COOHCarboxylicAcids.comAn independent chemistry & sourcing resourceFind suppliers

CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 143-07-7

Lauric Acid

Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers

Lauric acid is the C12 saturated free fatty acid. Oils containing lauric residues, glycerol esters and laurate salts are related materials with different identities and product specifications. [1]

At a glance

Quick reference
Molecular formula
C₁₂H₂₄O₂ [1]
CAS number
143-07-7 [4]
Molecular weight
200.32 g/mol [1]
IUPAC name
dodecanoic acid [1]
Chemical family
C12 saturated straight-chain fatty acid [1]
Carbon atoms
12 [1]
Carboxyl groups
1 [1]
pKa reference
5.3 (water, 20 °C; IUPAC compilation; ionic strength/method not established) [2]

Identity focus: Neutral free acid; water and derivatives specified separately. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.

01

THE ESSENTIALS

Lauric Acid in 30 Seconds

Ten methylenes lie between CH₃ and COOH. The chain is saturated and achiral, with no E/Z alkene identity.

Lauric acid is the C12 saturated free fatty acid. Oils containing lauric residues, glycerol esters and laurate salts are related materials with different identities and product specifications. [1] [3]

Safety at a glance — TCI L0011 identifies serious eye damage and aquatic toxicity; Sigma L4250 also identifies serious eye damage. Retain this hazard despite fatty-acid occurrence in food oils. Handle powder and any warmed material according to the exact-product SDS and avoid environmental release. [4] [5] [6]

Lauric Acid condensed structure: CH₃–(CH₂)₁₀–COOHCH₃–(CH₂)₁₀–COOH1 carboxyl group

A condensed structural formula keeps the functional groups visible. [1]

01

Biofilm laboratory research

TCI describes lauric acid in specific Candida and E. [4]

02

Laurate-material intermediate

Attributed industrial records identify soap, wetting-agent and alkyd-resin contexts. [3]

03

Commercial availability

The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]

02

GO A LITTLE DEEPER

Understanding Lauric Acid

THE SIMPLE EXPLANATION

The functional groups

Ten methylenes lie between CH₃ and COOH. The chain is saturated and achiral, with no E/Z alkene identity. [1]

A LITTLE DEEPER

What the structure changes

Neutralization forms laurate salts; esterification forms laurate esters. Surfactant or emollient performance of those products does not establish identical performance of the free acid. Its low neutral-water solubility also differs from a salt solution. [1] [12]

Technical detail Identity, dissociation & specification

Connectivity and neutral formula identify this acid. Positional isomers, water-containing products, salts and esters require their own specifications. Measured reference conditions, assay methods and unresolved discrepancies remain visible. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]

Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.

03

MAKE THE CONNECTION

How Lauric Acid Compares

Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.

SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON

Lauric Acid vs Myristic Acid

C12 saturated straight-chain fatty acid
versus
C14 saturated straight-chain fatty acid

Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.

Lauric Acid compared with Myristic Acid
PropertyLauric AcidMyristic Acid
Molecular formulaC₁₂H₂₄O₂ [1]C₁₄H₂₈O₂ [7]
Molecular weight200.32 g/mol [1]228.37 g/mol [7]
Carbon atoms12 [1]14 [7]
Carboxyl groups1 [1]1 [7]
StructureCH₃–(CH₂)₁₀–COOH [1]CH₃–(CH₂)₁₂–COOH [7]
Chemical familyC12 saturated straight-chain fatty acid [1]C14 saturated straight-chain fatty acid [7]
Identity focusNeutral free acid; water and derivatives specified separately [1]Neutral free acid; water and derivatives specified separately [7]
Chemical identities are compared here; supplier grades, concentrations, and stereochemical specifications are separate purchasing attributes. pKa values retain their stated conditions; no quantitative solubility ranking is implied.

When Might You Choose One Instead of the Other?

Choose lauric acid for a C12 free-acid synthesis or research target; choose myristic acid for C14. For a soap, ester or food formulation, specify the actual chemical form and intended grade rather than selecting solely by fatty-acid name. [1] [3] [7]

Specified starting material

Lauric Acid

Match CH₃–(CH₂)₁₀–COOH and the method’s required chemical form.

Myristic Acid

Match CH₃–(CH₂)₁₂–COOH; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.

Sources: [1] [7]

Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.

04

FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION

What Is Lauric Acid Used For?

