Polyester-synthesis intermediate
Manufacturer and attributed industrial records identify terephthalic acid as a precursor for PET and PBT polyesters. [5]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 100-21-0
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
Terephthalic acid places two carboxyl groups opposite each other on a benzene ring. It is a polymer precursor; familiar PET bottle and fiber properties belong to the polyester made from it. [1]
Identity focus: Neutral free acid; water and derivatives specified separately. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
The 1,4, or para, arrangement is a molecular-connectivity identity. It is distinct from 1,2 phthalic acid and 1,3 isophthalic acid despite sharing their formula and molecular weight.
Terephthalic acid places two carboxyl groups opposite each other on a benzene ring. It is a polymer precursor; familiar PET bottle and fiber properties belong to the polyester made from it. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — TCI T0166 identifies respiratory irritation and organ damage from prolonged or repeated exposure. Its reviewed European SDS additionally identifies eye irritation and possible dust explosion when powder mixes with air. Do not describe the powder as harmless because it is a PET precursor; obtain current local dust-control and handling instructions. [4] [5] [6] [14]
A condensed structural formula keeps the functional groups visible. [1]
Manufacturer and attributed industrial records identify terephthalic acid as a precursor for PET and PBT polyesters. [5]
Sigma documents terephthalic acid as a linker precursor for metal-organic frameworks. [5]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
The 1,4, or para, arrangement is a molecular-connectivity identity. It is distinct from 1,2 phthalic acid and 1,3 isophthalic acid despite sharing their formula and molecular weight. [1]
Condensation with a diol incorporates terephthalate residues into polyester. Deprotonated carboxylates also serve as linker groups in coordination materials. Neither reaction leaves the finished material chemically identical to free terephthalic acid. [1] [12]
Connectivity and neutral formula identify this acid. Positional isomers, water-containing products, salts and esters require their own specifications. Measured reference conditions, assay methods and unresolved discrepancies remain visible. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | Terephthalic Acid | Isophthalic Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₈H₆O₄ [1] | C₈H₆O₄ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 166.13 g/mol [1] | 166.13 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 8 [1] | 8 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 2 [1] | 2 [7] |
| Structure | 1,4-C₆H₄(COOH)₂ [1] | 1,3-C₆H₄(COOH)₂ [7] |
| Chemical family | Para aromatic dicarboxylic acid [1] | Meta aromatic dicarboxylic acid [7] |
| Identity focus | Neutral free acid; water and derivatives specified separately [1] | Free acid [7] |
Choose terephthalic acid for a target specifying para terephthalate residues; choose isophthalic acid for meta residues or a validated comonomer requirement. Establish process grade, water and other aromatic-acid limits separately from a laboratory assay. [1] [3] [7]
Match 1,4-C₆H₄(COOH)₂ and the method’s required chemical form.
Match 1,3-C₆H₄(COOH)₂; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
Manufacturer and attributed industrial records identify terephthalic acid as a precursor for PET and PBT polyesters. Packaging, fiber and device performance belongs to the finished polymer. [5]
Sigma documents terephthalic acid as a linker precursor for metal-organic frameworks. Performance claims for a particular framework are not direct properties of the unreacted acid. [5]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. Laboratory GC, titration and method-unspecified products are not automatically purified terephthalic acid qualified for an industrial polymer line. Wako 95% capillary GC differs from the 98–99% entries. Confirm para identity and process-specific impurities.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI AmericaTerephthalic Acid | Named grade not statedT0166 · 25 g | GC: minimum 99.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0% | 25 g | $17.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: TCI America
| View Product: TCI America, T0166 · 25 g (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedT0166 · 500 g | GC: minimum 99.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0% | 500 g | $23.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, T0166 · 500 g (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-AldrichTerephthalic Acid | Named grade not stated185361-5GList prices shown; web-only promotional prices were USD 31.70 / 38.33 / 42.67 respectively. No bulk purified-terephthalic-acid process grade inferred. | 98%; method not stated | 5 g | $37.30USD · US public list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, 185361-5G (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not stated185361-100GList prices shown; web-only promotional prices were USD 31.70 / 38.33 / 42.67 respectively. No bulk purified-terephthalic-acid process grade inferred. | 98%; method not stated | 100 g | $45.10USD · US public list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, 185361-100G (opens new tab) | |||
| Named grade not stated185361-500GList prices shown; web-only promotional prices were USD 31.70 / 38.33 / 42.67 respectively. No bulk purified-terephthalic-acid process grade inferred. | 98%; method not stated | 500 g | $50.20USD · US public list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, 185361-500G (opens new tab) | |||
| FUJIFILM WakoTerephthalic Acid | Wako 1st Grade208-08162Research / further manufacturing; confirm US availability separately from Japan stock. | 95.0+% (Capillary GC) | 25 g | $27.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
| View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 208-08162 (opens new tab) | |
| Wako 1st Grade202-08165Research / further manufacturing; confirm US availability separately from Japan stock. | 95.0+% (Capillary GC) | 500 g | $48.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 202-08165 (opens new tab) |
Terephthalic Acid
Named grade not stated
Last checked:
Terephthalic Acid
Named grade not stated
List prices shown; web-only promotional prices were USD 31.70 / 38.33 / 42.67 respectively. No bulk purified-terephthalic-acid process grade inferred.
