Cell-culture research
Sigma P0500 documents palmitic-acid use in macrophage/adipocyte and hepatocyte experiments. [5]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 57-10-3
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
Palmitic acid is the saturated C16 free fatty acid. Palmitate salts and fatty-acid residues in fats or cell membranes are related chemical contexts, not interchangeable reagent identities. [1]
Identity focus: Saturated free acid; composition limits separate. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
Fourteen methylenes connect CH₃ to COOH. C16:0 indicates 16 carbons and zero carbon–carbon double bonds. The neutral identity is achiral.
Palmitic acid is the saturated C16 free fatty acid. Palmitate salts and fatty-acid residues in fats or cell membranes are related chemical contexts, not interchangeable reagent identities. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — TCI P0002 classifies serious eye irritation. Control powder and contact exposure according to the exact-product SDS; dietary occurrence and cellular research do not make a reagent suitable for consumption. If warmed for a method, account for molten-material handling separately. [4] [5] [6]
A condensed structural formula keeps the functional groups visible. [1]
Sigma P0500 documents palmitic-acid use in macrophage/adipocyte and hepatocyte experiments. [5]
Attributed industrial records identify manufacture of metallic palmitates and soaps. [3]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
Fourteen methylenes connect CH₃ to COOH. C16:0 indicates 16 carbons and zero carbon–carbon double bonds. The neutral identity is achiral. [1]
Carboxyl neutralization forms palmitate salts and esterification forms palmitate esters. A total acid-equivalent assay does not prove the C16 composition or distinguish adjacent fatty acids. Biological occurrence does not establish suitability of a reagent for dietary use. [1] [12]
The molecular identity specifies carbon count and double-bond geometry. A salt, ester, oil blend or oxidation product is separately identified. Overall assay, acid equivalents, isomer composition and package measurement basis remain separate specifications. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | Palmitic Acid | Stearic Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₁₆H₃₂O₂ [1] | C₁₈H₃₆O₂ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 256.42 g/mol [1] | 284.5 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 16 [1] | 18 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 1 [1] | 1 [7] |
| Structure | CH₃–(CH₂)₁₄–COOH [1] | CH₃–(CH₂)₁₆–COOH [7] |
| Chemical family | C16 saturated straight-chain fatty acid [1] | C18 saturated straight-chain fatty acid [7] |
| Identity focus | Saturated free acid; composition limits separate [1] | Saturated free acid; composition limits separate [7] |
Choose palmitic acid for a method specifying C16:0; choose stearic acid for C18:0. Match chromatographic composition, other fatty acids, water and intended-use grade rather than assuming equivalent purity from titration. [1] [3] [7]
Match CH₃–(CH₂)₁₄–COOH and the method’s required chemical form.
Match CH₃–(CH₂)₁₆–COOH; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
Sigma P0500 documents palmitic-acid use in macrophage/adipocyte and hepatocyte experiments. This is direct research use under specified preparation conditions, not a health benefit or patient-use claim. [5]
Attributed industrial records identify manufacture of metallic palmitates and soaps. The acid is converted to salts; lubricant or surfactant performance belongs to the specified product or formulation. [3]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. TCI specifies 97% GC and titration, Wako 95% capillary GC, and Sigma ≥99% with no method. Sigma’s duplicated concentration field for a powder does not establish an aqueous product. Food/pharma use requires separately qualified material.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI AmericaPalmitic Acid | Named grade not statedP0002 · 25 g | GC: minimum 97.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 97.0% | 25 g | $19.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: TCI America
| View Product: TCI America, P0002 · 25 g (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedP0002 · 500 g | GC: minimum 97.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 97.0% | 500 g | $30.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, P0002 · 500 g (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-AldrichPalmitic Acid | Named grade not statedP0500-10GPowder; duplicate supplier “concentration” field is not evidence of an aqueous solution. | Minimum 99%; method not stated | 10 g | $65.80USD · US public list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, P0500-10G (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedP0500-25GPowder; duplicate supplier “concentration” field is not evidence of an aqueous solution. | Minimum 99%; method not stated | 25 g | $146.00USD · US public list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, P0500-25G (opens new tab) | |||
| Named grade not statedP0500-100GPowder; duplicate supplier “concentration” field is not evidence of an aqueous solution. | Minimum 99%; method not stated | 100 g | $436.00USD · US public list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, P0500-100G (opens new tab) | |||
| Named grade not statedP0500-250GPowder; duplicate supplier “concentration” field is not evidence of an aqueous solution. | Minimum 99%; method not stated | 250 g | $781.00USD · US public list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, P0500-250G (opens new tab) | |||
| FUJIFILM WakoPalmitic Acid | Wako Special Grade; from palm168-20732Research / further manufacturing; Japan stock does not confirm US availability. 500 g showed out of stock; 95% is not equivalent to the higher-assay products. | 95.0+% (Capillary GC) | 25 g | $39.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
| View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 168-20732 (opens new tab) | |
| Wako Special Grade; from palm162-20735Research / further manufacturing; Japan stock does not confirm US availability. 500 g showed out of stock; 95% is not equivalent to the higher-assay products. | 95.0+% (Capillary GC) | 500 g | $60.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 162-20735 (opens new tab) |
Palmitic Acid
Named grade not stated
Last checked:
Palmitic Acid
Named grade not stated
Powder; duplicate supplier “concentration” field is not evidence of an aqueous solution.
