Levulinate protecting-group precursor
TCI documents levulinic acid in literature describing hydroxyl-protecting levulinate esters. [4]
CHEMICAL PROFILE CAS 123-76-2
Properties, Uses, pKa, Safety,
Comparisons & Suppliers
Levulinic acid is a five-carbon keto acid with the ketone at carbon 4 when numbered from COOH. Its melting region is close to room temperature, so commercial form and handling temperature need attention. [1]
Identity focus: Free acid. Aqueous pKa values depend on conditions; product assay is a separate measurement.
THE ESSENTIALS
Two CH₂ groups separate the carboxyl carbon from the ketone carbon. This is a gamma-keto acid, not the adjacent alpha-keto arrangement of pyruvic acid; the neutral identity is achiral.
Levulinic acid is a five-carbon keto acid with the ketone at carbon 4 when numbered from COOH. Its melting region is close to room temperature, so commercial form and handling temperature need attention. [1] [3]
Safety at a glance — TCI L0042 identifies harmful ingestion, severe burns/eye damage and metal corrosion. Sigma W262701 identifies harmful ingestion, skin sensitization and serious eye damage. Keep the sensitization warning despite food/fragrance-grade terminology. Physical state can change near ambient temperature, so follow exact-product handling and storage instructions. [4] [5] [6]
A condensed structural formula keeps the functional groups visible. [1]
TCI documents levulinic acid in literature describing hydroxyl-protecting levulinate esters. [4]
Sigma W262701 explicitly carries FG/fragrance-grade claims and manufacturer JECFA/IFRA context. [5]
The supplier section separates package size, assay, grade, and market context for three named products. [4] [5] [6]
GO A LITTLE DEEPER
Two CH₂ groups separate the carboxyl carbon from the ketone carbon. This is a gamma-keto acid, not the adjacent alpha-keto arrangement of pyruvic acid; the neutral identity is achiral. [1]
Its carboxyl and ketone groups support distinct chemistry. A levulinate protecting group is an ester formed from the acid and an alcohol. The ester performs the protecting-group role; the unreacted acid is the precursor. [1] [12]
The molecular formula specifies the neutral free acid. A commercial solution, salt, ester or anhydride needs its own composition and specification. Quantitative references retain temperature, pressure, product identity and unresolved method qualifiers. [1] [2] [4] [5] [6]
Acid–base reference values describe equilibria under specified conditions. They are not a substitute for a validated formulation or an assay on the purchased lot.
MAKE THE CONNECTION
Similar names and functional groups do not mean interchangeable chemicals.
SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON
Fixed comparison for this prototype. Acid selectors are disabled; additional comparisons are coming later.
| Property | Levulinic Acid | Pyruvic Acid |
|---|---|---|
| Molecular formula | C₅H₈O₃ [1] | C₃H₄O₃ [7] |
| Molecular weight | 116.11 g/mol [1] | 88.06 g/mol [7] |
| Carbon atoms | 5 [1] | 3 [7] |
| Carboxyl groups | 1 [1] | 1 [7] |
| Structure | CH₃–C(=O)–CH₂–CH₂–COOH [1] | CH₃–C(=O)–COOH [7] |
| Chemical family | Gamma-oxo monocarboxylic acid [1] | Alpha-oxo monocarboxylic acid [7] |
| Identity focus | Free acid [1] | Free acid [7] |
Choose levulinic acid when a method specifies its five-carbon gamma-keto residue or levulinate ester formation. Choose pyruvic acid for an alpha-keto target. Establish intended grade and temperature-dependent form before comparing packages or making a formulation claim. [1] [3] [7]
Match CH₃–C(=O)–CH₂–CH₂–COOH and the method’s required chemical form.
Match CH₃–C(=O)–COOH; verify the identity before substituting a related acid.
Before choosing: match the reaction or formulation, then verify the exact form, grade, assay basis, and impurities. These contexts do not establish suitability for an industrial or regulated application.
FROM STRUCTURE TO APPLICATION
TCI documents levulinic acid in literature describing hydroxyl-protecting levulinate esters. The acid is an intermediate used to form the protecting ester; the free acid itself is not the protected substrate. [4]
Sigma W262701 explicitly carries FG/fragrance-grade claims and manufacturer JECFA/IFRA context. This verifies a qualified direct-use context for that product, subject to intended-use requirements and lot documentation; it does not qualify the general reagents. [5]
SOURCE WITH CONTEXT
Compare specific products and package options. Listings are not ranked recommendations.
Package sizes stay grouped under the supplier product. Assay methods, product forms, and regional markets remain visible. TCI’s 97% GC and titration product, Sigma’s natural FG 99% method-unspecified product and Thermo’s NaOH-titrated 98+% reagent are separate specifications. Thermo prices are German EUR; US listings are USD. Flavor/fragrance and natural claims require their own documentation.
