Herbicide active ingredient
Regulatory sources identify pelargonic acid as an herbicide active substance. [15]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 112-05-0
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
Nonanoic acid, also known as pelargonic acid, is the nine-carbon saturated free acid. Its established use in formulated herbicides must be separated from laboratory-product suitability. [1]
Identity focus: Free acid; liquid at 20 °C. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
The molecule contains eight alkyl-chain carbons and one carboxyl carbon. Nonanoate salts, including ammonium nonanoate, are separate products.
Nonanoic acid, also known as pelargonic acid, is the nine-carbon saturated free acid. Its established use in formulated herbicides must be separated from laboratory-product suitability. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — TCI P0952 identifies severe skin burns and eye damage and metal corrosion. Merck 807167 lists skin and eye irritation and aquatic harm. Wako’s Japan/JIS SDS also lists drowsiness or dizziness and chronic aquatic toxicity. These classifications are product-specific; retain the stronger hazards applicable to the selected material. [4] [5] [6]
A condensed structural formula keeps the functional groups visible. [1]
Regulatory sources identify pelargonic acid as an herbicide active substance. [15]
Industrial references identify nonanoic acid as a precursor to specialty esters, including lubricant esters. [3]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
The molecule contains eight alkyl-chain carbons and one carboxyl carbon. Nonanoate salts, including ammonium nonanoate, are separate products. [1]
A nonanoate ester or salt preserves the nine-carbon acid-derived framework but changes the functional group or charge. That distinction matters for both technical performance and regulatory product identity. [1] [12]
The formula and connectivity describe the neutral, straight-chain free acid. A numeric pKa is omitted because the retrieved evidence does not establish a sufficiently defensible condition-labelled field. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | Nonanoic Acid | Octanoic Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₉H₁₈O₂ [1] | C₈H₁₆O₂ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 158.24 g/mol [1] | 144.21 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 9 [1] | 8 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 1 [1] | 1 [7] |
| Structure | CH₃–(CH₂)₇–COOH [1] | CH₃–(CH₂)₆–COOH [7] |
| Chemical family | Saturated aliphatic monocarboxylic acid [1] | Saturated aliphatic monocarboxylic acid [7] |
| Identity focus | Free acid; liquid at 20 °C [1] | Free acid; liquid at 20 °C [7] |
Use nonanoic acid when the target or process calls for a nonanoyl group. For a herbicide application, select an appropriately authorized finished formulation and its label; the displayed research chemicals are not recommendations for direct field use. [1] [3] [7]
Match CH₃–(CH₂)₇–COOH and the method’s required chemical form.
Match CH₃–(CH₂)₆–COOH; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
Regulatory sources identify pelargonic acid as an herbicide active substance. This verified direct-use context refers to regulated formulations and their approved uses, not an authorization to apply a laboratory bottle. [15]
Industrial references identify nonanoic acid as a precursor to specialty esters, including lubricant esters. The esters supply the downstream performance and require their own specifications. [3]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. TCI P0952 has minimum 98.0% titration and minimum 95.0% GC; Merck and Wako selected products specify about 90% minimum by their listed GC methods. Wako sells 25 g while the other listings use mL or L. No price normalization is justified.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI AmericaNonanoic Acid | Named grade not statedP0952 · 25 mLFree acid; GC and neutralization titration are separate specifications where both are listed. | GC: minimum 95.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0% | 25 mL | $20.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: TCI America
| View Product: TCI America, P0952 · 25 mL (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedP0952 · 100 mLFree acid; GC and neutralization titration are separate specifications where both are listed. | GC: minimum 95.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0% | 100 mL | $46.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, P0952 · 100 mL (opens new tab) | |||
| Named grade not statedP0952 · 500 mLFree acid; GC and neutralization titration are separate specifications where both are listed. | GC: minimum 95.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0% | 500 mL | $102.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, P0952 · 500 mL (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-Aldrich / MerckNonanoic Acid | For synthesis8071670100The Analysis Note identifies GC area percentage. No mass-fraction equivalence is inferred. | 90.0% minimum (GC area %, a/a) | 100 mL | $45.60USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 8071670100 (opens new tab) | |
| For synthesis8071671000The Analysis Note identifies GC area percentage. No mass-fraction equivalence is inferred. | 90.0% minimum (GC area %, a/a) | 1 L | $73.30USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 8071671000 (opens new tab) | |||
| FUJIFILM WakoNonanoic Acid | Wako 1st Grade142-02692Research / further manufacturing; Japan stock listing does not confirm US availability. The liquid is sold by mass; no conversion to mL is made. | 90.0+% (capillary GC) | 25 g | $41.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
| View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 142-02692 (opens new tab) |
Nonanoic Acid
Named grade not stated
Free acid; GC and neutralization titration are separate specifications where both are listed.