Last checked:
Palmitic Acid
Wako Special Grade; from palm
Research / further manufacturing; Japan stock does not confirm US availability. 500 g showed out of stock; 95% is not equivalent to the higher-assay products.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. TCI 0.82 mg/L at 25 °C differs from attributed Robb 0.04 mg/L at 25 °C. Sigma gives 0.00005 g/L at 20 °C. Measurement/material cause not established; no numerical solubility ranking promoted. Density: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Sigma labels 0.852 g/mL at 25 °C; attributed CRC gives 0.8527 g/cm³ near 62 °C and Wako specific gravity 0.85 at 70 °C. Phase/method mismatch not resolved; main density omitted. pKa: OMITTED. Condition-matched measured dissociation value not verified. Melting / boiling: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Supplier specification and literature ranges remain attributed; reduced-pressure boiling values retain pressures.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
Solid at 20 °C. Near-melting and elevated-temperature density references must not be used as room-temperature powder density. [13] [4] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]
Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. TCI 0.82 mg/L at 25 °C differs from attributed Robb 0.04 mg/L at 25 °C. Sigma gives 0.00005 g/L at 20 °C. Measurement/material cause not established; no numerical solubility ranking promoted. Density: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Sigma labels 0.852 g/mL at 25 °C; attributed CRC gives 0.8527 g/cm³ near 62 °C and Wako specific gravity 0.85 at 70 °C. Phase/method mismatch not resolved; main density omitted. pKa: OMITTED. Condition-matched measured dissociation value not verified. Melting / boiling: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Supplier specification and literature ranges remain attributed; reduced-pressure boiling values retain pressures.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
TCI P0002 classifies serious eye irritation. Control powder and contact exposure according to the exact-product SDS; dietary occurrence and cellular research do not make a reagent suitable for consumption. If warmed for a method, account for molten-material handling separately. [4] [5] [6]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
Fourteen methylenes connect CH₃ to COOH. C16:0 indicates 16 carbons and zero carbon–carbon double bonds. The neutral identity is achiral. [1]
Stearic acid adds two methylenes and is C18:0. Both are saturated monoacids; their molecular residues and thermal behavior differ. A commercial stearic blend may contain palmitic acid, so names and total titration alone do not define composition. [7]
TCI specifies 97% GC and titration, Wako 95% capillary GC, and Sigma ≥99% with no method. Sigma’s duplicated concentration field for a powder does not establish an aqueous product. Food/pharma use requires separately qualified material. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. TCI 0.82 mg/L at 25 °C differs from attributed Robb 0.04 mg/L at 25 °C. Sigma gives 0.00005 g/L at 20 °C. Measurement/material cause not established; no numerical solubility ranking promoted. Density: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Sigma labels 0.852 g/mL at 25 °C; attributed CRC gives 0.8527 g/cm³ near 62 °C and Wako specific gravity 0.85 at 70 °C. Phase/method mismatch not resolved; main density omitted. pKa: OMITTED. Condition-matched measured dissociation value not verified. Melting / boiling: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Supplier specification and literature ranges remain attributed; reduced-pressure boiling values retain pressures.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Attributed conditions reviewed; derivative contamination and unresolved discrepancies excluded from unqualified constants.
Water solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. TCI 0.82 mg/L at 25 °C differs from attributed Robb 0.04 mg/L at 25 °C. Sigma gives 0.00005 g/L at 20 °C. Measurement/material cause not established; no numerical solubility ranking promoted. Density: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Sigma labels 0.852 g/mL at 25 °C; attributed CRC gives 0.8527 g/cm³ near 62 °C and Wako specific gravity 0.85 at 70 °C. Phase/method mismatch not resolved; main density omitted. pKa: OMITTED. Condition-matched measured dissociation value not verified. Melting / boiling: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Supplier specification and literature ranges remain attributed; reduced-pressure boiling values retain pressures.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.