Chemical synthesis
Compiled industrial sources describe the acid in synthesis of fragrance and other specialty chemicals. [3]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 124-07-2
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
Octanoic acid, or caprylic acid, is an eight-carbon saturated free acid. It can solidify in cool conditions, which matters when specifying a volume package. [1]
Identity focus: Free acid; liquid at 20 °C. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
One carboxyl group is joined to a seven-carbon alkyl chain. Caprylic acid is not capric acid: capric acid has ten carbons.
Octanoic acid, or caprylic acid, is an eight-carbon saturated free acid. It can solidify in cool conditions, which matters when specifying a volume package. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — TCI O0027 identifies severe skin burns and eye damage and possible corrosion of metals. Merck 800192 identifies corrosivity and long-lasting aquatic harm. A biological or food-related context for caprylic derivatives does not reduce the handling hazards of these raw products. [4] [5] [6]
A condensed structural formula keeps the functional groups visible. [1]
Compiled industrial sources describe the acid in synthesis of fragrance and other specialty chemicals. [3]
Octanoic acid supplies the acid component of metal octanoates used as oxidation catalysts in drying-oil systems. [3]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
One carboxyl group is joined to a seven-carbon alkyl chain. Caprylic acid is not capric acid: capric acid has ten carbons. [1]
The acid head group and nonpolar chain provide different contributions to phase and solution behavior. Conversion to octanoate salts changes charge and formulation behavior; the salt and free acid require separate identities and specifications. [1] [12]
The formula and connectivity describe the neutral, straight-chain free acid. A numeric pKa is omitted because the retrieved evidence does not establish a sufficiently defensible condition-labelled field. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | Octanoic Acid | Hexanoic Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₈H₁₆O₂ [1] | C₆H₁₂O₂ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 144.21 g/mol [1] | 116.16 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 8 [1] | 6 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 1 [1] | 1 [7] |
| Structure | CH₃–(CH₂)₆–COOH [1] | CH₃–(CH₂)₄–COOH [7] |
| Chemical family | Saturated aliphatic monocarboxylic acid [1] | Saturated aliphatic monocarboxylic acid [7] |
| Identity focus | Free acid; liquid at 20 °C [1] | Free acid; liquid at 20 °C [7] |
Choose the chain required by the target or published method. Octanoic acid’s transition near cool room temperatures is a practical handling consideration; confirm delivery form and supplier instructions before treating volume packages as equivalent. [1] [3] [7]
Match CH₃–(CH₂)₆–COOH and the method’s required chemical form.
Match CH₃–(CH₂)₄–COOH; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
Compiled industrial sources describe the acid in synthesis of fragrance and other specialty chemicals. The particular downstream molecule, rather than the free acid alone, determines finished-product suitability. [3]
Octanoic acid supplies the acid component of metal octanoates used as oxidation catalysts in drying-oil systems. That catalytic application belongs to the metal salt derivative, not to neat octanoic acid. [3]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. Specify caprylic acid CAS 124-07-2, assay basis, water and other fatty-acid impurities. Record whether the delivered product is liquid or solidified. Retain the supplier’s volume packages without using an assumed density to normalize prices.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI AmericaOctanoic Acid | Named grade not statedO0027 · 25 mLFree acid; GC and neutralization titration are separate specifications where both are listed. | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0% | 25 mL | $25.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: TCI America
| View Product: TCI America, O0027 · 25 mL (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedO0027 · 500 mLFree acid; GC and neutralization titration are separate specifications where both are listed. | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0% | 500 mL | $40.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, O0027 · 500 mL (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-Aldrich / MerckOctanoic Acid | For synthesis8001920100The Analysis Note identifies GC area percentage. No mass-fraction equivalence is inferred. | 99.0% minimum (GC area %, a/a) | 100 mL | $64.50USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 8001920100 (opens new tab) | |
| For synthesis8001921000The Analysis Note identifies GC area percentage. No mass-fraction equivalence is inferred. | 99.0% minimum (GC area %, a/a) | 1 L | $146.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 8001921000 (opens new tab) | |||
| For synthesis8001922500The Analysis Note identifies GC area percentage. No mass-fraction equivalence is inferred. | 99.0% minimum (GC area %, a/a) | 2.5 L | $172.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 8001922500 (opens new tab) | |||
| FUJIFILM WakoOctanoic Acid | Wako Special Grade156-01775Research / further manufacturing; Japan stock listing does not confirm US availability. Material can solidify in cool conditions; package volume is retained as listed. | 98.0+% (capillary GC) | 500 mL | $39.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
| View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 156-01775 (opens new tab) |
Octanoic Acid
Named grade not stated
Free acid; GC and neutralization titration are separate specifications where both are listed.
