Polyester research intermediate
A peer-reviewed study synthesized polyester-5,7 from pimelic acid and 1,5-pentanediol by polycondensation. [14]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 111-16-0
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
Pimelic acid is the seven-carbon diacid. Its five-methylene spacer is useful for describing a synthetic target; it does not establish the properties of a finished polymer or a biological supplement. [1]
Identity focus: Free acid. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
Two carboxyl groups terminate a chain containing five CH₂ groups. The neutral free acid is achiral and has no carbon–carbon double bond.
Pimelic acid is the seven-carbon diacid. Its five-methylene spacer is useful for describing a synthetic target; it does not establish the properties of a finished polymer or a biological supplement. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — TCI P0435 classifies pimelic acid as causing skin and eye irritation. Handle the solid with controls for dust and contact exposure. An enzyme-substrate or polymer-research role does not reduce the raw-material hazard or establish suitability for human use. [4] [5] [6]
A condensed structural formula keeps the functional groups visible. [1]
A peer-reviewed study synthesized polyester-5,7 from pimelic acid and 1,5-pentanediol by polycondensation. [14]
A biochemical study measured pimelic acid as a substrate for a purified pimeloyl-CoA synthetase. [15]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
Two carboxyl groups terminate a chain containing five CH₂ groups. The neutral free acid is achiral and has no carbon–carbon double bond. [1]
Both COOH groups can participate in condensation chemistry. In a polyester, pimelic acid supplies a diacid residue rather than remaining as a free-acid additive. Its two stepwise dissociations also differ from measuring total acid equivalents by titration. [1] [12]
The neutral formula and molecular connectivity specify the free acid. A salt, ester, polymer, solution or carbonyl-hydration equilibrium requires its own description. Property references retain product, temperature, pressure and unresolved measurement qualifiers. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | Pimelic Acid | Adipic Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₇H₁₂O₄ [1] | C₆H₁₀O₄ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 160.17 g/mol [1] | 146.14 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 7 [1] | 6 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 2 [1] | 2 [7] |
| Structure | HOOC–(CH₂)₅–COOH [1] | HOOC–(CH₂)₄–COOH [7] |
| Chemical family | Saturated aliphatic dicarboxylic acid [1] | Dicarboxylic acid [7] |
| Identity focus | Free acid [1] | Solid [7] |
Choose pimelic acid when the target specifies the seven-carbon diacid, and adipic acid when it specifies the six-carbon diacid. Confirm residual water, other diacids and the required assay method against the actual condensation process. [1] [3] [7]
Match HOOC–(CH₂)₅–COOH and the method’s required chemical form.
Match HOOC–(CH₂)₄–COOH; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
A peer-reviewed study synthesized polyester-5,7 from pimelic acid and 1,5-pentanediol by polycondensation. Degradation and biomedical potential were studied for the polymer; the free acid is not a qualified implant material. [14]
A biochemical study measured pimelic acid as a substrate for a purified pimeloyl-CoA synthetase. This is a specific laboratory and biological context, not a verified therapeutic or nutritional use. [15]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. TCI lists GC and neutralization titration independently. Wako states 99% titration without a named grade. Sigma’s 98% assay method is unstated, and its 25 g page shows both a list price and a web promotion; no lowest-price ranking is supplied.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI AmericaPimelic Acid | Named grade not statedP0435 · 25 g | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0% | 25 g | $55.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: TCI America
| View Product: TCI America, P0435 · 25 g (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedP0435 · 100 g | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0% | 100 g | $159.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, P0435 · 100 g (opens new tab) | |||
| Named grade not statedP0435 · 500 g | GC: minimum 98.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 98.0% | 500 g | $573.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, P0435 · 500 g (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-AldrichPimelic Acid | Named grade not statedP45001-25G25 g list price is shown here; the retrieved page also showed a web-only promotional price of USD 78.75. Offer eligibility and timing require confirmation. | 98%; assay method not stated | 25 g | $105.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, P45001-25G (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedP45001-100G25 g list price is shown here; the retrieved page also showed a web-only promotional price of USD 78.75. Offer eligibility and timing require confirmation. | 98%; assay method not stated | 100 g | $241.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, P45001-100G (opens new tab) | |||
| FUJIFILM WakoPimelic Acid | Named grade not stated161-02701Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. 1 g showed out of stock. No Wako Special Grade claim inferred. | 99.0+% (Titration) | 1 g | $39.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
| View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 161-02701 (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not stated167-02703Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. 1 g showed out of stock. No Wako Special Grade claim inferred. | 99.0+% (Titration) | 10 g | $81.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 167-02703 (opens new tab) | |||
| Named grade not stated169-02702Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. 1 g showed out of stock. No Wako Special Grade claim inferred. | 99.0+% (Titration) | 25 g | $149.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 169-02702 (opens new tab) |
Pimelic Acid
Named grade not stated
Last checked:
Pimelic Acid
Named grade not stated
25 g list price is shown here; the retrieved page also showed a web-only promotional price of USD 78.75. Offer eligibility and timing require confirmation.
