Polymer and plasticizer intermediates
Manufacturer descriptions identify azelaic acid as a monomer for polyesters and related plasticizer synthesis. [5]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 123-99-9
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
Azelaic acid is a nine-carbon saturated diacid with verified polymer-intermediate and formulated-drug contexts. Those contexts require different product qualifications. [1]
Identity focus: Free acid. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
Seven CH₂ groups separate its two carboxyl groups. There is no alkene or stereocenter in the neutral free-acid identity.
Azelaic acid is a nine-carbon saturated diacid with verified polymer-intermediate and formulated-drug contexts. Those contexts require different product qualifications. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — Sigma 246379 classifies skin and eye irritation; TCI A1318 identifies serious eye irritation. Control dust and contact exposure for the supplied solid. The prescription-gel label reports formulation-specific irritation and other precautions; it is neither a raw-acid SDS nor a reason to minimize reagent hazards. [4] [5] [6]
A condensed structural formula keeps the functional groups visible. [1]
Manufacturer descriptions identify azelaic acid as a monomer for polyesters and related plasticizer synthesis. [5]
The reviewed US label specifies azelaic acid at 15% w/w in a prescription gel for inflammatory papules and pustules of mild to moderate rosacea. [14]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
Seven CH₂ groups separate its two carboxyl groups. There is no alkene or stereocenter in the neutral free-acid identity. [1]
Condensation reactions incorporate azelate residues into polymers. In a pharmaceutical gel, azelaic acid is instead the active ingredient in a specified formulation. Neither identity relationship establishes that a general reagent is suitable for patient use. [1] [12]
The neutral formula and molecular connectivity specify the free acid. A salt, ester, polymer, solution or carbonyl-hydration equilibrium requires its own description. Property references retain product, temperature, pressure and unresolved measurement qualifiers. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | Azelaic Acid | Sebacic Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₉H₁₆O₄ [1] | C₁₀H₁₈O₄ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 188.22 g/mol [1] | 202.25 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 9 [1] | 10 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 2 [1] | 2 [7] |
| Structure | HOOC–(CH₂)₇–COOH [1] | HOOC–(CH₂)₈–COOH [7] |
| Chemical family | Saturated aliphatic dicarboxylic acid [1] | Saturated aliphatic dicarboxylic acid [7] |
| Identity focus | Free acid [1] | Free acid [7] |
Choose azelaic acid when the validated synthetic target or qualified formulation requires it. Choose sebacic acid for its ten-carbon residue. For pharmaceutical sourcing, establish the required compendial, impurity and quality-system documentation separately from chemical assay. [1] [3] [7]
Match HOOC–(CH₂)₇–COOH and the method’s required chemical form.
Match HOOC–(CH₂)₈–COOH; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
Manufacturer descriptions identify azelaic acid as a monomer for polyesters and related plasticizer synthesis. Polymer and plasticizer performance belongs to the derivative or finished material. [5]
The reviewed US label specifies azelaic acid at 15% w/w in a prescription gel for inflammatory papules and pustules of mild to moderate rosacea. This direct formulated use does not qualify the displayed reagent powders for treatment. [14]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. TCI’s verified Austria-facing prices are EUR; Sigma and Wako listings are US dollar catalogs. Wako Practical Grade 95% titration is not equivalent to a 98% reagent or a pharmaceutical specification. No currency conversion or supplier-price ranking is supplied.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI EuropeAzelaic Acid | Named grade not statedA1318 · 25 gAustria-facing TCI Europe listing verified; US listing was not retrievable. No currency conversion or cross-market ranking. | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0% | 25 g | €23.00EUR · Austria / European public price | Not comparedDifferent currency / market | Document notes: TCI Europe
| View Product: TCI Europe, A1318 · 25 g (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedA1318 · 250 gAustria-facing TCI Europe listing verified; US listing was not retrievable. No currency conversion or cross-market ranking. | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0% | 250 g | €142.00EUR · Austria / European public price | Not comparedDifferent currency / market | View Product: TCI Europe, A1318 · 250 g (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-AldrichAzelaic Acid | Named grade not stated246379-25G | 98%; assay method not stated | 25 g | $73.70USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, 246379-25G (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not stated246379-100G | 98%; assay method not stated | 100 g | $190.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, 246379-100G (opens new tab) | |||
| FUJIFILM WakoAzelaic Acid | Practical Grade012-08442Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. A different assay threshold and grade from the 98% products; not an equivalent pharmaceutical raw material. | 95.0+% (Titration) | 25 g | $27.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
| View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 012-08442 (opens new tab) |
Azelaic Acid
Named grade not stated
Austria-facing TCI Europe listing verified; US listing was not retrievable. No currency conversion or cross-market ranking.
