Monomer and copolymer manufacture
Attributed industrial references identify methacrylic acid as a monomer for resins and polymers. [3]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 79-41-4
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
Methacrylic acid is the alpha-methyl-substituted analogue of acrylic acid. It is sold with product-specific stabilization and is distinct from methyl methacrylate. [1]
Identity focus: Free acid. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
A methyl group and COOH share one alkene carbon; the other is CH₂. The terminal double bond has no E/Z assignment. Methacrylic acid and E-crotonic acid have the same formula but different connectivity.
Methacrylic acid is the alpha-methyl-substituted analogue of acrylic acid. It is sold with product-specific stabilization and is distinct from methyl methacrylate. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — Methacrylic acid is corrosive and combustible. TCI identifies toxic skin contact, harmful ingestion or inhalation and respiratory irritation. ICSC warns of polymerization under heat, light, peroxides or traces of hydrochloric acid, with fire or explosion risk; uninhibited vapors can block vents. Stabilizer and exact-product instructions matter. Different catalog storage or packing statements must not be combined into one atmosphere rule. [4] [5] [6] [14]
A condensed structural formula keeps the functional groups visible. [1]
Attributed industrial references identify methacrylic acid as a monomer for resins and polymers. [3]
The acid is a precursor to methacrylate esters used in polymer manufacture. [3]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
A methyl group and COOH share one alkene carbon; the other is CH₂. The terminal double bond has no E/Z assignment. Methacrylic acid and E-crotonic acid have the same formula but different connectivity. [1]
The carboxyl group can form salts and esters, while the carbon–carbon double bond can enter polymerization. Methyl methacrylate is an ester derived from the acid, not another name for the free acid. [1] [12]
The neutral free-acid formula, connectivity and specified geometric identity are distinct from a salt, ester, polymer or anhydride. Numeric pKa is not promoted where retrieved conditions or conflicting measurements remain insufficiently resolved. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | Methacrylic Acid | Acrylic Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₄H₆O₂ [1] | C₃H₄O₂ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 86.09 g/mol [1] | 72.06 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 4 [1] | 3 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 1 [1] | 1 [7] |
| Structure | CH₂=C(CH₃)–COOH [1] | CH₂=CH–COOH [7] |
| Chemical family | Unsaturated aliphatic monocarboxylic acid [1] | Unsaturated aliphatic monocarboxylic acid [7] |
| Identity focus | Free acid [1] | Free acid [7] |
Use methacrylic acid when the target requires its methyl-substituted acid units or a methacrylate precursor. Choose acrylic acid for an acrylic framework. Resolve inhibitor and impurity compatibility against the actual synthesis rather than a broad finished-polymer use list. [1] [3] [7]
Match CH₂=C(CH₃)–COOH and the method’s required chemical form.
Match CH₂=CH–COOH; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
Attributed industrial references identify methacrylic acid as a monomer for resins and polymers. The resulting polymer supplies its coating or material properties. [3]
The acid is a precursor to methacrylate esters used in polymer manufacture. The ester and its polymer have different identities from methacrylic acid; no dental or cosmetic suitability is assigned to these reagent listings. [3]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. Sigma 155721 specifies 250 ppm MEHQ; TCI names MEHQ without an amount. Wako lists capillary GC assay but its inhibitor identity and concentration were not established. Preserve mass versus volume packages and obtain current manufacturer storage instructions.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI AmericaMethacrylic Acid | Named grade not statedM0079 · 25 gStabilized with MEHQ; amount not stated. Storage wording differs from other products; obtain exact-product instructions. | GC: minimum 99.0% | 25 g | $19.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: TCI America
| View Product: TCI America, M0079 · 25 g (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedM0079 · 500 gStabilized with MEHQ; amount not stated. Storage wording differs from other products; obtain exact-product instructions. | GC: minimum 99.0% | 500 g | $33.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, M0079 · 500 g (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-Aldrich / MerckMethacrylic Acid | Named grade not stated155721-5GContains 250 ppm MEHQ. | 99%; assay method not stated | 5 g | $20.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 155721-5G (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not stated155721-100GContains 250 ppm MEHQ. | 99%; assay method not stated | 100 g | $46.50USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 155721-100G (opens new tab) | |||
| Named grade not stated155721-500GContains 250 ppm MEHQ. | 99%; assay method not stated | 500 g | $58.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 155721-500G (opens new tab) | |||
| Named grade not stated155721-2KGContains 250 ppm MEHQ. | 99%; assay method not stated | 2 kg | $182.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 155721-2KG (opens new tab) | |||
| Named grade not stated155721-3KGContains 250 ppm MEHQ. | 99%; assay method not stated | 3 kg | $222.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 155721-3KG (opens new tab) | |||
| Named grade not stated155721-18KGContains 250 ppm MEHQ. | 99%; assay method not stated | 18 kg | $643.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 155721-18KG (opens new tab) | |||
| FUJIFILM WakoMethacrylic Acid | Wako Special Grade134-10802Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. Inhibitor identity and amount not verified. Product states packed on inactive gas; do not infer another product’s atmosphere requirements. | 99.0+% (capillary GC) | 25 mL | $25.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
| View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 134-10802 (opens new tab) | |
| Wako Special Grade138-10805Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. Inhibitor identity and amount not verified. Product states packed on inactive gas; do not infer another product’s atmosphere requirements. | 99.0+% (capillary GC) | 500 mL | $37.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 138-10805 (opens new tab) |
Methacrylic Acid
Named grade not stated
Stabilized with MEHQ; amount not stated. Storage wording differs from other products; obtain exact-product instructions.