Last checked:
Pimelic Acid
Named grade not stated
Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. 1 g showed out of stock. No Wako Special Grade claim inferred.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
pKa: OMITTED. A compiled 4.51 at 25 °C was located through a secondary depositor, without a sufficiently verified second dissociation or measurement context. No universal pair promoted. Boiling point: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 215 °C at 17 mmHg and 212 °C at 10 mmHg must retain their different pressures. Neither is an atmospheric constant. Water solubility / density: OMITTED. TCI gives qualitative water solubility. A saturation measurement and a matched density measurement were not verified.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
Solid at 20 °C. Supplier melting ranges are product specifications or literature references, rather than a certificate for an individual lot. [13] [4] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]
pKa: OMITTED. A compiled 4.51 at 25 °C was located through a secondary depositor, without a sufficiently verified second dissociation or measurement context. No universal pair promoted. Boiling point: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 215 °C at 17 mmHg and 212 °C at 10 mmHg must retain their different pressures. Neither is an atmospheric constant. Water solubility / density: OMITTED. TCI gives qualitative water solubility. A saturation measurement and a matched density measurement were not verified.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
TCI P0435 classifies pimelic acid as causing skin and eye irritation. Handle the solid with controls for dust and contact exposure. An enzyme-substrate or polymer-research role does not reduce the raw-material hazard or establish suitability for human use. [4] [5] [6]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
Two carboxyl groups terminate a chain containing five CH₂ groups. The neutral free acid is achiral and has no carbon–carbon double bond. [1]
Adipic acid has a four-methylene spacer; pimelic acid has five. The extra methylene changes the repeat-unit identity. Similar titration percentages do not justify substituting one polymer precursor for the other. [7]
TCI lists GC and neutralization titration independently. Wako states 99% titration without a named grade. Sigma’s 98% assay method is unstated, and its 25 g page shows both a list price and a web promotion; no lowest-price ranking is supplied. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
pKa: OMITTED. A compiled 4.51 at 25 °C was located through a secondary depositor, without a sufficiently verified second dissociation or measurement context. No universal pair promoted. Boiling point: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 215 °C at 17 mmHg and 212 °C at 10 mmHg must retain their different pressures. Neither is an atmospheric constant. Water solubility / density: OMITTED. TCI gives qualitative water solubility. A saturation measurement and a matched density measurement were not verified.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Only supported attributed references retained; source or method gaps and unresolved conflicts are stated.
Abstract identifies pimelic acid and 1,5-pentanediol polycondensation; full article not reviewed.
Abstract verifies pimelic-acid substrate measurements; no therapeutic claim derived.
pKa: OMITTED. A compiled 4.51 at 25 °C was located through a secondary depositor, without a sufficiently verified second dissociation or measurement context. No universal pair promoted. Boiling point: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 215 °C at 17 mmHg and 212 °C at 10 mmHg must retain their different pressures. Neither is an atmospheric constant. Water solubility / density: OMITTED. TCI gives qualitative water solubility. A saturation measurement and a matched density measurement were not verified.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.