Nanoparticle surface-stabilization research
Sigma O1008 documents oleic acid in magnetic-nanoparticle coating/stabilization research. [5]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 112-80-1
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
This page covers cis-9, or 9Z, oleic acid. Its free-acid identity is distinct from trans elaidic acid, oleate salts and ester-bound oleic residues in oils. [1]
Identity focus: Specified cis free acid; isomer/composition limits separate. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
Numbering from the carboxyl carbon places the double bond between C9 and C10. Z, or cis for this alkene, specifies the same-side higher-priority carbon chains. There is no stereocenter.
This page covers cis-9, or 9Z, oleic acid. Its free-acid identity is distinct from trans elaidic acid, oleate salts and ester-bound oleic residues in oils. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — TCI O0180 identifies skin and eye irritation and light/air/heat sensitivity. Wako warns of atmospheric oxidation and supplies inactive-gas packaging; Sigma identifies combustible-liquid storage. Protect the exact product under its specified conditions, and do not substitute dietary or health-effect claims for chemical handling guidance. [4] [5] [6]
Condensed connectivity schematic; see the specified stereochemical identity below. [1]
Sigma O1008 documents oleic acid in magnetic-nanoparticle coating/stabilization research. [5]
Sigma documents use to induce lipid-droplet formation in cell culture. [5]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
Numbering from the carboxyl carbon places the double bond between C9 and C10. Z, or cis for this alkene, specifies the same-side higher-priority carbon chains. There is no stereocenter. [1]
The cis alkene changes chain geometry and introduces oxidation-sensitive chemistry. Neutralization to oleate and esterification are separate transformations. Overall GC assay does not automatically quantify every trans, positional or oxidation impurity. [1] [12]
The molecular identity specifies carbon count and double-bond geometry. A salt, ester, oil blend or oxidation product is separately identified. Overall assay, acid equivalents, isomer composition and package measurement basis remain separate specifications. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | Oleic Acid | Linoleic Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₁₈H₃₄O₂ [1] | C₁₈H₃₂O₂ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 282.5 g/mol [1] | 280.4 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 18 [1] | 18 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 1 [1] | 1 [7] |
| Structure | HOOC–(CH₂)₇–CH=CH–(CH₂)₇–CH₃ · 9Z [1] | HOOC–(CH₂)₇–CH=CH–CH₂–CH=CH–(CH₂)₄–CH₃ · 9Z,12Z [7] |
| Chemical family | C18 cis monounsaturated fatty acid [1] | C18 cis,cis nonconjugated polyunsaturated fatty acid [7] |
| Identity focus | Specified cis free acid; isomer/composition limits separate [1] | Specified cis free acid; isomer/composition limits separate [7] |
| pKa context | 5.02 (aqueous solution, 25 °C; Riddick reference; ionic strength/method not established) [2] | 4.77 (water, 25 °C; IUPAC compilation; ionic strength/method not established) [11] |
Choose 9Z oleic acid for the specified monoene identity or validated surface/cell research method; choose 9Z,12Z linoleic acid for the diene. Request isomer limits, oxidation/peroxide limits and exact-product storage instead of assuming identical stability from nominal assay. [1] [3] [7]
Match HOOC–(CH₂)₇–CH=CH–(CH₂)₇–CH₃ · 9Z and the method’s required chemical form.
Match HOOC–(CH₂)₇–CH=CH–CH₂–CH=CH–(CH₂)₄–CH₃ · 9Z,12Z; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
Sigma O1008 documents oleic acid in magnetic-nanoparticle coating/stabilization research. This is a direct surface-reagent context; particle performance depends on the characterized coating and process. [5]
Sigma documents use to induce lipid-droplet formation in cell culture. The experimental free-acid preparation does not establish a therapeutic, dietary or clinical-product qualification. [5]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. TCI supplies mL packages; Sigma and Wako supply g packages. GC, capillary GC and titration thresholds do not establish identical cis-isomer or oxidation specifications. No mass/volume price conversion is applied. Sigma −20 °C and TCI/Wako refrigeration instructions stay product-specific.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI AmericaOleic Acid | Named grade not statedO0180 · 5 mLCis-9 identity; refrigerated 0–10 °C, inert gas, protect from light/air/heat. | GC: minimum 99.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0% | 5 mL | $48.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: TCI America
| View Product: TCI America, O0180 · 5 mL (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedO0180 · 25 mLCis-9 identity; refrigerated 0–10 °C, inert gas, protect from light/air/heat. | GC: minimum 99.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0% | 25 mL | $174.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, O0180 · 25 mL (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-AldrichOleic Acid | Named grade not statedO1008-1G9Z/cis identity; storage −20 °C, ambient shipment. No quantitative cis-isomer purity or peroxide limit inferred. | Minimum 99% (GC) | 1 g | $36.90USD · US public list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, O1008-1G (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedO1008-5G9Z/cis identity; storage −20 °C, ambient shipment. No quantitative cis-isomer purity or peroxide limit inferred. | Minimum 99% (GC) | 5 g | $103.00USD · US public list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, O1008-5G (opens new tab) | |||
| Named grade not statedO1008-25G9Z/cis identity; storage −20 °C, ambient shipment. No quantitative cis-isomer purity or peroxide limit inferred. | Minimum 99% (GC) | 25 g | $331.00USD · US public list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, O1008-25G (opens new tab) | |||
| FUJIFILM WakoOleic Acid | For Biochemistry155-03401Research / further manufacturing; Japan stock does not confirm US availability. Cis monoene; inactive-gas packaging, 2–10 °C storage. Density range is reference data, not a basis for normalized mass/volume pricing. | 98.0+% (Capillary GC) | 1 g | $47.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
| View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 155-03401 (opens new tab) | |
| For Biochemistry151-03403Research / further manufacturing; Japan stock does not confirm US availability. Cis monoene; inactive-gas packaging, 2–10 °C storage. Density range is reference data, not a basis for normalized mass/volume pricing. | 98.0+% (Capillary GC) | 10 g | $233.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 151-03403 (opens new tab) |
Oleic Acid
Named grade not stated
Cis-9 identity; refrigerated 0–10 °C, inert gas, protect from light/air/heat.
