Copolymer synthesis
Attributed industrial references identify crotonic acid as a comonomer with vinyl acetate for coating and paper-sizing polymers. [3]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 107-93-7
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
This profile covers E/trans crotonic acid, CAS 107-93-7. Unspecified crotonic acid and Z/cis isocrotonic acid require separate identity checks. [1]
Identity focus: E / trans free acid. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
The carbon–carbon double bond lies between carbons 2 and 3. E geometry places the higher-priority carboxyl and methyl groups on opposite sides; the condensed drawing alone does not encode that geometry.
This profile covers E/trans crotonic acid, CAS 107-93-7. Unspecified crotonic acid and Z/cis isocrotonic acid require separate identity checks. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — TCI C0416 identifies toxic skin contact, harmful ingestion and severe skin burns and eye damage. Sigma 113018 emphasizes serious eye damage; Cayman’s US SDS identifies corrosivity and harmful ingestion or inhalation. ICSC also warns of polymerization under UV light or moisture and violent reaction with strong bases or peroxides. Use the exact product’s instructions, rather than the least severe catalog classification. [4] [5] [6] [14]
Condensed connectivity schematic; see the specified stereochemical identity below. [1]
Attributed industrial references identify crotonic acid as a comonomer with vinyl acetate for coating and paper-sizing polymers. [3]
Cayman identifies E-crotonic acid as a building block for small molecules and polymers. [6]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
The carbon–carbon double bond lies between carbons 2 and 3. E geometry places the higher-priority carboxyl and methyl groups on opposite sides; the condensed drawing alone does not encode that geometry. [1]
Its alkene and carboxyl group support distinct chemical transformations. A trans molecular identity does not establish a quantitative geometric-purity specification, and titration cannot independently distinguish E from Z acid. [1] [12]
The neutral free-acid formula, connectivity and specified geometric identity are distinct from a salt, ester, polymer or anhydride. Numeric pKa is not promoted where retrieved conditions or conflicting measurements remain insufficiently resolved. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | Crotonic Acid | Methacrylic Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₄H₆O₂ [1] | C₄H₆O₂ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 86.09 g/mol [1] | 86.09 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 4 [1] | 4 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 1 [1] | 1 [7] |
| Structure | CH₃–CH=CH–COOH|E / trans identity [1] | CH₂=C(CH₃)–COOH [7] |
| Chemical family | Unsaturated aliphatic monocarboxylic acid [1] | Unsaturated aliphatic monocarboxylic acid [7] |
| Identity focus | E / trans free acid [1] | Free acid [7] |
Choose E-crotonic acid when the validated synthesis requires its connectivity and geometry. Choose methacrylic acid for the terminal-alkene alpha-methyl framework. Request an isomer test where the product’s chemical assay does not resolve geometric composition. [1] [3] [7]
Match CH₃–CH=CH–COOH|E / trans identity and the method’s required chemical form.
Match CH₂=C(CH₃)–COOH; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
Attributed industrial references identify crotonic acid as a comonomer with vinyl acetate for coating and paper-sizing polymers. These are downstream-polymer applications. [3]
Cayman identifies E-crotonic acid as a building block for small molecules and polymers. Research synthesis is an intermediate use, not proof of therapeutic activity or finished-product suitability. [6]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. All displayed products specify E/trans identity and CAS 107-93-7. A Wako product with unspecified CAS 3724-65-0 was excluded from this comparison. Cayman’s milligram packages and storage instructions are not equivalent to industrial-scale TCI or Sigma packages.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI AmericaCrotonic Acid | Named grade not statedC0416 · 25 gExplicit (2E) identity. NMR confirms structure; no quantitative E-isomer specification inferred. | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0% | 25 g | $44.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: TCI America
| View Product: TCI America, C0416 · 25 g (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedC0416 · 100 gExplicit (2E) identity. NMR confirms structure; no quantitative E-isomer specification inferred. | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0% | 100 g | $99.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, C0416 · 100 g (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-Aldrich / MerckCrotonic Acid | Named grade not stated113018-500GExplicit trans identity; no quantitative geometric-purity specification stated. | 98%; assay method not stated | 500 g | $64.80USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 113018-500G (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not stated113018-3KGExplicit trans identity; no quantitative geometric-purity specification stated. | 98%; assay method not stated | 3 kg | $340.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 113018-3KG (opens new tab) | |||
| Cayman ChemicalCrotonic Acid | Research use; named grade not stated43903 · 10 mgExplicit 2E identity and stereochemical InChI. Research only; not human or veterinary use. Supplier storage −20 °C is distinct from room-temperature shipping. | ≥95%; assay method not stated | 10 mg | $39.00USD · US public dollar listing | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Cayman Chemical
| View Product: Cayman Chemical, 43903 · 10 mg (opens new tab) | |
| Research use; named grade not stated43903 · 25 mgExplicit 2E identity and stereochemical InChI. Research only; not human or veterinary use. Supplier storage −20 °C is distinct from room-temperature shipping. | ≥95%; assay method not stated | 25 mg | $53.00USD · US public dollar listing | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Cayman Chemical, 43903 · 25 mg (opens new tab) | |||
| Research use; named grade not stated43903 · 50 mgExplicit 2E identity and stereochemical InChI. Research only; not human or veterinary use. Supplier storage −20 °C is distinct from room-temperature shipping. | ≥95%; assay method not stated | 50 mg | $87.00USD · US public dollar listing | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Cayman Chemical, 43903 · 50 mg (opens new tab) |
Crotonic Acid
Named grade not stated
Explicit (2E) identity. NMR confirms structure; no quantitative E-isomer specification inferred.
Last checked:
Crotonic Acid
Named grade not stated
Explicit trans identity; no quantitative geometric-purity specification stated.