Scroll horizontally if needed. Supplier and package identity stay visible.
| Supplier | Product / Grade | Purity / Assay | Package Size | Public Price | Normalized Price | Documentation | Last Checked | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCI AmericaLevulinic Acid | Named grade not statedL0042 · 25 gSolid at 20 °C; light-sensitive product. | GC: minimum 97.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 97.0% | 25 g | $17.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: TCI America
| View Product: TCI America, L0042 · 25 g (opens new tab) | |
| Named grade not statedL0042 · 500 gSolid at 20 °C; light-sensitive product. | GC: minimum 97.0% Neutralization titration: minimum 97.0% | 500 g | $52.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: TCI America, L0042 · 500 g (opens new tab) | |||
| Sigma-Aldrich / MerckLevulinic Acid | Natural; FG; fragrance gradeW262701-100G-KManufacturer states JECFA purity/IFRA context and Halal/Kosher. Obtain applicable lot certification. 1 kg list price shown; web promotion was USD 103.50. Unspecified-mass sample excluded. | 99%; method not stated | 100 g | $64.60USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | Document notes: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck
| View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, W262701-100G-K (opens new tab) | |
| Natural; FG; fragrance gradeW262701-1KG-KManufacturer states JECFA purity/IFRA context and Halal/Kosher. Obtain applicable lot certification. 1 kg list price shown; web promotion was USD 103.50. Unspecified-mass sample excluded. | 99%; method not stated | 1 kg | $138.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, W262701-1KG-K (opens new tab) | |||
| Natural; FG; fragrance gradeW262701-10KG-KManufacturer states JECFA purity/IFRA context and Halal/Kosher. Obtain applicable lot certification. 1 kg list price shown; web promotion was USD 103.50. Unspecified-mass sample excluded. | 99%; method not stated | 10 kg | $379.00USD · US public price | Not comparedGrades, assay bases, or forms differ | View Product: Sigma-Aldrich / Merck, W262701-10KG-K (opens new tab) | |||
| Thermo Scientific ChemicalsLevulinic Acid | Research use only; named grade not stated125141000German listing: EUR 32.30 list; EUR 29.65 online offer was also displayed. No US availability, currency equivalence or lot-document availability inferred. | 98+% headline; NaOH titration minimum 98.0% | 100 g | €32.30EUR · Germany public list price | Not comparedDifferent currency / market | COACheck supplierSDSCheck supplierCOOCheck supplier Document notes: Thermo Scientific Chemicals
| View Product: Thermo Scientific Chemicals, 125141000 (opens new tab) |
Levulinic Acid
Named grade not stated
Solid at 20 °C; light-sensitive product.
Last checked:
Levulinic Acid
Natural; FG; fragrance grade
Manufacturer states JECFA purity/IFRA context and Halal/Kosher. Obtain applicable lot certification. 1 kg list price shown; web promotion was USD 103.50. Unspecified-mass sample excluded.
Last checked:
Levulinic Acid
Research use only; named grade not stated
German listing: EUR 32.30 list; EUR 29.65 online offer was also displayed. No US availability, currency equivalence or lot-document availability inferred.
Last checked:
COA = Certificate of Analysis · SDS = Safety Data Sheet · COO = Certificate of Origin.
Lookup means a retrieval option was visible, not that a lot certificate was reviewed. Check supplier means availability or the applicable document was not verified.
Prices may vary by quantity, account, contract, geography, and availability. These products have different grades, assay bases, or forms; no normalized comparison is shown. Foreign-market prices are reference listings only. No currency conversion, mass-to-volume conversion, or ranking is applied. Confirm equivalent specifications and a current quote before comparison. [4] [5] [6]
Melting / physical state: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. 29 °C and 30–33 °C are different supplier references. Method/composition cause unestablished; values retained with attribution and state temperature. pKa: OMITTED. A fully attributed aqueous measurement with conditions was not verified. Boiling / density: OMITTED. Supplier boiling references lack pressure; density at 25 °C lacks matched phase context near the melting region. No atmospheric or room-solid value inferred. Water solubility: OMITTED. No independently established saturation limit with conditions promoted.
Only the displayed identity, specification, packages, public prices and stated documentation evidence were reviewed. Current stock, lead times, shipping eligibility, contract pricing, lot certificates, and regulatory suitability are unverified.
There are no paid placements. Future paid listings will show “Sponsored” in both views; payment will not determine chemistry interpretation or imply a ranking.
PLAN A LARGER ORDER
Turn your requirements into a clear supplier brief.
A BUYER’S CHECKLIST
Selections remain only while this page is open.
FOR YOUR REFERENCE
Identity, product reference properties, and handling context.
