Food-preservation context
US 21 CFR 182.3089 recognizes sorbic acid under good-manufacturing-practice conditions. [14]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 110-44-1
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
Sorbic acid is the 2E,4E six-carbon conjugated-diene acid. Its qualified preservation uses are distinct from potassium sorbate, reagent-grade products and claims about a finished formulation. [1]
Identity focus: 2E,4E free acid. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
Two carbon–carbon double bonds alternate with a single bond. Both double bonds have E geometry. Potassium sorbate is a salt with a different formula, molecular weight and commercial specification.
Sorbic acid is the 2E,4E six-carbon conjugated-diene acid. Its qualified preservation uses are distinct from potassium sorbate, reagent-grade products and claims about a finished formulation. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — Sorbic acid can irritate skin and eyes; the retrieved TCI US SDS additionally identifies aquatic harm and requires dust controls. Merck identifies a combustible-solid storage class. Qualified food-preservative use does not make raw powder harmless or authorize an unqualified reagent in food. Follow the selected product’s SDS and dust-handling requirements. [4] [5] [6]
Condensed connectivity schematic; see the specified stereochemical identity below. [1]
US 21 CFR 182.3089 recognizes sorbic acid under good-manufacturing-practice conditions. [14]
Merck describes sorbic acid as a preservative in pharmaceutical and cosmetic formulations and offers a product with named compendial claims. [5]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
Two carbon–carbon double bonds alternate with a single bond. Both double bonds have E geometry. Potassium sorbate is a salt with a different formula, molecular weight and commercial specification. [1]
The carboxyl group forms sorbate on deprotonation. Free-acid content therefore depends on solution conditions. A preservative raw material still needs a validated formulation and the appropriate grade; chemical identity alone does not establish performance or permissible use. [1] [12]
The neutral free-acid formula, connectivity and specified geometric identity are distinct from a salt, ester, polymer or anhydride. Numeric pKa is not promoted where retrieved conditions or conflicting measurements remain insufficiently resolved. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | Sorbic Acid | Benzoic Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₆H₈O₂ [1] | C₇H₆O₂ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 112.13 g/mol [1] | 122.12 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 6 [1] | 7 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 1 [1] | 1 [7] |
| Structure | CH₃–CH=CH–CH=CH–COOH|2E,4E identity [1] | C₆H₅–COOH [7] |
| Chemical family | Unsaturated aliphatic monocarboxylic acid [1] | Aromatic monocarboxylic acid [7] |
| Identity focus | 2E,4E free acid [1] | Solid [7] |
Consider sorbic or benzoic acid only within the applicable use conditions and a validated formulation. Confirm acid versus salt, required grade, pH-dependent performance and compatibility. Do not treat a laboratory assay percentage as a food or pharmaceutical qualification. [1] [3] [7]
Match CH₃–CH=CH–CH=CH–COOH|2E,4E identity and the method’s required chemical form.
Match C₆H₅–COOH; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
US 21 CFR 182.3089 recognizes sorbic acid under good-manufacturing-practice conditions. This is a verified direct-use context; it does not qualify the research-only TCI product or every other listed material for food use. [14]
Merck describes sorbic acid as a preservative in pharmaceutical and cosmetic formulations and offers a product with named compendial claims. This direct-use context still requires lot, formulation and applicable regulatory qualification. [5]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. TCI specifies HPLC area percentage and neutralization titration separately and restricts S0053 to research. Merck 100662 lists Ph. Eur., BP, ChP, NF, FCC and E 200 claims with acidimetric assay on an anhydrous basis. Wako’s titration assay is a separate specification. Do not rank these as equivalent grades.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI AmericaSorbic Acid | Named grade not statedS0053 · 25 gExplicit research-only restriction. Not a food recommendation. | HPLC: minimum 99.0 area% Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0% | 25 g | $19.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: TCI America
| View Product: TCI America, S0053 · 25 g (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedS0053 · 500 gExplicit research-only restriction. Not a food recommendation. | HPLC: minimum 99.0 area% Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0% | 500 g | $45.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, S0053 · 500 g (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-Aldrich / MerckSorbic Acid | EMPROVE ESSENTIAL; Ph. Eur., BP, ChP, NF, FCC, E 2001006625000Compendial claims are manufacturer-listed. Lot qualification and finished-use compliance still require review; acidimetric result is not HPLC area purity. | 99.0–101.0% (acidimetric; anhydrous-substance basis) | 5 kg | $495.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 1006625000 (opens new tab) | |
| EMPROVE ESSENTIAL; Ph. Eur., BP, ChP, NF, FCC, E 2001006629025Compendial claims are manufacturer-listed. Lot qualification and finished-use compliance still require review; acidimetric result is not HPLC area purity. | 99.0–101.0% (acidimetric; anhydrous-substance basis) | 25 kg | $1,790.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, 1006629025 (opens new tab) | |||
| FUJIFILM WakoSorbic Acid | Wako Special Grade190-03732Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. Public retrievals showed inconsistent list prices; no price promoted. Neither chemical assay nor CAS alone establishes food-grade suitability. | 98.0+% (Titration) | 25 g | Public price not verified | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
| View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 190-03732 (opens new tab) | |
| Wako Special Grade194-03735Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. Public retrievals showed inconsistent list prices; no price promoted. Neither chemical assay nor CAS alone establishes food-grade suitability. | 98.0+% (Titration) | 500 g | Public price not verified | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 194-03735 (opens new tab) |
Sorbic Acid
Named grade not stated
Explicit research-only restriction. Not a food recommendation.
