Polymer intermediates
Attributed industrial references identify glutaric acid as a chemical intermediate for polyamides and polyesters. [3]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 110-94-1
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
Glutaric acid is the five-carbon saturated diacid, with three methylene groups between its carboxyl groups. Neat solid and aqueous-solution products require separate specifications. [1]
Identity focus: Free acid. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
Two terminal COOH groups flank a three-carbon methylene spacer. There is no additional hydroxyl group, carbon–carbon double bond or stereocenter in this free-acid identity.
Glutaric acid is the five-carbon saturated diacid, with three methylene groups between its carboxyl groups. Neat solid and aqueous-solution products require separate specifications. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — TCI identifies skin and eye irritation, while Merck 800295 classifies its glutaric-acid product as causing severe skin burns and eye damage. Retain the exact-product difference and do not reduce all glutaric-acid handling to an irritation-only summary. Avoid dust exposure, and treat decomposition-qualified high-temperature references separately from a safe distillation claim. [4] [5] [6]
A condensed structural formula keeps the functional groups visible. [1]
Attributed industrial references identify glutaric acid as a chemical intermediate for polyamides and polyesters. [3]
Glutaric acid is an intermediate for its esters and anhydride. [3]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
Two terminal COOH groups flank a three-carbon methylene spacer. There is no additional hydroxyl group, carbon–carbon double bond or stereocenter in this free-acid identity. [1]
The two acidic groups dissociate in separate steps. Salt formation and condensation chemistry therefore involve a bifunctional molecule. A titration measures acid equivalents; it does not independently establish chromatographic composition or the absence of another diacid. [1] [12]
The neutral free-acid formula, connectivity and specified geometric identity are distinct from a salt, ester, polymer or anhydride. Numeric pKa is not promoted where retrieved conditions or conflicting measurements remain insufficiently resolved. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | Glutaric Acid | Succinic Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₅H₈O₄ [1] | C₄H₆O₄ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 132.11 g/mol [1] | 118.09 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 5 [1] | 4 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 2 [1] | 2 [7] |
| Structure | HOOC–(CH₂)₃–COOH [1] | HOOC–CH₂–CH₂–COOH [7] |
| Chemical family | Saturated aliphatic dicarboxylic acid [1] | Dicarboxylic acid [7] |
| Identity focus | Free acid [1] | Solid [7] |
Select the diacid spacer required by the polymer or synthesis. Confirm neat solid versus solution, water limits and impurity methods before evaluating packages. Use succinic or adipic acid only where the target and process permit those different carbon frameworks. [1] [3] [7]
Match HOOC–(CH₂)₃–COOH and the method’s required chemical form.
Match HOOC–CH₂–CH₂–COOH; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
Attributed industrial references identify glutaric acid as a chemical intermediate for polyamides and polyesters. The resulting polymer supplies the material performance. [3]
Glutaric acid is an intermediate for its esters and anhydride. These derivatives have different identities and use specifications from the free acid. [3]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. The displayed products are neat solids. TCI G0245 is a different commercial form with 50–55% w/w concentration by titration; that is not 50–55% chemical purity and it is excluded from the neat-product table. Merck acidimetric assay and TCI GC are distinct measurements.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI AmericaGlutaric Acid | Named grade not statedG0069 · 25 gNeat solid. Separate G0245 is a 50–55% w/w aqueous solution by titration and is excluded from this comparison. | GC: minimum 99.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0% | 25 g | $17.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: TCI America
| View Product: TCI America, G0069 · 25 g (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedG0069 · 500 gNeat solid. Separate G0245 is a 50–55% w/w aqueous solution by titration and is excluded from this comparison. | GC: minimum 99.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0% | 500 g | $106.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, G0069 · 500 g (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-Aldrich / MerckGlutaric Acid | For synthesis8002950100Acid-equivalent titration does not establish a GC or HPLC composition percentage. | ≥99.0% (acidimetric; manufacturer analysis note: mass basis) | 100 g | $87.50USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 8002950100 (opens new tab) | |
| For synthesis8002950250Acid-equivalent titration does not establish a GC or HPLC composition percentage. | ≥99.0% (acidimetric; manufacturer analysis note: mass basis) | 250 g | $173.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 8002950250 (opens new tab) | |||
| For synthesis8002951000Acid-equivalent titration does not establish a GC or HPLC composition percentage. | ≥99.0% (acidimetric; manufacturer analysis note: mass basis) | 1 kg | $497.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 8002951000 (opens new tab) | |||
| FUJIFILM WakoGlutaric Acid | Wako Special Grade078-00542Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. 500 g listing showed out of stock; a public price does not establish availability. | 98.0+% (Titration) | 25 g | $45.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
| View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 078-00542 (opens new tab) | |
| Wako Special Grade072-00545Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. 500 g listing showed out of stock; a public price does not establish availability. | 98.0+% (Titration) | 500 g | $321.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 072-00545 (opens new tab) |
Glutaric Acid
Named grade not stated
Neat solid. Separate G0245 is a 50–55% w/w aqueous solution by titration and is excluded from this comparison.