Last checked:
Terephthalic Acid
Wako 1st Grade
Research / further manufacturing; confirm US availability separately from Japan stock.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
Thermal behavior: CONFLICT RESOLVED. The 427 °C reference is explicitly sealed-tube; NTP reports sublimation without melting under its stated context. No ordinary boiling or open-vessel melting constant promoted. Density: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Sigma gives 1.58 g/cm³ at 25 °C while Kirk-Othmer gives specific gravity 1.522 at 25 °C. Material/method cause not established; main numeric density omitted. Water solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 15 mg/L at 20 °C and about 17 mg/L at 25 °C remain source-specific; NaOH dissolution is a different ionization context. pKa: OMITTED. Compiled pair at 25 °C lacks a fully established solvent/method/ionic-strength context.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
Solid at 20 °C. Sublimation references and a sealed-tube melting reference describe different experimental contexts. [13] [4] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]
Thermal behavior: CONFLICT RESOLVED. The 427 °C reference is explicitly sealed-tube; NTP reports sublimation without melting under its stated context. No ordinary boiling or open-vessel melting constant promoted. Density: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Sigma gives 1.58 g/cm³ at 25 °C while Kirk-Othmer gives specific gravity 1.522 at 25 °C. Material/method cause not established; main numeric density omitted. Water solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 15 mg/L at 20 °C and about 17 mg/L at 25 °C remain source-specific; NaOH dissolution is a different ionization context. pKa: OMITTED. Compiled pair at 25 °C lacks a fully established solvent/method/ionic-strength context.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
TCI T0166 identifies respiratory irritation and organ damage from prolonged or repeated exposure. Its reviewed European SDS additionally identifies eye irritation and possible dust explosion when powder mixes with air. Do not describe the powder as harmless because it is a PET precursor; obtain current local dust-control and handling instructions. [4] [5] [6] [14]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
The 1,4, or para, arrangement is a molecular-connectivity identity. It is distinct from 1,2 phthalic acid and 1,3 isophthalic acid despite sharing their formula and molecular weight. [1]
The para and meta acids differ in attachment geometry, changing the repeat-unit connectivity. This does not establish a universal stiffness, melting or process-performance ranking for every finished polymer. [7]
Laboratory GC, titration and method-unspecified products are not automatically purified terephthalic acid qualified for an industrial polymer line. Wako 95% capillary GC differs from the 98–99% entries. Confirm para identity and process-specific impurities. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
Thermal behavior: CONFLICT RESOLVED. The 427 °C reference is explicitly sealed-tube; NTP reports sublimation without melting under its stated context. No ordinary boiling or open-vessel melting constant promoted. Density: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Sigma gives 1.58 g/cm³ at 25 °C while Kirk-Othmer gives specific gravity 1.522 at 25 °C. Material/method cause not established; main numeric density omitted. Water solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 15 mg/L at 20 °C and about 17 mg/L at 25 °C remain source-specific; NaOH dissolution is a different ionization context. pKa: OMITTED. Compiled pair at 25 °C lacks a fully established solvent/method/ionic-strength context.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Attributed references and conditions reviewed; unsupported estimates and cross-isomer data excluded.
2018 European product SDS hazard contents reviewed; historical document, not confirmation of current US classification.
Thermal behavior: CONFLICT RESOLVED. The 427 °C reference is explicitly sealed-tube; NTP reports sublimation without melting under its stated context. No ordinary boiling or open-vessel melting constant promoted. Density: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Sigma gives 1.58 g/cm³ at 25 °C while Kirk-Othmer gives specific gravity 1.522 at 25 °C. Material/method cause not established; main numeric density omitted. Water solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 15 mg/L at 20 °C and about 17 mg/L at 25 °C remain source-specific; NaOH dissolution is a different ionization context. pKa: OMITTED. Compiled pair at 25 °C lacks a fully established solvent/method/ionic-strength context.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.