Last checked:
Crotonic Acid
Research use; named grade not stated
Explicit 2E identity and stereochemical InChI. Research only; not human or veterinary use. Supplier storage −20 °C is distinct from room-temperature shipping.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
pKa: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Compiled values include 4.17 at 18 °C, 4.69 without conditions, Ka 2.0×10⁻⁵ at 25 °C and pKa 4.817 at 25 °C. Isomer and measurement differences were not resolved; numeric pKa omitted. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. TCI lists 76 g/L at 20 °C; HSDB cites 86 g/L at 25 °C and 555 g/L at 20 °C. Temperature does not explain the same-temperature discrepancy. Numeric main field omitted. Boiling point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB trans reference 185 °C at 760 mmHg; Sigma 180–181 °C without pressure; ICSC 189 °C without pressure. No matched method explains the spread. Numeric main field omitted. Density: OMITTED. Compiled records include molten-trans density at 77 °C and cis-isomer liquid density at 20 °C. Neither is a density for the E solid at 20 °C. CAS / geometry: VERIFIED. ICSC distinguishes E acid 107-93-7, unspecified 3724-65-0 and Z acid 503-64-0. No equivalence is inferred from a familiar name.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
Solid at 20 °C. Cis-isomer liquid-density and boiling records in compiled databases are excluded from this E-acid reference. [13] [4] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]
pKa: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Compiled values include 4.17 at 18 °C, 4.69 without conditions, Ka 2.0×10⁻⁵ at 25 °C and pKa 4.817 at 25 °C. Isomer and measurement differences were not resolved; numeric pKa omitted. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. TCI lists 76 g/L at 20 °C; HSDB cites 86 g/L at 25 °C and 555 g/L at 20 °C. Temperature does not explain the same-temperature discrepancy. Numeric main field omitted. Boiling point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB trans reference 185 °C at 760 mmHg; Sigma 180–181 °C without pressure; ICSC 189 °C without pressure. No matched method explains the spread. Numeric main field omitted. Density: OMITTED. Compiled records include molten-trans density at 77 °C and cis-isomer liquid density at 20 °C. Neither is a density for the E solid at 20 °C. CAS / geometry: VERIFIED. ICSC distinguishes E acid 107-93-7, unspecified 3724-65-0 and Z acid 503-64-0. No equivalence is inferred from a familiar name.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
TCI C0416 identifies toxic skin contact, harmful ingestion and severe skin burns and eye damage. Sigma 113018 emphasizes serious eye damage; Cayman’s US SDS identifies corrosivity and harmful ingestion or inhalation. ICSC also warns of polymerization under UV light or moisture and violent reaction with strong bases or peroxides. Use the exact product’s instructions, rather than the least severe catalog classification. [4] [5] [6] [14]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab) · Cayman Chemical SDS PDF · exact product (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
The carbon–carbon double bond lies between carbons 2 and 3. E geometry places the higher-priority carboxyl and methyl groups on opposite sides; the condensed drawing alone does not encode that geometry. [1]
Crotonic and methacrylic acids both have formula C₄H₆O₂. Crotonic acid has an internal E alkene; methacrylic acid has an alpha-methyl terminal alkene. Formula or molecular weight alone cannot select the correct raw material. [7]
All displayed products specify E/trans identity and CAS 107-93-7. A Wako product with unspecified CAS 3724-65-0 was excluded from this comparison. Cayman’s milligram packages and storage instructions are not equivalent to industrial-scale TCI or Sigma packages. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
pKa: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Compiled values include 4.17 at 18 °C, 4.69 without conditions, Ka 2.0×10⁻⁵ at 25 °C and pKa 4.817 at 25 °C. Isomer and measurement differences were not resolved; numeric pKa omitted. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. TCI lists 76 g/L at 20 °C; HSDB cites 86 g/L at 25 °C and 555 g/L at 20 °C. Temperature does not explain the same-temperature discrepancy. Numeric main field omitted. Boiling point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB trans reference 185 °C at 760 mmHg; Sigma 180–181 °C without pressure; ICSC 189 °C without pressure. No matched method explains the spread. Numeric main field omitted. Density: OMITTED. Compiled records include molten-trans density at 77 °C and cis-isomer liquid density at 20 °C. Neither is a density for the E solid at 20 °C. CAS / geometry: VERIFIED. ICSC distinguishes E acid 107-93-7, unspecified 3724-65-0 and Z acid 503-64-0. No equivalence is inferred from a familiar name.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Conditions, isomer assignments, decomposition qualifiers and unresolved conflicts reviewed; no aggregate number treated as universal.
Chemical-specific safety and physical context; exact-product SDS remains necessary.
pKa: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Compiled values include 4.17 at 18 °C, 4.69 without conditions, Ka 2.0×10⁻⁵ at 25 °C and pKa 4.817 at 25 °C. Isomer and measurement differences were not resolved; numeric pKa omitted. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. TCI lists 76 g/L at 20 °C; HSDB cites 86 g/L at 25 °C and 555 g/L at 20 °C. Temperature does not explain the same-temperature discrepancy. Numeric main field omitted. Boiling point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB trans reference 185 °C at 760 mmHg; Sigma 180–181 °C without pressure; ICSC 189 °C without pressure. No matched method explains the spread. Numeric main field omitted. Density: OMITTED. Compiled records include molten-trans density at 77 °C and cis-isomer liquid density at 20 °C. Neither is a density for the E solid at 20 °C. CAS / geometry: VERIFIED. ICSC distinguishes E acid 107-93-7, unspecified 3724-65-0 and Z acid 503-64-0. No equivalence is inferred from a familiar name.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.