01

Biofilm laboratory research

TCI describes lauric acid in specific Candida and E. coli biofilm studies and expressly restricts the product to research. This is direct experimental use, not a claim of approved infection treatment or disinfectant service. [4]

02

Laurate-material intermediate

Attributed industrial records identify soap, wetting-agent and alkyd-resin contexts. The acid is a precursor where it is converted into a salt, ester or polymer residue; finished-material performance is separate. [3]

05

CHOOSE THE RIGHT SPECIFICATION

Buying Lauric Acid

Selecting lauric acid involves more than the lowest price. Start with your application, then define purity, grade, quantity, documentation, and packaging.

1

What Are You Buying It For?

Intended use
Chemical Synthesis

The priced Sigma L4250 reagent differs from separately listed FCC/FG W261408. GC/titration and Wako capillary-GC specifications remain separate. Solution or oil-blend concentration is not inferred from the neat-product assay. Match the procedure’s identity and impurity specification; request a lot COA and current regional SDS.

2

Define Your Requirements

These are requirements you can request, not a list of guaranteed available combinations. Confirm each product’s actual specification.

Set your requirements to prepare a sourcing brief.
06

SOURCE WITH CONTEXT

Lauric Acid Suppliers

Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.

3 suppliers · 3 products · 6 package listingsLatest supplier check: October 3, 2026

Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. The priced Sigma L4250 reagent differs from separately listed FCC/FG W261408. GC/titration and Wako capillary-GC specifications remain separate. Solution or oil-blend concentration is not inferred from the neat-product assay.

Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.

6 package listings grouped under three supplier products
SupplierProduct / GradePurity / AssayPackage SizePublic PriceNormalized PriceDocumentationLast CheckedAction
TCI AmericaLauric AcidNamed grade not statedL0011 · 25 gGC: minimum 98.0%
Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0%
25 g$20.00USD · US public priceNot comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
COA lookup on product page (opens new tab)SDSCheck supplierCOOCheck supplier
Document notes: TCI America
  • A product-specific certificate retrieval option was visible; no lot certificate was reviewed. Open the product page and use its certificate section.
  • A current regional SDS was not verified in this pass.
  • Origin-document availability was not verified. Country of origin is unverified and is not inferred.
View Product: TCI America, L0011 · 25 g (opens new tab)
Named grade not statedL0011 · 500 gGC: minimum 98.0%
Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0%
500 g$24.00USD · US public priceNot comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differView Product: TCI America, L0011 · 500 g (opens new tab)
Sigma-AldrichLauric AcidNamed grade not statedL4250-100GList prices shown; promotional USD 41.82 / 150.00 were also displayed. Separate FCC/FG product W261408 is not this reagent.Minimum 99% (GC/titration)100 g$49.20USD · US public list priceNot comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
COA lookup on product page (opens new tab)SDSCheck supplierCOOCheck supplier
Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich
  • A product-specific certificate retrieval option was visible; no lot certificate was reviewed. Open the product page and use its certificate section.
  • A current regional SDS was not verified in this pass.
  • Origin-document availability was not verified. Country of origin is unverified and is not inferred.
View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, L4250-100G (opens new tab)
Named grade not statedL4250-500GList prices shown; promotional USD 41.82 / 150.00 were also displayed. Separate FCC/FG product W261408 is not this reagent.Minimum 99% (GC/titration)500 g$200.00USD · US public list priceNot comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differView Product: Sigma-Aldrich, L4250-500G (opens new tab)
FUJIFILM WakoLauric AcidWako Special Grade042-23281Research / further manufacturing; confirm US availability separately from Japan stock. Storage below 25 °C applies to this product.98.0+% (Capillary GC)100 g$45.00USD · US catalog list priceNot comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
COA lookup on product page (opens new tab)SDSCheck supplierCOOCheck supplier
Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
  • A product-specific certificate retrieval option was visible; no lot certificate was reviewed. Open the product page and use its certificate section.
  • A current regional SDS was not verified in this pass.
  • Origin-document availability was not verified. Country of origin is unverified and is not inferred.
View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 042-23281 (opens new tab)
Wako Special Grade044-23285Research / further manufacturing; confirm US availability separately from Japan stock. Storage below 25 °C applies to this product.98.0+% (Capillary GC)500 g$103.00USD · US catalog list priceNot comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differView Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 044-23285 (opens new tab)

TCI America

Lauric Acid

GC: minimum 98.0%
Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0%

Named grade not stated

25 g

L0011 · 25 g
Public price
$20.00USD · US public price
Normalized price
Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
View Product: TCI America, L0011 · 25 g (opens new tab)

500 g

L0011 · 500 g
Public price
$24.00USD · US public price
Normalized price
Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
View Product: TCI America, L0011 · 500 g (opens new tab)

Documentation

COA lookup on product page (opens new tab)SDSCheck supplierCOOCheck supplier
Document notes: TCI America
  • A product-specific certificate retrieval option was visible; no lot certificate was reviewed. Open the product page and use its certificate section.
  • A current regional SDS was not verified in this pass.
  • Origin-document availability was not verified. Country of origin is unverified and is not inferred.

