Biofilm laboratory research
TCI documents myristic-acid investigation of Candida albicans biofilm and hyphal formation, expressly for research. [4]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 544-63-8
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
Myristic acid is the saturated C14 free fatty acid. Isopropyl myristate and myristate salts are distinct products, so derivative performance must remain clearly labeled. [1]
Identity focus: Neutral free acid; water and derivatives specified separately. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
Twelve CH₂ groups connect CH₃ to COOH. There is one acid group, no alkene and no stereocenter in the neutral molecule.
Myristic acid is the saturated C14 free fatty acid. Isopropyl myristate and myristate salts are distinct products, so derivative performance must remain clearly labeled. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — TCI M0476 identifies skin and eye irritation. Sigma lists combustible-solid storage and exact-product cold storage while shipping at ambient temperature; shipping and long-term storage are separate instructions. Avoid powder/contact exposure and handle warmed acid with the applicable product controls. [4] [5] [6]
A condensed structural formula keeps the functional groups visible. [1]
TCI documents myristic-acid investigation of Candida albicans biofilm and hyphal formation, expressly for research. [4]
Attributed industrial references identify ester synthesis for flavor/perfume contexts. [3] [14]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
Twelve CH₂ groups connect CH₃ to COOH. There is one acid group, no alkene and no stereocenter in the neutral molecule. [1]
Esterification can form isopropyl myristate, changing chemical identity and practical behavior. Protein-bound myristoyl groups are likewise not free-acid ingredients. A neutralization assay measures acid equivalents rather than proving the C14 composition by itself. [1] [12] [14]
Connectivity and neutral formula identify this acid. Positional isomers, water-containing products, salts and esters require their own specifications. Measured reference conditions, assay methods and unresolved discrepancies remain visible. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | Myristic Acid | Lauric Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₁₄H₂₈O₂ [1] | C₁₂H₂₄O₂ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 228.37 g/mol [1] | 200.32 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 14 [1] | 12 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 1 [1] | 1 [7] |
| Structure | CH₃–(CH₂)₁₂–COOH [1] | CH₃–(CH₂)₁₀–COOH [7] |
| Chemical family | C14 saturated straight-chain fatty acid [1] | C12 saturated straight-chain fatty acid [7] |
| Identity focus | Neutral free acid; water and derivatives specified separately [1] | Neutral free acid; water and derivatives specified separately [7] |
Choose myristic acid for a C14 free-acid method or derivatization target; choose lauric acid for C12. If the requirement is an emollient such as isopropyl myristate, qualify that ester rather than replacing it with free acid. [1] [3] [7]
Match CH₃–(CH₂)₁₂–COOH and the method’s required chemical form.
Match CH₃–(CH₂)₁₀–COOH; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
TCI documents myristic-acid investigation of Candida albicans biofilm and hyphal formation, expressly for research. This direct experimental context does not establish an approved antifungal treatment. [4]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. TCI’s 99% titration headline accompanies a separate 98% GC specification. Sigma Grade 99% has an unstated assay method and product-specific −20 °C storage. Wako’s verified Asia catalog lists Japanese JPY prices; no US price or exchange-rate comparison is inferred.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI AmericaMyristic Acid | Named grade not statedM0476 · 25 gHeadline emphasizes 99% titration; GC specification is separately 98%, not 99%. | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0% | 25 g | $21.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: TCI America
| View Product: TCI America, M0476 · 25 g (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedM0476 · 500 gHeadline emphasizes 99% titration; GC specification is separately 98%, not 99%. | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0% | 500 g | $33.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, M0476 · 500 g (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-AldrichMyristic Acid | Sigma GradeM3128-10G500 g list price shown; promotional USD 111.35 was also displayed. Product storage −20 °C differs from ambient shipment and other suppliers. | Minimum 99%; method not stated | 10 g | $56.50USD · US public list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, M3128-10G (opens new tab) | |
| Sigma GradeM3128-100G500 g list price shown; promotional USD 111.35 was also displayed. Product storage −20 °C differs from ambient shipment and other suppliers. | Minimum 99%; method not stated | 100 g | $106.00USD · US public list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, M3128-100G (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma GradeM3128-500G500 g list price shown; promotional USD 111.35 was also displayed. Product storage −20 °C differs from ambient shipment and other suppliers. | Minimum 99%; method not stated | 500 g | $131.00USD · US public list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, M3128-500G (opens new tab) | |||
| FUJIFILM WakoMyristic Acid | Wako Special Grade130-03432Asia catalog explicitly states prices are Japan list prices; ask the local distributor for regional retail price. No US availability or exchange-rate equivalence inferred. | 98.0+% (Capillary GC) | 25 g | ¥2,100JPY · Japan list prices on Asia catalog | Not comparedDifferent currency / market | Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
| View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 130-03432 (opens new tab) | |
| Wako Special Grade134-03435Asia catalog explicitly states prices are Japan list prices; ask the local distributor for regional retail price. No US availability or exchange-rate equivalence inferred. | 98.0+% (Capillary GC) | 500 g | ¥5,560JPY · Japan list prices on Asia catalog | Not comparedDifferent currency / market | View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 134-03435 (opens new tab) |
Myristic Acid
Named grade not stated
Headline emphasizes 99% titration; GC specification is separately 98%, not 99%.
