Fragrance-ester precursors
Decanoic acid is a starting material for esters used in perfumes and fruit-flavor ingredients. [3]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 334-48-5
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
Decanoic acid, commonly called capric acid, is the ten-carbon saturated free acid. It is normally solid at 20 °C, even though some commercial packages are listed by volume. [1]
Identity focus: Free acid; solid at 20 °C. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
Nine alkyl-chain carbons terminate in COOH. Capric acid is distinct from the eight-carbon caprylic acid and from caprate salts or esters.
Decanoic acid, commonly called capric acid, is the ten-carbon saturated free acid. It is normally solid at 20 °C, even though some commercial packages are listed by volume. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — TCI D0017 identifies skin irritation, serious eye damage and long-lasting aquatic harm. Merck 802169 lists skin and eye irritation and aquatic harm and identifies a combustible-solid storage class. Avoid describing decanoic acid as harmless because fatty-acid derivatives have familiar consumer uses. [4] [5] [6]
A condensed structural formula keeps the functional groups visible. [1]
Decanoic acid is a starting material for esters used in perfumes and fruit-flavor ingredients. [3]
Compiled industrial references identify the acid as an intermediate for ethyl caprate. [3]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
Nine alkyl-chain carbons terminate in COOH. Capric acid is distinct from the eight-carbon caprylic acid and from caprate salts or esters. [1]
Its solid/liquid transition is central to procurement. A product volume does not establish the mass delivered unless the supplier defines the filling basis; a liquid-density reference cannot be applied automatically to the solid. [1] [12]
The formula and connectivity describe the neutral, straight-chain free acid. A numeric pKa is omitted because the retrieved evidence does not establish a sufficiently defensible condition-labelled field. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | Decanoic Acid | Octanoic Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₁₀H₂₀O₂ [1] | C₈H₁₆O₂ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 172.26 g/mol [1] | 144.21 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 10 [1] | 8 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 1 [1] | 1 [7] |
| Structure | CH₃–(CH₂)₈–COOH [1] | CH₃–(CH₂)₆–COOH [7] |
| Chemical family | Saturated aliphatic monocarboxylic acid [1] | Saturated aliphatic monocarboxylic acid [7] |
| Identity focus | Free acid; solid at 20 °C [1] | Free acid; liquid at 20 °C [7] |
Select the ten-carbon acid when the target requires a decanoyl residue. Confirm solid or molten delivery and filling basis before choosing between mass and volume products. A caprylic or capric derivative specification cannot be met by substituting the other free acid. [1] [3] [7]
Match CH₃–(CH₂)₈–COOH and the method’s required chemical form.
Match CH₃–(CH₂)₆–COOH; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
Decanoic acid is a starting material for esters used in perfumes and fruit-flavor ingredients. The ester application does not qualify these reagent listings as food-grade free acid. [3]
Compiled industrial references identify the acid as an intermediate for ethyl caprate. The ester has a different identity and applications from the acid. [3]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. Specify capric acid CAS 334-48-5, GC versus acid-equivalent assay, water, other chain lengths and delivery form. TCI sells mass packages; Merck and Wako also list volume packages. Verify the filling basis directly and keep them Not compared.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI AmericaDecanoic Acid | Named grade not statedD0017 · 25 gFree acid; GC and neutralization titration are separate specifications where both are listed. | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0% | 25 g | $24.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: TCI America
| View Product: TCI America, D0017 · 25 g (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedD0017 · 400 gFree acid; GC and neutralization titration are separate specifications where both are listed. | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0% | 400 g | $42.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, D0017 · 400 g (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-Aldrich / MerckDecanoic Acid | For synthesis8021690100The Analysis Note identifies GC area percentage. No mass-fraction equivalence is inferred. | 98.0% minimum (GC area %, a/a) | 100 mL | $46.40USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 8021690100 (opens new tab) | |
| For synthesis8021691000The Analysis Note identifies GC area percentage. No mass-fraction equivalence is inferred. | 98.0% minimum (GC area %, a/a) | 1 L | $111.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 8021691000 (opens new tab) | |||
| For synthesis8021699010The Analysis Note identifies GC area percentage. No mass-fraction equivalence is inferred. | 98.0% minimum (GC area %, a/a) | 10 kg | $480.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 8021699010 (opens new tab) | |||
| FUJIFILM WakoDecanoic Acid | Wako Special Grade049-23252Research / further manufacturing; Japan stock listing does not confirm US availability. Supplier lists volume packages for an acid normally solid at 20 °C. Confirm filling basis; no mass-to-volume comparison. | 99.0+% (capillary GC) | 25 mL | Public price not verified | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
| View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 049-23252 (opens new tab) | |
| Wako Special Grade041-23256Research / further manufacturing; Japan stock listing does not confirm US availability. Supplier lists volume packages for an acid normally solid at 20 °C. Confirm filling basis; no mass-to-volume comparison. | 99.0+% (capillary GC) | 500 mL | $46.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 041-23256 (opens new tab) |
Decanoic Acid
Named grade not stated
Free acid; GC and neutralization titration are separate specifications where both are listed.