Last checked:

Sigma-Aldrich

Lauric Acid

Minimum 99% (GC/titration)

Named grade not stated
List prices shown; promotional USD 41.82 / 150.00 were also displayed. Separate FCC/FG product W261408 is not this reagent.

100 g

L4250-100G
Public price
$49.20USD · US public list price
Normalized price
Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, L4250-100G (opens new tab)

500 g

L4250-500G
Public price
$200.00USD · US public list price
Normalized price
Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, L4250-500G (opens new tab)

Documentation

COA lookup on product page (opens new tab)SDSCheck supplierCOOCheck supplier
Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich
  • A product-specific certificate retrieval option was visible; no lot certificate was reviewed. Open the product page and use its certificate section.
  • A current regional SDS was not verified in this pass.
  • Origin-document availability was not verified. Country of origin is unverified and is not inferred.

Last checked:

FUJIFILM Wako

Lauric Acid

98.0+% (Capillary GC)

Wako Special Grade
Research / further manufacturing; confirm US availability separately from Japan stock. Storage below 25 °C applies to this product.

100 g

042-23281
Public price
$45.00USD · US catalog list price
Normalized price
Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 042-23281 (opens new tab)

500 g

044-23285
Public price
$103.00USD · US catalog list price
Normalized price
Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ
View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 044-23285 (opens new tab)

Documentation

COA lookup on product page (opens new tab)SDSCheck supplierCOOCheck supplier
Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
  • A product-specific certificate retrieval option was visible; no lot certificate was reviewed. Open the product page and use its certificate section.
  • A current regional SDS was not verified in this pass.
  • Origin-document availability was not verified. Country of origin is unverified and is not inferred.

Last checked:

Documentation evidence

COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.

Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.

Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]

Verification limits & placement policy

pKa: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. IUPAC aqueous compilation gives 5.3 at 20 °C; ionic strength and experimental method were not established in the retrieved entry. Retained only with conditions, not as a universal long-chain-fatty-acid constant. Melting references: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Attributed 43.8 °C and 48 °C references differ; cause not established. Main field is the clearly attributed product specification. Boiling / density: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Reduced-pressure 225 °C reference retained. Pressure-free 91.4 °C compilation entry is not resolved or promoted. 50 °C density is molten; temperature-free or 25 °C density records do not replace it.

Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.

There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.

07

PLAN A LARGER ORDER

Need Lauric Acid in Bulk?

Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.

RFQ PROTOTYPE
Bulk RFQ feature — coming soon. Prototype form: submissions are not currently sent to suppliers. Use sample details to prepare an on-screen brief.
Prepare a bulk request Prototype form

The prefilled CAS identifies this profile’s principal form. Confirm or edit it for the requested product, especially a hydrate, stereoisomer, or salt. State the exact form and concentration before using the brief.

Prototype only · No request will be sent
08

A BUYER’S CHECKLIST

Before You Buy Lauric Acid

Selections remain only while this page is open.

09

FOR YOUR REFERENCE

Lauric Acid Technical Reference

Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.

Identification Names, formula & identifiers
Principal CAS
143-07-7
Identity focus
Neutral free acid; water and derivatives specified separately
Formula
C₁₂H₂₄O₂
Molecular weight
200.32 g/mol
IUPAC name
dodecanoic acid
Connectivity SMILES
CCCCCCCCCCCC(=O)O
Identity SMILES
CCCCCCCCCCCC(=O)O
InChI
InChI=1S/C12H24O2/c1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9-10-11-12(13)14/h2-11H2,1H3,(H,13,14)
PubChem CID
3893

Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]

Physical Properties Product references & conditions

Solid at 20 °C in TCI’s listing. A density reference above the melting region describes molten acid rather than powder. [13] [4] [5]

Melting specification
TCI L0011: 43–46 °C [4]
Water-solubility reference
TCI and attributed Yalkowsky: 4.81 mg/L at 25 °C; method unstated [4]
Reduced-pressure boiling reference
Attributed NTP: 225 °C at 100 mmHg; not an atmospheric boiling point [13]
Molten density
Attributed CRC: 0.8679 g/cm³ at 50 °C [13]

Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.