Last checked:
Oleic Acid
Named grade not stated
9Z/cis identity; storage −20 °C, ambient shipment. No quantitative cis-isomer purity or peroxide limit inferred.
Last checked:
Oleic Acid
For Biochemistry
Research / further manufacturing; Japan stock does not confirm US availability. Cis monoene; inactive-gas packaging, 2–10 °C storage. Density range is reference data, not a basis for normalized mass/volume pricing.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
pKa: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Attributed Riddick gives 5.02 in aqueous solution at 25 °C; ionic strength/method not established. Do not treat this as the apparent pKa of every interface or emulsion. Melting point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. 13–14 °C product references and 16.3 °C CRC reference differ; material/polymorph/method cause not established. Each remains attributed. Boiling / decomposition: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Reduced-pressure values retain pressures. Attributed 360 °C at 1 atm explicitly involves decomposition; no ordinary atmospheric boiling constant. Identity contamination: CONFLICT RESOLVED. An HSDB density/boiling description marked ethyl ester belongs to ethyl oleate and is excluded from free-acid fields. Assay / package: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Chemical assay, 9Z identity, quantitative isomer purity, oxidation limits and mass/volume packaging are separate attributes.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
Liquid at 20 °C in TCI’s listing. Melting references depend on material and method; colder storage can change physical state. [13] [4] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
Reference pKa: 5.02 (aqueous solution, 25 °C; Riddick reference; ionic strength/method not established). [2]
pKa: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Attributed Riddick gives 5.02 in aqueous solution at 25 °C; ionic strength/method not established. Do not treat this as the apparent pKa of every interface or emulsion. Melting point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. 13–14 °C product references and 16.3 °C CRC reference differ; material/polymorph/method cause not established. Each remains attributed. Boiling / decomposition: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Reduced-pressure values retain pressures. Attributed 360 °C at 1 atm explicitly involves decomposition; no ordinary atmospheric boiling constant. Identity contamination: CONFLICT RESOLVED. An HSDB density/boiling description marked ethyl ester belongs to ethyl oleate and is excluded from free-acid fields. Assay / package: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Chemical assay, 9Z identity, quantitative isomer purity, oxidation limits and mass/volume packaging are separate attributes.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
TCI O0180 identifies skin and eye irritation and light/air/heat sensitivity. Wako warns of atmospheric oxidation and supplies inactive-gas packaging; Sigma identifies combustible-liquid storage. Protect the exact product under its specified conditions, and do not substitute dietary or health-effect claims for chemical handling guidance. [4] [5] [6]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
Numbering from the carboxyl carbon places the double bond between C9 and C10. Z, or cis for this alkene, specifies the same-side higher-priority carbon chains. There is no stereocenter. [1]
Linoleic acid has two cis bonds at 9 and 12; oleic acid has one at 9. Both have 18 carbons and one COOH, but differ by two hydrogens and a second unsaturation. This distinction changes oxidation context; actual stability still depends on composition and handling. [7]
TCI supplies mL packages; Sigma and Wako supply g packages. GC, capillary GC and titration thresholds do not establish identical cis-isomer or oxidation specifications. No mass/volume price conversion is applied. Sigma −20 °C and TCI/Wako refrigeration instructions stay product-specific. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
pKa: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Attributed Riddick gives 5.02 in aqueous solution at 25 °C; ionic strength/method not established. Do not treat this as the apparent pKa of every interface or emulsion. Melting point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. 13–14 °C product references and 16.3 °C CRC reference differ; material/polymorph/method cause not established. Each remains attributed. Boiling / decomposition: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Reduced-pressure values retain pressures. Attributed 360 °C at 1 atm explicitly involves decomposition; no ordinary atmospheric boiling constant. Identity contamination: CONFLICT RESOLVED. An HSDB density/boiling description marked ethyl ester belongs to ethyl oleate and is excluded from free-acid fields. Assay / package: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Chemical assay, 9Z identity, quantitative isomer purity, oxidation limits and mass/volume packaging are separate attributes.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
The cited reference and available conditions are retained; unspecified measurement conditions are not inferred.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Attributed conditions reviewed; derivative contamination and unresolved discrepancies excluded from unqualified constants.
pKa: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Attributed Riddick gives 5.02 in aqueous solution at 25 °C; ionic strength/method not established. Do not treat this as the apparent pKa of every interface or emulsion. Melting point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. 13–14 °C product references and 16.3 °C CRC reference differ; material/polymorph/method cause not established. Each remains attributed. Boiling / decomposition: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Reduced-pressure values retain pressures. Attributed 360 °C at 1 atm explicitly involves decomposition; no ordinary atmospheric boiling constant. Identity contamination: CONFLICT RESOLVED. An HSDB density/boiling description marked ethyl ester belongs to ethyl oleate and is excluded from free-acid fields. Assay / package: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Chemical assay, 9Z identity, quantitative isomer purity, oxidation limits and mass/volume packaging are separate attributes.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.