Connectivity SMILES describes connectivity; it is not an independent stereochemical assignment. CAS and product-form distinctions are supported by the supplier listings. [1] [4] [5] [6]
TCI describes a solid at 20 °C. Supplier melting references of 29 °C and 30–33 °C place phase changes near room temperature; a product may be supplied or handled after melting. [13] [4] [5]
Hydrate, concentration, stereoisomer, and temperature can change the relevant specification. Product reference data are not a reviewed lot certificate.
A numeric pKa was not verified for the selected identity in this review; no value is inferred. [2]
Melting / physical state: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. 29 °C and 30–33 °C are different supplier references. Method/composition cause unestablished; values retained with attribution and state temperature. pKa: OMITTED. A fully attributed aqueous measurement with conditions was not verified. Boiling / density: OMITTED. Supplier boiling references lack pressure; density at 25 °C lacks matched phase context near the melting region. No atmospheric or room-solid value inferred. Water solubility: OMITTED. No independently established saturation limit with conditions promoted.
Temperature, ionic strength, and the use of activities versus concentrations matter in quantitative work. These reference values are not buffer recipes.
TCI L0042 identifies harmful ingestion, severe burns/eye damage and metal corrosion. Sigma W262701 identifies harmful ingestion, skin sensitization and serious eye damage. Keep the sensitization warning despite food/fragrance-grade terminology. Physical state can change near ambient temperature, so follow exact-product handling and storage instructions. [4] [5] [6]
Hazard classifications can vary by concentration, product, supplier and jurisdiction. Review the SDS for the exact product before handling. This summary does not replace the SDS.
Supplier safety information and SDS retrieval (opens new tab)
A product-page safety classification is not verification of every regional SDS. Confirm product code, chemical form and current local document.
Review supplier documentationCOMMON QUESTIONS
Two CH₂ groups separate the carboxyl carbon from the ketone carbon. This is a gamma-keto acid, not the adjacent alpha-keto arrangement of pyruvic acid; the neutral identity is achiral. [1]
Pyruvic acid places the ketone immediately next to COOH; levulinic acid places it two methylenes farther away. Similar functional-group names do not establish equivalent carbonyl reactivity, stability or a substitutable protecting-group protocol. [7]
TCI’s 97% GC and titration product, Sigma’s natural FG 99% method-unspecified product and Thermo’s NaOH-titrated 98+% reagent are separate specifications. Thermo prices are German EUR; US listings are USD. Flavor/fragrance and natural claims require their own documentation. [4]
No. The table retains differing grades, assay bases, forms, and markets. No normalized ranking or currency conversion is applied. [5]
Melting / physical state: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. 29 °C and 30–33 °C are different supplier references. Method/composition cause unestablished; values retained with attribution and state temperature. pKa: OMITTED. A fully attributed aqueous measurement with conditions was not verified. Boiling / density: OMITTED. Supplier boiling references lack pressure; density at 25 °C lacks matched phase context near the melting region. No atmospheric or room-solid value inferred. Water solubility: OMITTED. No independently established saturation limit with conditions promoted.
The RFQ is a prototype that prepares an on-screen brief. Nothing is sent to suppliers. Confirm actual bulk terms directly with the supplier.
TRACE THE INFORMATION
Identity and compiled reference values are separated from supplier-specific specifications. Structural comparisons and buyer guidance are editorial interpretation. Sources were checked October 3, 2026; supplier information can change.
Neutral molecular identity verified independently through PUG REST; CAS also checked on all selected supplier products.
No numeric field promoted: insufficient conditions or unresolved conflicting records.
Attributed application records reviewed claim by claim. Free acid, intermediate, derivative and biological context are distinguished.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Direct product checked October 3, 2026. Identity, listed assay methods, packages, market, prices and documentation interfaces inspected. Lot certificates and stock are not verified.
Primary structural comparison. Practical interpretation does not establish suitability.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Related identity and structural relationship.
Only independently reviewed values are promoted into the comparison; no condition-free acidity ranking.
General carboxylate resonance, acidity and structural interpretation; not authority for this acid’s quantitative constants.
Attributed references reviewed; product, phase, pH and method gaps stated rather than inferred.
Melting / physical state: CONFLICT UNRESOLVED. 29 °C and 30–33 °C are different supplier references. Method/composition cause unestablished; values retained with attribution and state temperature. pKa: OMITTED. A fully attributed aqueous measurement with conditions was not verified. Boiling / density: OMITTED. Supplier boiling references lack pressure; density at 25 °C lacks matched phase context near the melting region. No atmospheric or room-solid value inferred. Water solubility: OMITTED. No independently established saturation limit with conditions promoted.
This informational prototype is not a supplier, quotation service, or endorsement of a product’s fitness for an application. Buyers should verify the applicable specification, certification, and regulatory requirements for their intended use.