Last checked:
Myristic Acid
Sigma Grade
500 g list price shown; promotional USD 111.35 was also displayed. Product storage −20 °C differs from ambient shipment and other suppliers.
Last checked:
Myristic Acid
Wako Special Grade
Asia catalog explicitly states prices are Japan list prices; ask the local distributor for regional retail price. No US availability or exchange-rate equivalence inferred.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
Melting ranges: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Specification and reference ranges overlap partly but differ. Composition/method cause not established; values retained with source type. pKa / density: OMITTED. Compiled 4.90 lacks matched conditions; relative density near 54 °C is not a room-temperature powder-density measurement. Water solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 22 mg/L at 30 °C is not directly ranked against lauric 4.81 mg/L at 25 °C. Both temperature and method context matter. Boiling point: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 250 °C at 100 mmHg is reduced-pressure, not a normal boiling point.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
Solid at 20 °C. Supplier melting intervals vary; near-melting density records require their stated temperature and reference basis. [13] [4] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]
Melting ranges: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Specification and reference ranges overlap partly but differ. Composition/method cause not established; values retained with source type. pKa / density: OMITTED. Compiled 4.90 lacks matched conditions; relative density near 54 °C is not a room-temperature powder-density measurement. Water solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 22 mg/L at 30 °C is not directly ranked against lauric 4.81 mg/L at 25 °C. Both temperature and method context matter. Boiling point: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 250 °C at 100 mmHg is reduced-pressure, not a normal boiling point.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
TCI M0476 identifies skin and eye irritation. Sigma lists combustible-solid storage and exact-product cold storage while shipping at ambient temperature; shipping and long-term storage are separate instructions. Avoid powder/contact exposure and handle warmed acid with the applicable product controls. [4] [5] [6]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
Twelve CH₂ groups connect CH₃ to COOH. There is one acid group, no alkene and no stereocenter in the neutral molecule. [1]
Lauric acid is C12 and myristic acid is C14. The extra two methylenes change the residue and thermal context, but a supplier melting range or assay cannot establish finished-emulsion performance. [7]
TCI’s 99% titration headline accompanies a separate 98% GC specification. Sigma Grade 99% has an unstated assay method and product-specific −20 °C storage. Wako’s verified Asia catalog lists Japanese JPY prices; no US price or exchange-rate comparison is inferred. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
Melting ranges: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Specification and reference ranges overlap partly but differ. Composition/method cause not established; values retained with source type. pKa / density: OMITTED. Compiled 4.90 lacks matched conditions; relative density near 54 °C is not a room-temperature powder-density measurement. Water solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 22 mg/L at 30 °C is not directly ranked against lauric 4.81 mg/L at 25 °C. Both temperature and method context matter. Boiling point: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 250 °C at 100 mmHg is reduced-pressure, not a normal boiling point.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Attributed references and conditions reviewed; unsupported estimates and cross-isomer data excluded.
CAS 110-27-0 ester and its emollient context; not a free-myristic-acid use.
Melting ranges: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Specification and reference ranges overlap partly but differ. Composition/method cause not established; values retained with source type. pKa / density: OMITTED. Compiled 4.90 lacks matched conditions; relative density near 54 °C is not a room-temperature powder-density measurement. Water solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 22 mg/L at 30 °C is not directly ranked against lauric 4.81 mg/L at 25 °C. Both temperature and method context matter. Boiling point: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 250 °C at 100 mmHg is reduced-pressure, not a normal boiling point.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.