Analytical-standard context
Supelco 75462 is explicitly sold as a neat suberic-acid analytical standard with a GC assay. [14]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 505-48-6
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
Suberic acid is the eight-carbon saturated diacid. Analytical-standard products and activated suberate crosslinkers are separate commercial identities that must not be folded into a general reagent claim. [1]
Identity focus: Free acid. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
Six methylene groups connect two terminal carboxyl groups. Octanedioic acid is the free acid; disuccinimidyl suberate is a chemically activated ester derivative.
Suberic acid is the eight-carbon saturated diacid. Analytical-standard products and activated suberate crosslinkers are separate commercial identities that must not be folded into a general reagent claim. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — TCI O0023 identifies skin and eye irritation; Sigma S5200 identifies serious eye irritation. Dust and contact exposure require controls for the supplied solid. SDS classification must be obtained for the exact product; a derivative’s SDS is not substituted for free suberic acid. [4] [5] [6]
A condensed structural formula keeps the functional groups visible. [1]
Supelco 75462 is explicitly sold as a neat suberic-acid analytical standard with a GC assay. [14]
Sigma S1885 identifies suberic acid bis(N-hydroxysuccinimide ester), also called DSS, as an amine-reactive crosslinker. [15]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
Six methylene groups connect two terminal carboxyl groups. Octanedioic acid is the free acid; disuccinimidyl suberate is a chemically activated ester derivative. [1]
The free carboxyl groups can form salts and esters. An NHS-ester crosslinker has different reactive end groups and a different formula from suberic acid. Its amine-coupling activity is not an activity specification for the unactivated free acid. [1] [12]
The neutral formula and molecular connectivity specify the free acid. A salt, ester, polymer, solution or carbonyl-hydration equilibrium requires its own description. Property references retain product, temperature, pressure and unresolved measurement qualifiers. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | Suberic Acid | Pimelic Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₈H₁₄O₄ [1] | C₇H₁₂O₄ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 174.19 g/mol [1] | 160.17 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 8 [1] | 7 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 2 [1] | 2 [7] |
| Structure | HOOC–(CH₂)₆–COOH [1] | HOOC–(CH₂)₅–COOH [7] |
| Chemical family | Saturated aliphatic dicarboxylic acid [1] | Saturated aliphatic dicarboxylic acid [7] |
| Identity focus | Free acid [1] | Free acid [7] |
Choose suberic acid for an eight-carbon free-diacid target or a qualified analytical-standard requirement. Choose pimelic acid for the seven-carbon target. If a protocol specifies DSS, obtain that exact activated derivative rather than either free acid. [1] [3] [7]
Match HOOC–(CH₂)₆–COOH and the method’s required chemical form.
Match HOOC–(CH₂)₅–COOH; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
Supelco 75462 is explicitly sold as a neat suberic-acid analytical standard with a GC assay. This verifies a direct analytical context, but does not make the three general-reagent listings certified standards or food ingredients. [14]
Sigma S1885 identifies suberic acid bis(N-hydroxysuccinimide ester), also called DSS, as an amine-reactive crosslinker. This is a verified derivative use; free suberic acid is not the crosslinking reagent. [15]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. TCI’s 99% GC and titration thresholds, Wako’s 98% titration and Sigma’s method-unspecified 98% are separate specifications. An analytical-standard grade from Supelco 75462 is not transferred to Sigma S5200 or another reagent.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI AmericaSuberic Acid | Named grade not statedO0023 · 25 g | GC: minimum 99.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0% | 25 g | $28.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: TCI America
| View Product: TCI America, O0023 · 25 g (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedO0023 · 100 g | GC: minimum 99.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0% | 100 g | $63.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, O0023 · 100 g (opens new tab) | |||
| Named grade not statedO0023 · 500 g | GC: minimum 99.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 99.0% | 500 g | $189.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, O0023 · 500 g (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-AldrichSuberic Acid | Named grade not statedS5200-5G | 98%; assay method not stated | 5 g | $73.30USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, S5200-5G (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedS5200-100G | 98%; assay method not stated | 100 g | $116.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, S5200-100G (opens new tab) | |||
| Named grade not statedS5200-500G | 98%; assay method not stated | 500 g | $173.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich, S5200-500G (opens new tab) | |||
| FUJIFILM WakoSuberic Acid | Wako Special Grade196-04312Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability. | 98.0+% (Titration) | 25 g | $78.00USD · US catalog list price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: FUJIFILM Wako
| View Product: FUJIFILM Wako, 196-04312 (opens new tab) |
Suberic Acid
Named grade not stated
Last checked:
Suberic Acid
Named grade not stated
Last checked:
Suberic Acid
Wako Special Grade
Research / further manufacturing. Japan stock does not confirm US availability.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
pKa / density: OMITTED. A sufficiently documented stepwise aqueous pKa pair and matched solid-density measurement were not verified. Boiling point: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. The retrieved 279 °C / 100 mmHg and 230 °C / 15 mmHg references differ in pressure. No pressure-free numeric comparison promoted. Water solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 1.6 g/L at 20 °C is a supplier reference with unstated method; do not treat it as a lot measurement.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
Solid at 20 °C. Reported boiling references are at reduced pressure and cannot be interpreted as ambient-pressure boiling temperatures. [13] [4] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]
pKa / density: OMITTED. A sufficiently documented stepwise aqueous pKa pair and matched solid-density measurement were not verified. Boiling point: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. The retrieved 279 °C / 100 mmHg and 230 °C / 15 mmHg references differ in pressure. No pressure-free numeric comparison promoted. Water solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 1.6 g/L at 20 °C is a supplier reference with unstated method; do not treat it as a lot measurement.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
TCI O0023 identifies skin and eye irritation; Sigma S5200 identifies serious eye irritation. Dust and contact exposure require controls for the supplied solid. SDS classification must be obtained for the exact product; a derivative’s SDS is not substituted for free suberic acid. [4] [5] [6]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
Six methylene groups connect two terminal carboxyl groups. Octanedioic acid is the free acid; disuccinimidyl suberate is a chemically activated ester derivative. [1]
Suberic acid adds one methylene to pimelic acid. That changes the diacid residue incorporated by a synthesis. Neither acid can be substituted for an activated crosslinker merely because a product name includes suberate. [7]
TCI’s 99% GC and titration thresholds, Wako’s 98% titration and Sigma’s method-unspecified 98% are separate specifications. An analytical-standard grade from Supelco 75462 is not transferred to Sigma S5200 or another reagent. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
pKa / density: OMITTED. A sufficiently documented stepwise aqueous pKa pair and matched solid-density measurement were not verified. Boiling point: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. The retrieved 279 °C / 100 mmHg and 230 °C / 15 mmHg references differ in pressure. No pressure-free numeric comparison promoted. Water solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 1.6 g/L at 20 °C is a supplier reference with unstated method; do not treat it as a lot measurement.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Only supported attributed references retained; source or method gaps and unresolved conflicts are stated.
Neat analytical-standard grade and GC assay verified; not included in the general-reagent price table.
Distinct derivative CAS, formula and amine-reactive crosslinker role reviewed.
pKa / density: OMITTED. A sufficiently documented stepwise aqueous pKa pair and matched solid-density measurement were not verified. Boiling point: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. The retrieved 279 °C / 100 mmHg and 230 °C / 15 mmHg references differ in pressure. No pressure-free numeric comparison promoted. Water solubility: CONDITION-DEPENDENT. 1.6 g/L at 20 °C is a supplier reference with unstated method; do not treat it as a lot measurement.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.