Last checked:
Methacrylic Acid
Named grade not stated
Contains 250 ppm MEHQ.
Last checked:
Methacrylic Acid
Wako Special Grade
Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. Inhibitor identity and amount not verified. Product states packed on inactive gas; do not infer another product’s atmosphere requirements.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
pKa: OMITTED. HSDB attributes 4.65 to IUPAC aqueous ionization references but the retrieved entry does not state temperature, ionic strength or measurement method. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB/Riddick gives 89 g/L at 20 °C; ICSC and Sigma give 98 g/L at 20 °C. A matched measurement or composition explanation was not established. Numeric solubility omitted. Storage / stabilization: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. TCI cool-storage wording, Wako room-temperature/inactive-gas packing text and product-specific MEHQ specifications are retained as separate manufacturer statements. No universal storage instruction inferred.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
Liquid at 20 °C, with crystallization possible in cooler conditions. Product-specific freezing ranges and stabilization must be reviewed together. [13] [4] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]
pKa: OMITTED. HSDB attributes 4.65 to IUPAC aqueous ionization references but the retrieved entry does not state temperature, ionic strength or measurement method. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB/Riddick gives 89 g/L at 20 °C; ICSC and Sigma give 98 g/L at 20 °C. A matched measurement or composition explanation was not established. Numeric solubility omitted. Storage / stabilization: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. TCI cool-storage wording, Wako room-temperature/inactive-gas packing text and product-specific MEHQ specifications are retained as separate manufacturer statements. No universal storage instruction inferred.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
Methacrylic acid is corrosive and combustible. TCI identifies toxic skin contact, harmful ingestion or inhalation and respiratory irritation. ICSC warns of polymerization under heat, light, peroxides or traces of hydrochloric acid, with fire or explosion risk; uninhibited vapors can block vents. Stabilizer and exact-product instructions matter. Different catalog storage or packing statements must not be combined into one atmosphere rule. [4] [5] [6] [14]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
A methyl group and COOH share one alkene carbon; the other is CH₂. The terminal double bond has no E/Z assignment. Methacrylic acid and E-crotonic acid have the same formula but different connectivity. [1]
Acrylic acid has one fewer carbon and no alpha methyl group. A process validated for one monomer cannot be qualified for the other by matching a 99% chemical assay. [7]
Sigma 155721 specifies 250 ppm MEHQ; TCI names MEHQ without an amount. Wako lists capillary GC assay but its inhibitor identity and concentration were not established. Preserve mass versus volume packages and obtain current manufacturer storage instructions. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
pKa: OMITTED. HSDB attributes 4.65 to IUPAC aqueous ionization references but the retrieved entry does not state temperature, ionic strength or measurement method. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB/Riddick gives 89 g/L at 20 °C; ICSC and Sigma give 98 g/L at 20 °C. A matched measurement or composition explanation was not established. Numeric solubility omitted. Storage / stabilization: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. TCI cool-storage wording, Wako room-temperature/inactive-gas packing text and product-specific MEHQ specifications are retained as separate manufacturer statements. No universal storage instruction inferred.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Conditions, isomer assignments, decomposition qualifiers and unresolved conflicts reviewed; no aggregate number treated as universal.
Chemical-specific safety and physical context; exact-product SDS remains necessary.
pKa: OMITTED. HSDB attributes 4.65 to IUPAC aqueous ionization references but the retrieved entry does not state temperature, ionic strength or measurement method. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB/Riddick gives 89 g/L at 20 °C; ICSC and Sigma give 98 g/L at 20 °C. A matched measurement or composition explanation was not established. Numeric solubility omitted. Storage / stabilization: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. TCI cool-storage wording, Wako room-temperature/inactive-gas packing text and product-specific MEHQ specifications are retained as separate manufacturer statements. No universal storage instruction inferred.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.