Last checked:
Glutaric Acid
For synthesis
Acid-equivalent titration does not establish a GC or HPLC composition percentage.
Last checked:
Glutaric Acid
Wako Special Grade
Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. 500 g listing showed out of stock; a public price does not establish availability.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
pKa: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. IUPAC aqueous compilation contains different approximate stepwise constants at 20/25 °C and different concentrations/ionic strengths, including explicitly concentration-based constants in NaClO₄. These cannot be collapsed into a universal pair. Main numeric field omitted. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. TCI/HSDB lists 639 g/L at 20 °C; another compiled entry lists 1600 g/L at 28 °C. Temperature, solvent-versus-solution basis and method are not sufficiently matched to resolve the magnitude difference. Numeric main field omitted. Boiling behavior: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 200 °C at 20 mmHg and 302–304 °C at 1013 hPa are different-pressure references; the latter explicitly has slow decomposition. Neither is a safe distillation procedure. Solution concentration: VERIFIED. Separate TCI G0245 specifies 50–55% w/w by neutralization titration; it is not included as a neat 99% assay product.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
Solid at 20 °C. Aqueous concentration belongs to a solution product; it must not be confused with the identity or assay of this neat solid. [13] [4] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]
pKa: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. IUPAC aqueous compilation contains different approximate stepwise constants at 20/25 °C and different concentrations/ionic strengths, including explicitly concentration-based constants in NaClO₄. These cannot be collapsed into a universal pair. Main numeric field omitted. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. TCI/HSDB lists 639 g/L at 20 °C; another compiled entry lists 1600 g/L at 28 °C. Temperature, solvent-versus-solution basis and method are not sufficiently matched to resolve the magnitude difference. Numeric main field omitted. Boiling behavior: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 200 °C at 20 mmHg and 302–304 °C at 1013 hPa are different-pressure references; the latter explicitly has slow decomposition. Neither is a safe distillation procedure. Solution concentration: VERIFIED. Separate TCI G0245 specifies 50–55% w/w by neutralization titration; it is not included as a neat 99% assay product.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
TCI identifies skin and eye irritation, while Merck 800295 classifies its glutaric-acid product as causing severe skin burns and eye damage. Retain the exact-product difference and do not reduce all glutaric-acid handling to an irritation-only summary. Avoid dust exposure, and treat decomposition-qualified high-temperature references separately from a safe distillation claim. [4] [5] [6]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
Two terminal COOH groups flank a three-carbon methylene spacer. There is no additional hydroxyl group, carbon–carbon double bond or stereocenter in this free-acid identity. [1]
Glutaric acid adds one methylene to succinic acid and has one fewer than adipic acid. The spacer length changes the residue incorporated in a polyester or polyamide; the acids are not interchangeable solely because each has two COOH groups. [7]
The displayed products are neat solids. TCI G0245 is a different commercial form with 50–55% w/w concentration by titration; that is not 50–55% chemical purity and it is excluded from the neat-product table. Merck acidimetric assay and TCI GC are distinct measurements. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
pKa: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. IUPAC aqueous compilation contains different approximate stepwise constants at 20/25 °C and different concentrations/ionic strengths, including explicitly concentration-based constants in NaClO₄. These cannot be collapsed into a universal pair. Main numeric field omitted. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. TCI/HSDB lists 639 g/L at 20 °C; another compiled entry lists 1600 g/L at 28 °C. Temperature, solvent-versus-solution basis and method are not sufficiently matched to resolve the magnitude difference. Numeric main field omitted. Boiling behavior: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 200 °C at 20 mmHg and 302–304 °C at 1013 hPa are different-pressure references; the latter explicitly has slow decomposition. Neither is a safe distillation procedure. Solution concentration: VERIFIED. Separate TCI G0245 specifies 50–55% w/w by neutralization titration; it is not included as a neat 99% assay product.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Conditions, isomer assignments, decomposition qualifiers and unresolved conflicts reviewed; no aggregate number treated as universal.
Aqueous compilation reviewed internally; approximate values, conditions and concentration-constant distinctions retained. Raw dataset is not redistributed in the public website.
pKa: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. IUPAC aqueous compilation contains different approximate stepwise constants at 20/25 °C and different concentrations/ionic strengths, including explicitly concentration-based constants in NaClO₄. These cannot be collapsed into a universal pair. Main numeric field omitted. Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. TCI/HSDB lists 639 g/L at 20 °C; another compiled entry lists 1600 g/L at 28 °C. Temperature, solvent-versus-solution basis and method are not sufficiently matched to resolve the magnitude difference. Numeric main field omitted. Boiling behavior: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 200 °C at 20 mmHg and 302–304 °C at 1013 hPa are different-pressure references; the latter explicitly has slow decomposition. Neither is a safe distillation procedure. Solution concentration: VERIFIED. Separate TCI G0245 specifies 50–55% w/w by neutralization titration; it is not included as a neat 99% assay product.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.