Last checked:
Azelaic Acid
Named grade not stated
Last checked:
Azelaic Acid
Practical Grade
Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. A different assay threshold and grade from the 98% products; not an equivalent pharmaceutical raw material.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
Melting point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB attributes 160.5 °C to CRC, whereas direct supplier references/specifications span about 100–111 °C. A transcription or identity cause was not established. The disputed literature number is not promoted as a constant; product specification is labeled separately. pKa: OMITTED. A compiled 4.55 does not establish the second dissociation or a matched temperature, ionic strength and method. No universal pair supplied. Boiling / decomposition: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 286–287 °C references are at 100 mmHg. Atmospheric heating records around 360 °C include decomposition or anhydride formation and are not clean boiling constants. Higher-temperature solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Compiled records give both 8.2 and 22 g/L at 50 °C without a resolved basis/method explanation. Those values are excluded.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
Solid at 20 °C. Literature melting entries conflict materially; the retained melting range is explicitly a TCI product specification. [13] [4] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]
Melting point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB attributes 160.5 °C to CRC, whereas direct supplier references/specifications span about 100–111 °C. A transcription or identity cause was not established. The disputed literature number is not promoted as a constant; product specification is labeled separately. pKa: OMITTED. A compiled 4.55 does not establish the second dissociation or a matched temperature, ionic strength and method. No universal pair supplied. Boiling / decomposition: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 286–287 °C references are at 100 mmHg. Atmospheric heating records around 360 °C include decomposition or anhydride formation and are not clean boiling constants. Higher-temperature solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Compiled records give both 8.2 and 22 g/L at 50 °C without a resolved basis/method explanation. Those values are excluded.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
Sigma 246379 classifies skin and eye irritation; TCI A1318 identifies serious eye irritation. Control dust and contact exposure for the supplied solid. The prescription-gel label reports formulation-specific irritation and other precautions; it is neither a raw-acid SDS nor a reason to minimize reagent hazards. [4] [5] [6]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
Seven CH₂ groups separate its two carboxyl groups. There is no alkene or stereocenter in the neutral free-acid identity. [1]
Sebacic acid contains one additional methylene. Both are saturated diacids, but their polymer residues and product specifications differ. A known azelaic-acid drug label does not establish a corresponding drug use for sebacic acid. [7]
TCI’s verified Austria-facing prices are EUR; Sigma and Wako listings are US dollar catalogs. Wako Practical Grade 95% titration is not equivalent to a 98% reagent or a pharmaceutical specification. No currency conversion or supplier-price ranking is supplied. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
Melting point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB attributes 160.5 °C to CRC, whereas direct supplier references/specifications span about 100–111 °C. A transcription or identity cause was not established. The disputed literature number is not promoted as a constant; product specification is labeled separately. pKa: OMITTED. A compiled 4.55 does not establish the second dissociation or a matched temperature, ionic strength and method. No universal pair supplied. Boiling / decomposition: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 286–287 °C references are at 100 mmHg. Atmospheric heating records around 360 °C include decomposition or anhydride formation and are not clean boiling constants. Higher-temperature solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Compiled records give both 8.2 and 22 g/L at 50 °C without a resolved basis/method explanation. Those values are excluded.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Only supported attributed references retained; source or method gaps and unresolved conflicts are stated.
December 2025 label: exact indication, 15% w/w formulation and product precautions verified.
Melting point: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. HSDB attributes 160.5 °C to CRC, whereas direct supplier references/specifications span about 100–111 °C. A transcription or identity cause was not established. The disputed literature number is not promoted as a constant; product specification is labeled separately. pKa: OMITTED. A compiled 4.55 does not establish the second dissociation or a matched temperature, ionic strength and method. No universal pair supplied. Boiling / decomposition: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 286–287 °C references are at 100 mmHg. Atmospheric heating records around 360 °C include decomposition or anhydride formation and are not clean boiling constants. Higher-temperature solubility: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. Compiled records give both 8.2 and 22 g/L at 50 °C without a resolved basis/method explanation. Those values are excluded.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.