Last checked:
Sorbic Acid
EMPROVE ESSENTIAL; Ph. Eur., BP, ChP, NF, FCC, E 200
Compendial claims are manufacturer-listed. Lot qualification and finished-use compliance still require review; acidimetric result is not HPLC area purity.
Last checked:
Sorbic Acid
Wako Special Grade
Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. Public retrievals showed inconsistent list prices; no price promoted. Neither chemical assay nor CAS alone establishes food-grade suitability.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
pKa: OMITTED. HSDB/Kirk-Othmer reports 4.76 at 25 °C without sufficiently explicit solvent, ionic-strength or method context in the retrieved entry. Solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 1.56 g/L at 20 °C and 1.910 g/L at 30 °C retain separate conditions. A 0.25% entry at 30 °C lacks a clearly established percentage basis; it is not converted. Thermal references: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Merck broad 120–150 °C melting and 160–260 °C decomposition ranges are not substituted for the TCI melting specification or a single normal boiling point. Public prices: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Wako retrievals differ for the same packages: 25/57 USD versus 24/54 USD. No price chosen from inconsistent snapshots; request current price.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
Solid at 20 °C. High-temperature listings must retain decomposition; no clean ordinary boiling point is established. [13] [4] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]
pKa: OMITTED. HSDB/Kirk-Othmer reports 4.76 at 25 °C without sufficiently explicit solvent, ionic-strength or method context in the retrieved entry. Solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 1.56 g/L at 20 °C and 1.910 g/L at 30 °C retain separate conditions. A 0.25% entry at 30 °C lacks a clearly established percentage basis; it is not converted. Thermal references: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Merck broad 120–150 °C melting and 160–260 °C decomposition ranges are not substituted for the TCI melting specification or a single normal boiling point. Public prices: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Wako retrievals differ for the same packages: 25/57 USD versus 24/54 USD. No price chosen from inconsistent snapshots; request current price.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
Sorbic acid can irritate skin and eyes; the retrieved TCI US SDS additionally identifies aquatic harm and requires dust controls. Merck identifies a combustible-solid storage class. Qualified food-preservative use does not make raw powder harmless or authorize an unqualified reagent in food. Follow the selected product’s SDS and dust-handling requirements. [4] [5] [6]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab) · TCI America SDS PDF · exact product (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
Two carbon–carbon double bonds alternate with a single bond. Both double bonds have E geometry. Potassium sorbate is a salt with a different formula, molecular weight and commercial specification. [1]
Benzoic acid contains an aromatic ring, while sorbic acid has an open conjugated diene. Both have qualified preservation contexts, but this structural similarity in function does not establish the same solubility, antimicrobial spectrum or formulation suitability. [7]
TCI specifies HPLC area percentage and neutralization titration separately and restricts S0053 to research. Merck 100662 lists Ph. Eur., BP, ChP, NF, FCC and E 200 claims with acidimetric assay on an anhydrous basis. Wako’s titration assay is a separate specification. Do not rank these as equivalent grades. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
pKa: OMITTED. HSDB/Kirk-Othmer reports 4.76 at 25 °C without sufficiently explicit solvent, ionic-strength or method context in the retrieved entry. Solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 1.56 g/L at 20 °C and 1.910 g/L at 30 °C retain separate conditions. A 0.25% entry at 30 °C lacks a clearly established percentage basis; it is not converted. Thermal references: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Merck broad 120–150 °C melting and 160–260 °C decomposition ranges are not substituted for the TCI melting specification or a single normal boiling point. Public prices: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Wako retrievals differ for the same packages: 25/57 USD versus 24/54 USD. No price chosen from inconsistent snapshots; request current price.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Conditions, isomer assignments, decomposition qualifiers and unresolved conflicts reviewed; no aggregate number treated as universal.
Sorbic-acid conditions of use; not a qualification of the supplier products.
pKa: OMITTED. HSDB/Kirk-Othmer reports 4.76 at 25 °C without sufficiently explicit solvent, ionic-strength or method context in the retrieved entry. Solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 1.56 g/L at 20 °C and 1.910 g/L at 30 °C retain separate conditions. A 0.25% entry at 30 °C lacks a clearly established percentage basis; it is not converted. Thermal references: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Merck broad 120–150 °C melting and 160–260 °C decomposition ranges are not substituted for the TCI melting specification or a single normal boiling point. Public prices: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Wako retrievals differ for the same packages: 25/57 USD versus 24/54 USD. No price chosen from inconsistent snapshots; request current price.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.