Acid/Base Properties Verified values & missing data

Reference pKa: 5.3 (water, 20 °C; IUPAC compilation; ionic strength/method not established). [2]

pKa: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. IUPAC aqueous compilation gives 5.3 at 20 °C; ionic strength and experimental method were not established in the retrieved entry. Retained only with conditions, not as a universal long-chain-fatty-acid constant. Melting references: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Attributed 43.8 °C and 48 °C references differ; cause not established. Main field is the clearly attributed product specification. Boiling / density: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Reduced-pressure 225 °C reference retained. Pressure-free 91.4 °C compilation entry is not resolved or promoted. 50 °C density is molten; temperature-free or 25 °C density records do not replace it.

Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.

Safety at a Glance Product-specific hazards

TCI L0011 identifies serious eye damage and aquatic toxicity; Sigma L4250 also identifies serious eye damage. Retain this hazard despite fatty-acid occurrence in food oils. Handle powder and any warmed material according to the exact-product SDS and avoid environmental release. [4] [5] [6]

Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.

Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab)

A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.

Review supplier documentation
10

COMMON QUESTIONS

Lauric Acid FAQ

What distinguishes Lauric Acid?

Ten methylenes lie between CH₃ and COOH. The chain is saturated and achiral, with no E/Z alkene identity. [1]

How does it differ from Myristic Acid?

Myristic acid adds two methylenes to the lauric chain. Both are solids under the displayed 20 °C reference context, but their chain residues and supplier specifications differ. Do not infer a universal aqueous-acidity or solubility trend from chain length. [7]

What must a buyer specify?

The priced Sigma L4250 reagent differs from separately listed FCC/FG W261408. GC/titration and Wako capillary-GC specifications remain separate. Solution or oil-blend concentration is not inferred from the neat-product assay. [4]

Are the listed products directly price-comparable?

No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]

What reference data still need checking?

pKa: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. IUPAC aqueous compilation gives 5.3 at 20 °C; ionic strength and experimental method were not established in the retrieved entry. Retained only with conditions, not as a universal long-chain-fatty-acid constant. Melting references: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Attributed 43.8 °C and 48 °C references differ; cause not established. Main field is the clearly attributed product specification. Boiling / density: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Reduced-pressure 225 °C reference retained. Pressure-free 91.4 °C compilation entry is not resolved or promoted. 50 °C density is molten; temperature-free or 25 °C density records do not replace it.

Can I request a bulk quote here?

The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.

11

TRACE THE INFORMATION

Sources & Editorial Notes

Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.

  1. PubChem · chemical identity (opens new tab)

    Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.

  2. PubChem / HSDB · dissociation references (opens new tab)

    The cited reference and available conditions are retained; unspecified measurement conditions are not inferred.

  3. PubChem / HSDB · application references (opens new tab)

    Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.

  4. TCI America · commercial product (opens new tab)

    Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.

  5. Sigma-Aldrich · commercial product (opens new tab)

    Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.

  6. FUJIFILM Wako · commercial product (opens new tab)

    Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.

  7. Myristic Acid · identity (opens new tab)

    Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.

  8. Decanoic Acid · identity (opens new tab)

    Related identity and structural relationship.

  9. Octanoic Acid · identity (opens new tab)

    Related identity and structural relationship.

  10. Nonanoic Acid · identity (opens new tab)

    Related identity and structural relationship.

  11. Myristic Acid · dissociation references (opens new tab)

    Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.

  12. OpenStax · Carboxylic-acid structure and properties (opens new tab)

    General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.

  13. PubChem / HSDB · attributed physical references (opens new tab)

    Attributed references and conditions reviewed; unsupported estimates and cross-isomer data excluded.

  14. Sigma W261408 · separate FCC/FG product (opens new tab)

    Manufacturer-listed FCC/FG qualification belongs to this separate product, not the priced L4250 reagent.

Review limits

pKa: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. IUPAC aqueous compilation gives 5.3 at 20 °C; ionic strength and experimental method were not established in the retrieved entry. Retained only with conditions, not as a universal long-chain-fatty-acid constant. Melting references: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Attributed 43.8 °C and 48 °C references differ; cause not established. Main field is the clearly attributed product specification. Boiling / density: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. Reduced-pressure 225 °C reference retained. Pressure-free 91.4 °C compilation entry is not resolved or promoted. 50 °C density is molten; temperature-free or 25 °C density records do not replace it.

This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.