Polyester synthesis intermediate
Sigma describes sebacic acid in poly(glycerol sebacate) synthesis. [5]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 111-20-6
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
Sebacic acid is the ten-carbon saturated diacid. Its role as a polymer precursor must be separated from claims about a finished nylon, polyester or lubricant. [1]
Identity focus: Free acid. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
Eight methylene groups connect its two terminal carboxyl groups. Decanedioic acid is distinct from decanoic acid, which has only one carboxyl group.
Sebacic acid is the ten-carbon saturated diacid. Its role as a polymer precursor must be separated from claims about a finished nylon, polyester or lubricant. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — TCI S0022 identifies skin and eye irritation. Avoid dust and contact exposure, and obtain the current SDS for the actual grade. Sigma’s combustible-solid storage category is not a declaration of absence of health hazards; no benign classification is inferred from a blank catalog hazard field. [4] [5] [6]
A condensed structural formula keeps the functional groups visible. [1]
Sigma describes sebacic acid in poly(glycerol sebacate) synthesis. [5]
The manufacturer identifies sebacic acid in nylon synthesis, including polyamide 5.10 research. [5]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
Eight methylene groups connect its two terminal carboxyl groups. Decanedioic acid is distinct from decanoic acid, which has only one carboxyl group. [1]
The two acid groups allow condensation with diols or diamines. A sebacate ester or a polymer containing sebacate residues has a different identity and specification from the solid free acid. [1] [12]
The neutral formula and molecular connectivity specify the free acid. A salt, ester, polymer, solution or carbonyl-hydration equilibrium requires its own description. Property references retain product, temperature, pressure and unresolved measurement qualifiers. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | Sebacic Acid | Azelaic Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₁₀H₁₈O₄ [1] | C₉H₁₆O₄ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 202.25 g/mol [1] | 188.22 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 10 [1] | 9 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 2 [1] | 2 [7] |
| Structure | HOOC–(CH₂)₈–COOH [1] | HOOC–(CH₂)₇–COOH [7] |
| Chemical family | Saturated aliphatic dicarboxylic acid [1] | Saturated aliphatic dicarboxylic acid [7] |
| Identity focus | Free acid [1] | Free acid [7] |
Choose sebacic acid for a synthesis validated for the ten-carbon diacid. Choose azelaic acid when its nine-carbon residue is required. Resolve water and other-diacid limits, stoichiometry and the assay basis before considering substitution. [1] [3] [7]
Match HOOC–(CH₂)₈–COOH and the method’s required chemical form.
Match HOOC–(CH₂)₇–COOH; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
Sigma describes sebacic acid in poly(glycerol sebacate) synthesis. Biomedical material properties concern the resulting polyester and its validation, not free sebacic acid. [5]
The manufacturer identifies sebacic acid in nylon synthesis, including polyamide 5.10 research. This is an intermediate role; it does not make the raw powder a finished engineering plastic. [5]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. TCI lists minimum 98% GC and titration; Wako 1st Grade specifies 97% titration; Sigma states 99% without a retrieved assay method. Sigma’s 250 g list and promotional prices are labeled separately. Mass packages do not establish identical impurity or processing specifications.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI AmericaSebacic Acid | Named grade not statedS0022 · 25 g | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0% | 25 g | $18.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: TCI America
| View Product: TCI America, S0022 · 25 g (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedS0022 · 500 g | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0% | 500 g | $40.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, S0022 · 500 g (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-AldrichSebacic Acid | Named grade not stated283258-5G250 g list price shown; retrieved page also showed promotional USD 46.58. Confirm current offer conditions. | 99%; assay method not stated | 5 g | $43.50USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, 283258-5G (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not stated283258-250G250 g list price shown; retrieved page also showed promotional USD 46.58. Confirm current offer conditions. | 99%; assay method not stated | 250 g | $54.80USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, 283258-250G (opens new tab) | |||
| Named grade not stated283258-1KG250 g list price shown; retrieved page also showed promotional USD 46.58. Confirm current offer conditions. | 99%; assay method not stated | 1 kg | $102.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, 283258-1KG (opens new tab) | |||
| FUJIFILM WakoSebacic Acid | Wako 1st Grade196-00272Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. | 97.0+% (Titration) | 25 g | $37.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
| View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 196-00272 (opens new tab) | |
| Wako 1st Grade190-00275Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. | 97.0+% (Titration) | 500 g | $59.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 190-00275 (opens new tab) |
Sebacic Acid
Named grade not stated
Last checked:
Sebacic Acid
Named grade not stated
250 g list price shown; retrieved page also showed promotional USD 46.58. Confirm current offer conditions.
Last checked:
Sebacic Acid
Wako 1st Grade
Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
pKa / density: OMITTED. A sufficiently documented stepwise aqueous pKa pair and matched density measurement were not verified. Relative-density references without a fully matched basis are not converted into a room-temperature density. Boiling point: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 294.5–295 °C is reported at 100 mmHg; Wako’s pressure-free boiling entry is not treated as atmospheric. Water solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 1 g/L at 20 °C is a supplier reference, not a measured saturation or lot result established by this review.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
Solid at 20 °C. A familiar 295 °C boiling reference belongs to reduced pressure; dropping its 100 mmHg qualifier would misstate the property. [13] [4] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]
pKa / density: OMITTED. A sufficiently documented stepwise aqueous pKa pair and matched density measurement were not verified. Relative-density references without a fully matched basis are not converted into a room-temperature density. Boiling point: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 294.5–295 °C is reported at 100 mmHg; Wako’s pressure-free boiling entry is not treated as atmospheric. Water solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 1 g/L at 20 °C is a supplier reference, not a measured saturation or lot result established by this review.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
TCI S0022 identifies skin and eye irritation. Avoid dust and contact exposure, and obtain the current SDS for the actual grade. Sigma’s combustible-solid storage category is not a declaration of absence of health hazards; no benign classification is inferred from a blank catalog hazard field. [4] [5] [6]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
Eight methylene groups connect its two terminal carboxyl groups. Decanedioic acid is distinct from decanoic acid, which has only one carboxyl group. [1]
Azelaic acid has seven methylene groups between its carboxyl groups; sebacic acid has eight. A change in this spacer changes the repeat unit, even when both products meet a similar acidimetric assay. [7]
TCI lists minimum 98% GC and titration; Wako 1st Grade specifies 97% titration; Sigma states 99% without a retrieved assay method. Sigma’s 250 g list and promotional prices are labeled separately. Mass packages do not establish identical impurity or processing specifications. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
pKa / density: OMITTED. A sufficiently documented stepwise aqueous pKa pair and matched density measurement were not verified. Relative-density references without a fully matched basis are not converted into a room-temperature density. Boiling point: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 294.5–295 °C is reported at 100 mmHg; Wako’s pressure-free boiling entry is not treated as atmospheric. Water solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 1 g/L at 20 °C is a supplier reference, not a measured saturation or lot result established by this review.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Only supported attributed references retained; source or method gaps and unresolved conflicts are stated.
pKa / density: OMITTED. A sufficiently documented stepwise aqueous pKa pair and matched density measurement were not verified. Relative-density references without a fully matched basis are not converted into a room-temperature density. Boiling point: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 294.5–295 °C is reported at 100 mmHg; Wako’s pressure-free boiling entry is not treated as atmospheric. Water solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 1 g/L at 20 °C is a supplier reference, not a measured saturation or lot result established by this review.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.