Last checked:
Octanoic Acid
For synthesis
The Analysis Note identifies GC area percentage. No mass-fraction equivalence is inferred.
Last checked:
Octanoic Acid
Wako Special Grade
Research / further manufacturing; Japan stock listing does not confirm US availability. Material can solidify in cool conditions; package volume is retained as listed.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
Solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. TCI 0.68 g/L at 20 °C and HSDB 789 mg/L at 30 °C differ in temperature. The direction is consistent with different conditions, but the evidence does not establish temperature as the sole cause; do not combine them into one constant. Thermal state: VERIFIED. NIST fusion average supports solidification in cooler conditions; liquid-at-20 °C supplier identity is retained. pKa: OMITTED. The compiled Dean entry reports 4.895 at 25 °C but the retrieved entry does not explicitly establish solvent, ionic strength or measurement method. No aqueous condition is inferred.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
Liquid at 20 °C, with solidification possible below its fusion region. Confirm the product handling instructions if it arrives solidified. [13] [14] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]
Solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. TCI 0.68 g/L at 20 °C and HSDB 789 mg/L at 30 °C differ in temperature. The direction is consistent with different conditions, but the evidence does not establish temperature as the sole cause; do not combine them into one constant. Thermal state: VERIFIED. NIST fusion average supports solidification in cooler conditions; liquid-at-20 °C supplier identity is retained. pKa: OMITTED. The compiled Dean entry reports 4.895 at 25 °C but the retrieved entry does not explicitly establish solvent, ionic strength or measurement method. No aqueous condition is inferred.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
TCI O0027 identifies severe skin burns and eye damage and possible corrosion of metals. Merck 800192 identifies corrosivity and long-lasting aquatic harm. A biological or food-related context for caprylic derivatives does not reduce the handling hazards of these raw products. [4] [5] [6]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
One carboxyl group is joined to a seven-carbon alkyl chain. Caprylic acid is not capric acid: capric acid has ten carbons. [1]
Hexanoic acid has two fewer carbons. Their esters and salts therefore contain different acyl or anionic residues; a similar reagent label does not establish substitution in a lubricant, extraction system or formulation. [7]
Specify caprylic acid CAS 124-07-2, assay basis, water and other fatty-acid impurities. Record whether the delivered product is liquid or solidified. Retain the supplier’s volume packages without using an assumed density to normalize prices. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
Solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. TCI 0.68 g/L at 20 °C and HSDB 789 mg/L at 30 °C differ in temperature. The direction is consistent with different conditions, but the evidence does not establish temperature as the sole cause; do not combine them into one constant. Thermal state: VERIFIED. NIST fusion average supports solidification in cooler conditions; liquid-at-20 °C supplier identity is retained. pKa: OMITTED. The compiled Dean entry reports 4.895 at 25 °C but the retrieved entry does not explicitly establish solvent, ionic strength or measurement method. No aqueous condition is inferred.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Compiled fusion and boiling data; original references and uncertainties retained.
Individual references reviewed; numerical fields selected or omitted with conditions and conflict dispositions.
Solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. TCI 0.68 g/L at 20 °C and HSDB 789 mg/L at 30 °C differ in temperature. The direction is consistent with different conditions, but the evidence does not establish temperature as the sole cause; do not combine them into one constant. Thermal state: VERIFIED. NIST fusion average supports solidification in cooler conditions; liquid-at-20 °C supplier identity is retained. pKa: OMITTED. The compiled Dean entry reports 4.895 at 25 °C but the retrieved entry does not explicitly establish solvent, ionic strength or measurement method. No aqueous condition is inferred.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.