Last checked:
Nonanoic Acid
For synthesis
The Analysis Note identifies GC area percentage. No mass-fraction equivalence is inferred.
Last checked:
Nonanoic Acid
Wako 1st Grade
Research / further manufacturing; Japan stock listing does not confirm US availability. The liquid is sold by mass; no conversion to mL is made.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
Supplier boiling point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. A separate Sigma N5502 product cites 268–269 °C without pressure while NIST average and displayed TCI/Wako references center near 254 °C. No pressure or impurity cause established. N5502 value omitted. Product assay: VERIFIED. Headline titration percentage is not the separate GC minimum. Mass package retained for Wako. pKa: OMITTED. The compiled Dean entry reports 4.95 at 25 °C but the retrieved entry does not explicitly establish solvent, ionic strength or measurement method. No aqueous condition is inferred.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
Liquid at 20 °C, but product impurity profiles and freezing behavior need attention when material is supplied in colder conditions. [13] [14] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]
Supplier boiling point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. A separate Sigma N5502 product cites 268–269 °C without pressure while NIST average and displayed TCI/Wako references center near 254 °C. No pressure or impurity cause established. N5502 value omitted. Product assay: VERIFIED. Headline titration percentage is not the separate GC minimum. Mass package retained for Wako. pKa: OMITTED. The compiled Dean entry reports 4.95 at 25 °C but the retrieved entry does not explicitly establish solvent, ionic strength or measurement method. No aqueous condition is inferred.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
TCI P0952 identifies severe skin burns and eye damage and metal corrosion. Merck 807167 lists skin and eye irritation and aquatic harm. Wako’s Japan/JIS SDS also lists drowsiness or dizziness and chronic aquatic toxicity. These classifications are product-specific; retain the stronger hazards applicable to the selected material. [4] [5] [6]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab) · FUJIFILM Wako SDS PDF · exact product (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
The molecule contains eight alkyl-chain carbons and one carboxyl carbon. Nonanoate salts, including ammonium nonanoate, are separate products. [1]
Octanoic acid has one fewer carbon. Chain-length similarity does not establish that the two acids have the same authorized pesticide uses or behave identically in a formulated product. [7]
TCI P0952 has minimum 98.0% titration and minimum 95.0% GC; Merck and Wako selected products specify about 90% minimum by their listed GC methods. Wako sells 25 g while the other listings use mL or L. No price normalization is justified. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
Supplier boiling point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. A separate Sigma N5502 product cites 268–269 °C without pressure while NIST average and displayed TCI/Wako references center near 254 °C. No pressure or impurity cause established. N5502 value omitted. Product assay: VERIFIED. Headline titration percentage is not the separate GC minimum. Mass package retained for Wako. pKa: OMITTED. The compiled Dean entry reports 4.95 at 25 °C but the retrieved entry does not explicitly establish solvent, ionic strength or measurement method. No aqueous condition is inferred.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Compiled fusion and boiling data; original references and uncertainties retained.
Individual references reviewed; numerical fields selected or omitted with conditions and conflict dispositions.
Active substance and technical specification; this does not establish authorization for a supplier reagent or finished formulation.
Supplier boiling point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. A separate Sigma N5502 product cites 268–269 °C without pressure while NIST average and displayed TCI/Wako references center near 254 °C. No pressure or impurity cause established. N5502 value omitted. Product assay: VERIFIED. Headline titration percentage is not the separate GC minimum. Mass package retained for Wako. pKa: OMITTED. The compiled Dean entry reports 4.95 at 25 °C but the retrieved entry does not explicitly establish solvent, ionic strength or measurement method. No aqueous condition is inferred.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.