Last checked:
Decanoic Acid
For synthesis
The Analysis Note identifies GC area percentage. No mass-fraction equivalence is inferred.
Last checked:
Decanoic Acid
Wako Special Grade
Research / further manufacturing; Japan stock listing does not confirm US availability. Supplier lists volume packages for an acid normally solid at 20 °C. Confirm filling basis; no mass-to-volume comparison.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
pKa: OMITTED. HSDB cites 4.90 to Barratt (1996) without sufficient solvent/temperature/method context in the retrieved entry. No condition-free number promoted. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB reports 0.015 g/100 g at 20 °C and 61.8 mg/L at 25 °C. These differ in temperature and mass versus volume basis, but neither difference establishes the cause of the magnitude discrepancy. Main numeric field omitted. Boiling behavior: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. NIST compiled boiling average is 530 ±60 K; Wako lists about 203 °C without pressure while HSDB gives 268.7 °C. Retrieved data do not establish a reduced-pressure explanation for 203 °C. Main boiling field omitted. Density: OMITTED. Solid-at-20 °C identity conflicts with unsupported conversion use of liquid-like supplier density at 20 °C. No mass-to-volume conversion; no universal density field.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
Solid at 20 °C; the commercial melting specification can span the transition to a liquid. Supplier volume packaging does not change the molecular identity or establish a density conversion. [13] [14] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]
pKa: OMITTED. HSDB cites 4.90 to Barratt (1996) without sufficient solvent/temperature/method context in the retrieved entry. No condition-free number promoted. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB reports 0.015 g/100 g at 20 °C and 61.8 mg/L at 25 °C. These differ in temperature and mass versus volume basis, but neither difference establishes the cause of the magnitude discrepancy. Main numeric field omitted. Boiling behavior: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. NIST compiled boiling average is 530 ±60 K; Wako lists about 203 °C without pressure while HSDB gives 268.7 °C. Retrieved data do not establish a reduced-pressure explanation for 203 °C. Main boiling field omitted. Density: OMITTED. Solid-at-20 °C identity conflicts with unsupported conversion use of liquid-like supplier density at 20 °C. No mass-to-volume conversion; no universal density field.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
TCI D0017 identifies skin irritation, serious eye damage and long-lasting aquatic harm. Merck 802169 lists skin and eye irritation and aquatic harm and identifies a combustible-solid storage class. Avoid describing decanoic acid as harmless because fatty-acid derivatives have familiar consumer uses. [4] [5] [6]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
Nine alkyl-chain carbons terminate in COOH. Capric acid is distinct from the eight-carbon caprylic acid and from caprate salts or esters. [1]
Decanoic acid has two more carbons than octanoic acid and a different fusion region. This affects whether material is solid under the specified handling conditions, as well as the identity of the resulting derivative. [7]
Specify capric acid CAS 334-48-5, GC versus acid-equivalent assay, water, other chain lengths and delivery form. TCI sells mass packages; Merck and Wako also list volume packages. Verify the filling basis directly and keep them Not compared. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
pKa: OMITTED. HSDB cites 4.90 to Barratt (1996) without sufficient solvent/temperature/method context in the retrieved entry. No condition-free number promoted. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB reports 0.015 g/100 g at 20 °C and 61.8 mg/L at 25 °C. These differ in temperature and mass versus volume basis, but neither difference establishes the cause of the magnitude discrepancy. Main numeric field omitted. Boiling behavior: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. NIST compiled boiling average is 530 ±60 K; Wako lists about 203 °C without pressure while HSDB gives 268.7 °C. Retrieved data do not establish a reduced-pressure explanation for 203 °C. Main boiling field omitted. Density: OMITTED. Solid-at-20 °C identity conflicts with unsupported conversion use of liquid-like supplier density at 20 °C. No mass-to-volume conversion; no universal density field.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Compiled fusion and boiling data; original references and uncertainties retained.
Individual references reviewed; numerical fields selected or omitted with conditions and conflict dispositions.
pKa: OMITTED. HSDB cites 4.90 to Barratt (1996) without sufficient solvent/temperature/method context in the retrieved entry. No condition-free number promoted. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB reports 0.015 g/100 g at 20 °C and 61.8 mg/L at 25 °C. These differ in temperature and mass versus volume basis, but neither difference establishes the cause of the magnitude discrepancy. Main numeric field omitted. Boiling behavior: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. NIST compiled boiling average is 530 ±60 K; Wako lists about 203 °C without pressure while HSDB gives 268.7 °C. Retrieved data do not establish a reduced-pressure explanation for 203 °C. Main boiling field omitted. Density: OMITTED. Solid-at-20 °C identity conflicts with unsupported conversion use of liquid-like supplier density at 20 °C. No mass-to-volume conversion; no universal density field.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.