500G (opens new tab) | |||
| Anhydrous147230-3KGContains 200 ppm MEHQ. Anhydrous grade does not mean inhibitor-free. | 99%; assay method not stated | 3 kg | $178.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 147230-3KG (opens new tab) | |||
| Anhydrous147230-18KGContains 200 ppm MEHQ. Anhydrous grade does not mean inhibitor-free. | 99%; assay method not stated | 18 kg | $662.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 147230-18KG (opens new tab) | |||
| FUJIFILM WakoAcrylic Acid | Wako Special Grade017-00773Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. Protect from light; inhibitor identity and amount not verified in the retrieved product text. | 98.0+% (capillary GC) | 25 mL | $30.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
| View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 017-00773 (opens new tab) | |
| Wako Special Grade011-00776Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. Protect from light; inhibitor identity and amount not verified in the retrieved product text. | 98.0+% (capillary GC) | 500 mL | $37.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 011-00776 (opens new tab) |
Acrylic Acid
Named grade not stated
MEHQ named; inhibitor concentration not stated. Supplier explicitly specifies 15–25 °C and warns that refrigeration can segregate the inhibitor.
Last checked:
Acrylic Acid
Anhydrous
Contains 200 ppm MEHQ. Anhydrous grade does not mean inhibitor-free.
Last checked:
Acrylic Acid
Wako Special Grade
Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. Protect from light; inhibitor identity and amount not verified in the retrieved product text.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
pKa: OMITTED. Compiled records report 4.25 and 4.26 at 25 °C without sufficient method, solvent and ionic-strength context in the retrieved entries. IUPAC records located by the common name instead concern acidity-function scales in aqueous sulfuric acid; those are not substituted for ordinary aqueous pKa. Inhibitor: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 200 ppm MEHQ belongs to Sigma 147230 only. TCI names MEHQ without an amount; the Wako amount and identity remain unverified. Thermal state: VERIFIED. Liquid at 20 °C does not exclude freezing near 14 °C or the associated stabilizer segregation.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
The listed material is liquid at 20 °C, but solidification near cool room temperatures affects the inhibitor system. No melting reference is a safe thawing instruction. [13] [4] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]
pKa: OMITTED. Compiled records report 4.25 and 4.26 at 25 °C without sufficient method, solvent and ionic-strength context in the retrieved entries. IUPAC records located by the common name instead concern acidity-function scales in aqueous sulfuric acid; those are not substituted for ordinary aqueous pKa. Inhibitor: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 200 ppm MEHQ belongs to Sigma 147230 only. TCI names MEHQ without an amount; the Wako amount and identity remain unverified. Thermal state: VERIFIED. Liquid at 20 °C does not exclude freezing near 14 °C or the associated stabilizer segregation.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
Acrylic acid is corrosive and flammable, with significant inhalation and skin-contact hazards. TCI A0141 also identifies organ damage, repeated-exposure organ damage and long-lasting aquatic harm. ICSC warns of rapid polymerization and fire or explosion, including uninhibited vapors blocking vents. Freezing can segregate stabilizer. TCI A0141 explicitly specifies 15–25 °C. Follow exact-product inhibitor, atmosphere, storage and thawing instructions; do not derive a generic cold-storage rule. [4] [5] [6] [14]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
The terminal CH₂=CH group is attached to COOH. Because one alkene carbon carries two hydrogens, acrylic acid does not have an E/Z pair. [1]
Methacrylic acid adds a methyl group at the carbon next to COOH. The monomers therefore supply different repeating structures; equal headline chemical assay does not make their polymerization behavior interchangeable. [7]
TCI identifies MEHQ but gives no inhibitor concentration; Sigma 147230 specifies 200 ppm MEHQ. Wako’s retrieved listing does not establish an inhibitor identity or amount. Compare inhibitor requirements separately from GC, capillary GC and an unspecified 99% assay. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
pKa: OMITTED. Compiled records report 4.25 and 4.26 at 25 °C without sufficient method, solvent and ionic-strength context in the retrieved entries. IUPAC records located by the common name instead concern acidity-function scales in aqueous sulfuric acid; those are not substituted for ordinary aqueous pKa. Inhibitor: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 200 ppm MEHQ belongs to Sigma 147230 only. TCI names MEHQ without an amount; the Wako amount and identity remain unverified. Thermal state: VERIFIED. Liquid at 20 °C does not exclude freezing near 14 °C or the associated stabilizer segregation.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Conditions, isomer assignments, decomposition qualifiers and unresolved conflicts reviewed; no aggregate number treated as universal.
Chemical-specific safety and physical context; exact-product SDS remains necessary.
Sections 1.2 and 1.4: inhibitor-dependent handling and monomer/ester-precursor roles. Historical production quantities are not promoted.
pKa: OMITTED. Compiled records report 4.25 and 4.26 at 25 °C without sufficient method, solvent and ionic-strength context in the retrieved entries. IUPAC records located by the common name instead concern acidity-function scales in aqueous sulfuric acid; those are not substituted for ordinary aqueous pKa. Inhibitor: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 200 ppm MEHQ belongs to Sigma 147230 only. TCI names MEHQ without an amount; the Wako amount and identity remain unverified. Thermal state: VERIFIED. Liquid at 20 °C does not exclude freezing near 14 °C or the associated stabilizer segregation.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.